We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Castle House
Ranked #2 of 52 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in the Richmond Suite for 1 night whilst passing through the area. The room was amazing, really nicely presented and really clean. Ian and Lucy are both friendly and welcoming, and the service they provide from the minute you book until you leave is excellent. The location is good with everything in walking distance and plenty of parking outside and nearby. We couldn't fault a thing, The Castle House was a great find and we hope to return - maybe in winter so we can enjoy the fire in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ablc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review and also for taking the time to write it. We do appreciate that everyone is so busy, so to take a few minutes out of your busy schedule to make such lovely comments is greatly appreciated. We are really thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay here at The Castle House and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was our third visit and we were not disappointed. There was the usual warm welcome, including a refreshing drink on arrival. Lucy and Ian are excellent hosts and make sure that everyone is comfortable and feels at home. Throughout, the high standard that we experienced during our first stay has been maintained. Breakfast was delicious. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rodney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

When guests return to The Castle House not only twice but three times within a relatively short period of time, we are so delighted to welcome them back and feel that it is the best compliment that we could ever ask for.

It was a real pleasure having you both to stay again with us and to know that each time you come you feel that you have enjoyed it as much as the first visit here. Thank you for coming back and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were lucky enough to stay in the Richmond suite for the night. Lucy and Ian were great hosts and the room was so spacious and luxurious. I especially enjoyed a fantastic bubble bath in the bedroom and the little luxuries were appreciated. For breakfast I tried the scrambled egg and smoked salmon which was tasty and filling. It was definitely a lovely place to celebrate our anniversary

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamP19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

The Richmond Suite is really the perfect room to stay in when you are wanting to celebrate a special occasion and I am so pleased that it made your anniversary just that little bit more special. It was a pleasure welcoming you to The Castle House and we are delighted that you enjoyed it so much. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We only stayed for one night as we were travelling through but this place is FAB!
We were welcomed with a glass of wine.....our room was tastefully presented with L'Occitane toiletries and ground coffee . At night you get chocolates hung on your door too!
The breakfast was well presented and well cooked. So glad we chose to stay here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure welcoming you to The Castle House. Whether our guests are here for a flying visit, or staying longer, all we want to do is ensure that each and everyone of you enjoys your time here. It was a pleasure looking after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic location and a charming old BnB packed with everything you could want for a luxurious trip to the Yorkshire dales. The staff are fantastic, managing to be friendly, helpful and attentive to all your needs, but without being the slightest bit intrusive. Special arrangements for flowers, chocolates or champagne were on offer and we went for all 3! Perfect. The one issue to be aware of is the thick old walls do seem to play havoc with the Wi-Fi signal, so, be prepared to find a good spot of signal! The breakfast was fantastic and gluten-free options were available upon request. Rustique was recommended to us by the owners and it proved to be a very nice French restaurant indeed. Would recommend a walk to the Abbey at Easby and a climb up the keep at the castle. Great BnB in a fantastic part of the world.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Pwnium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, we really do appreciate the time is takes. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our stay with us so much and you have been extremely kind in your comments. Yes, the WiFi can be tricky at times in some areas due to the extremely thick walls, but we have plenty of booster rooters and as you say, can get onto it. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location of Castle House is very fine (central : just a short walk to restaurants but very quite). Very good breakfast and nice hostess. Lucy and Ian are very helpful but discreet. You feel very independent.

Room Tip: The Redmire room could be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marie-Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely meeting you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your UK holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Would thoroughly recommend a stay in the gorgeous,centrally located Castle House.....You just have to walk out the door and you are in the centre of town with all that it has to offer. Parking was never a problem ( as highlighted by other reviewers) as we always managed to get a space virtually at the front door.
I had booked two rooms for two nights and the rooms varied in shape and size ( reflected in the pricing) but both were beautifully decorated and fitted out and both managed to retain their original charm and quirkiness even! Bed linen, toiletries and tea/coffee selection were of the highest standard as was the fantastic freshly cooked breakfasts.( Very obviously made from the freshest and the best ingredients). Complimentary drinks on arrival and chocolates at bedtime. What more could you ask for?

As our flight had landed so early we were very appreciative of an early check in and I just want to thank Lucy and Ian for facilitating this as it meant so much to us and most definitely it is not everywhere that would facilitate this. I suppose that sums up our experience ...we felt we were taken care of by the perfect attentive hostess in the loveliest of surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

It was so lovely welcoming you and your family to The Castle House for the weekend and we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We do hope when you come and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
433 reviews
8.3 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#4 of 8 in Richmond
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#9 of 52 in Richmond
228 reviews
5.9 mi away
West Layton Manor
West Layton Manor
#5 of 52 in Richmond
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle House

Address: 9 Castle Hill | North Yorkshire, Richmond DL10 4QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: £78 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast situated in the shadow of the famous castle, overlooking the historic town of Richmond. We aim to ensure that all our guests feel pampered and offer boutique style accommodation in this beautiful 18th century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Castle House Hotel Richmond
The Castle House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing