We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Richmond”
Review of The Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Castle House
Ranked #2 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Richmond”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Castle House is a charming and well appointed B&B just off of the Richmond Market Square that backs up to Richmond Castle. Ian and Lucy are gracious hosts. Upon our arrival we were greeted with tea and biscuits. Breakfast was very well prepared and served in a charming dining room. Also, Ian went out of his way to help us solve an issue with our travel plans.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrssqsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so delighted to know that you enjoyed staying with us so much and that your travels home went ok. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    32
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
648
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just great in all respects. Will definitely be back and will recommend. Breakfast epic! Attention to detail first class.
Is Historic house so don'r expect chrome and glass glitz! The person who made the 'poor' review comments on sloping floors - well that's unfair considering it's an old house! Plus, Ian and Lucy make check-in time very clear, so as the visitors arrived too early (without pre-notifying) that was their own fault.
Would be good though if top and bottom of sash windows worked as can then let heat out the top and cool air in the bottom, otherwise room (it was warm July day) rather stuffy.
Position of house excellent, just walk out into the old centre of Richmond with loads of choice of things to do, places to eat and so on.
The directions on the website (http://www.castlehouserichmond.co.uk/) are confusingly on the 'Contact Us' page and, given complications of parking in Richmond, are too vague "Turn left at the top of the marketplace" depends on which direction you are coming from! Suggest a dedicated page and map (not just Google maps) with more about partking arrangements and constraints. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, Ian and I really appreciate it especially as everyone is so busy. It is so lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we are so grateful for your kind comments. We are equally appreciative of your suggestions to improve our service even more, such as the difficulty you had find our directions on our website. It really is very helpful to know these things. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Couldn't fault anything from the warm welcome to the hosts getting up extra early to cook our breakfast as we had to leave at a most unsociable hour. Nothing was too much trouble. Spotless room with a view and great central location. Charming.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martali14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very pleasant and comfortable stay, with excellent breakfast, in historic building near town centre, only slightly marred by problem with the shower
Would certainly recommend to anybody with similar requirements

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We followed up your issue with the shower, but all was working fine. The only thing we can put it down to is that the switch for the shower had not been turned on, which sometimes happens as guests sometimes don't realise it is required, we will need to inclulde this in our guest information pack. Hopefully next time you come you can enjoy a nice long shower with lovely hot water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I took my partner here for her 40th birthday! I asked for an early check in which i was given even though the owners had to be at the other end of the country for a funeral. Pauline was there to greet us and take us to our deluxe suite, which was fabulous and very bespoke. We were given a choice of welcoming drinks which we chose, a lovely glass of wine. The bed was as good as i have slept in. I'm not a breakfast person rarely does it appeal to me, so i can honestly say it was outstanding. The quality of the fresh fruit and homemade granola were gorgeous. The full english is the best I've ever had, such high quality meats. Another plus, great strong coffee. We met Lucy and Ian at breakfast they are a lovely couple and make you so welcome in their beautiful surroundings. It is worth every penny and we will definitely return .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRUDI3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your very lovely review. We really do appreciate the time taken by our guests to do this. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it made your partners birthday extra special. We do hope that you are able to return again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lon, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you want the sophistication of France, the chic of Paris and the down to earth hospitality and friendliness of the North, then this is the place for you. Situated right in the centre of Richmond in North Yorkshire, the Castle House has the decor and Furnishings of a French Chateau,the comfort-including a modern tub bath-of being at home and a wonderful breakfast to set you up for the day in the beautiful town of Richmond and the wonderful countryside of North Yorkshire. We loved our stay there and will return.
It is the first Guest House I have stayed in which offers you a glass of wine and some nibbles as soon as you have put your luggage down! Ian and Lucy are wonderful friendly hosts who take trouble to look after you .
We stayed in the Aysgarth Room and the bed was so comfortable for a good night's sleep.
It is not a cheap place to sty in but it was worth every penny and for us a wonderful way to finish a week's holiday touring.

Room Tip: Believe the Richmond Suite is the best room and has a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWailen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for all your very kind words, we are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience at The Castle House so much and appreciated all we had to offer. We are so incredibly lucky to welcome guests like yourselves, who not only revile in the beautiful Georgian town house, but also finds the service, atmosphere and all the little touches we provide so endearing. It really was a pleasure having you stay with us and hope that you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We arrived after a long journey and we're made to feel very welcome with tea and biscuits. The room was very comfortable, spacious, clean and well furnished. The B&B was centrally located and we were given plenty of information and dinner recommendations. After a restful night the breakfast was freshly prepared and very good. We would stay here again and recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M4rk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We really do appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
750 reviews
4.9 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 51 in Richmond
406 reviews
3.0 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle House

Property: The Castle House
Address: 9 Castle Hill | North Yorkshire, Richmond DL10 4QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast situated in the shadow of the famous castle, overlooking the historic town of Richmond. We aim to ensure that all our guests feel pampered and offer boutique style accommodation in this beautiful 18th century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Castle House Hotel Richmond
The Castle House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing