We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arandale Guest House
Nearby Hotels
A66 Motel(Richmond)
US$105
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middleton Lodge(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
287
8
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
287
8
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubcoast to coast walkb bfour poster beddays walkingplace to staylittle extrasa great stayensuite bathroomfresh fruitdelicious breakfastlovely placetinahostaccommodationhouselaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Paul the host is determined to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Providing a glass of bubbly while you soak in the hot tub to serving a breakfast that both looks and tastes good, but is it the best breakfast in the world?
We had the large king size room with separate dressing room which was comfortable and private. Shower room is small in contrast to the room, but still adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearltherover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed for 1 night. Based our choice on trip advisor reviews and they were spot on. It's a great B&B close to Richmond centre,well worth all of its 5*****. It's hot tub is a great extra little luxury and Paul was so friendly and enthusiastic the breakfast was perfectly cooked, we will be back!.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GeordieBikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent a night at Arandale Guest House while doing the Coast to Coast and, in my opinion, it's the best B&B along the route. Paul is probably the most cheery fellow we met in England, and the entire time we were there he was always eager to do whatever he could to make sure we had a good stay. The house is just a few minutes off the C2C route, with restaurants and pubs nearby and the old town square a short stroll away. The bedroom was enormous, comfortable, and well-appointed. Easily the most spacious lodging I've ever had in England. The bathroom was nice and the shower was also nicely proportioned. One of the best features of the house is the hot tub out back. Any Coast to Coaster will appreciate it immensely. Breakfast was very good. Paul clearly puts a lot of effort into it and, as with everything else, is determined that you leave the table fully satisfied. I would recommend this place to anyone, regardless of their reason for visiting Richmond.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a great place to have a rest day on our Coast to Coast walk. Wonderfully comfortable and welcoming place. Paul is the consummate host! He took away my wet boots, rain gear and gaiters and saw to them. He did our laundry. He offered great suggestions for dining options in town. His breakfasts were delicious! Because they are "made with love" he said. Well done. And, wait, there's a hot tub, too! Very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stopped at Arandale Guest House on day 10 of our Coast to Coast walk. This was the best guest house we stayed at on our walk. Luxurious! In fact it is one of the best, possibly the best, guest house, we had ever stayed at, full stop. It is a three story Victorian house that retains many of the original features, including the fireplaces. It has been recently refurbished without losing the original Victorian charm and character. The hosts, Paul and Tina Lambert, are incredibly welcoming, helpful and efficient. Nothing is too much trouble. They have top notch inter-personal skills. On arrival we were offered a glass of Prosecco. Now, that is what I call a welcome. Walkers and cyclists are welcome. It was immediately obvious on arrival that this was a superior guest house. In fact this is officially a 5-star guest house, awarded by Visit England. We didn’t even know there was such a thing until we arrived here. This is reflected in the price - £95.

Our room was excellent. It had tea and coffee making facilities, large flat-screen TVs, a shower, a hair dryer, shoe shine, Wi-Fi access to the Internet. There were even puzzles. There were even toothbrushes and boot laces, just in case. Our room was charming in its decoration, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. The bed was covered in Egyptian cotton sheets and pillow cases and there was a terrific, and hugely expensive mattress. Wonderful. Robes and slippers were provided. The house even has a ‘hot tub’ where you can pamper your tired bones. We didn’t get around to trying it but our Dutch friends did and thought it wonderful. We even had our own private wooden floored patio terrace with table and chairs. Important for Coast to Coasters was a large towel rail always switched on. The shower was also top notch. Breakfast was tremendous. There was all of the usual cereals, fruit juices and a hearty English breakfast, but there was also scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, smoked haddock and poached eggs, you name it. I had a full English breakfast and it was tremendous. Paul gets his bacon especially cut from fresh, it not pre-packed. It was the thickest bacon I have encountered in years. In fact, I had forgotten what freshly cut bacon was like. I shall go to our butchers the next time I want bacon and ask for freshly cut bacon. The other meat products are also locally supplied by a local butcher and Paul makes a 10 miles journey each week to buy the best free range eggs. My wife had porridge with cream and fresh strawberries which she though magnificent! We ordered a packed lunch. It was the best and largest packed lunch we received on the entire walk. You don’t find places like this every day.

If you are doing the coast to coast, on arriving in Richmond follow the main A6108 road into town, turn left Turf pub roundabout onto Queens Road then along and go past the next roundabout. The guest house is around 100m further on, on the left near Quaker Lane. It is almost in the town centre.

Room Tip: All rooms are distinctive and different. I suggest you check them all out on the website
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews