We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Castle House
Nearby Hotels
US$193
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Hotel(Catterick)(Great Value!)
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middleton Lodge(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (930)
Filter reviews
930 results
Traveller rating
892
37
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
892
37
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrichmond suiteglass of winewensley suiteeasby roomlucy iandoor handleon arrivalb bmarket squarel'occitane toiletriesattention to detailchocolates leftwarm welcomeroll top bathwelcome drinksloping floorslittle touches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
657 - 662 of 930 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Castle house b&b is just lovely, the house is beautifully presented. Lucy & Ian are great hosts, very welcoming & warm. We arrived after a stressful drive as our car had developed a problem on en route. So Ian's warm welcome, & glass of wine, were really appreciated. This is a lovely historic house, its beautifully presented & spotlessly clean. We stayed in the richmond suite, which is spacious, comfortable and " a little bit of luxury". there is a lovely free standing bath, open fire plus en suite. Ian & Lucy are great, relaxed hosts, who are happy to share their local knowledge, or book restaurants etc if you need it. The breakfasts were presented and cooked really well, using local produce. its a great destination for a short break, as there are plenty of shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants to choose from, local walks, theatre, cinema etc.. so plenty to do on the doorstep. Which is great if you don't want to drive everywhere ( or the cars in the garage as ours was) Castle House is definitely on my list of places to visit again.

Room Tip: The richmond suite was spacious and luxurious, but i imagine all of them would be lovely
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank haylshull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind and generous review. Ian and I are great believers in providing somewhere to stay that we would want to stay in ourselves. Our guests are the upmost number one priority and we always endeavour to look after them in such a way so that they leave feeling a little spoilt and refreshed. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Castle House is a charming and well appointed B&B just off of the Richmond Market Square that backs up to Richmond Castle. Ian and Lucy are gracious hosts. Upon our arrival we were greeted with tea and biscuits. Breakfast was very well prepared and served in a charming dining room. Also, Ian went out of his way to help us solve an issue with our travel plans.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hrssqsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so delighted to know that you enjoyed staying with us so much and that your travels home went ok. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just great in all respects. Will definitely be back and will recommend. Breakfast epic! Attention to detail first class.
Is Historic house so don'r expect chrome and glass glitz! The person who made the 'poor' review comments on sloping floors - well that's unfair considering it's an old house! Plus, Ian and Lucy make check-in time very clear, so as the visitors arrived too early (without pre-notifying) that was their own fault.
Would be good though if top and bottom of sash windows worked as can then let heat out the top and cool air in the bottom, otherwise room (it was warm July day) rather stuffy.
Position of house excellent, just walk out into the old centre of Richmond with loads of choice of things to do, places to eat and so on.
The directions on the website (http://www.castlehouserichmond.co.uk/) are confusingly on the 'Contact Us' page and, given complications of parking in Richmond, are too vague "Turn left at the top of the marketplace" depends on which direction you are coming from! Suggest a dedicated page and map (not just Google maps) with more about partking arrangements and constraints. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, Ian and I really appreciate it especially as everyone is so busy. It is so lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we are so grateful for your kind comments. We are equally appreciative of your suggestions to improve our service even more, such as the difficulty you had find our directions on our website. It really is very helpful to know these things. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Couldn't fault anything from the warm welcome to the hosts getting up extra early to cook our breakfast as we had to leave at a most unsociable hour. Nothing was too much trouble. Spotless room with a view and great central location. Charming.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Martali14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very pleasant and comfortable stay, with excellent breakfast, in historic building near town centre, only slightly marred by problem with the shower
Would certainly recommend to anybody with similar requirements

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We followed up your issue with the shower, but all was working fine. The only thing we can put it down to is that the switch for the shower had not been turned on, which sometimes happens as guests sometimes don't realise it is required, we will need to inclulde this in our guest information pack. Hopefully next time you come you can enjoy a nice long shower with lovely hot water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews