We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and Unfriendly”
Review of The Vintage Hotel

The Vintage Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Vintage Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Would love to say something good about this place but all I can say is avoid!
Rude and Unfriendly - having read other reviews can only assume the staff where having a very bad day last week. We phoned to book a table for 2 plus a child and were told only take parties of 6 or more !?! Guy told us we would be better suited to the Service station nearby!
Changed plans and booked at Scotch Corner hotel next door and so glad we did. Have placed this place loads of times and keep meaning to call in. Never again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank B_Zeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Staying at the Vintage Inn recently we found that the manager, Sean, just could not do enough to make our stay special, from bringing drinks out into the sunny garden for us unasked and serving us the bar, at dinner and breakfast. Both meals were wonderful and there is a huge choice. The dining area is very attractive and the pub offers both tables and sofas for drinkers - we would definately stay here again and recommend others to do so. Paul and Christine Brunsdon

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul and Christ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My nephew and I stayed here for one night 10th June en route for Scotland. It was an excellent choice. Warm and friendly welcome from Sean who seemed to run everything effortlessly and efficiently. We had good comfortable rooms with en suites, an excellent dinner in the evening and equally excellent breakfast in the morning. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

breaking down outside this hotel in june 2013 my husband and 5 year old grandson entered the premises and asked if they could use the toilets the man behind the bar directed them to were they were.my sister son and myself used the toilet as well.we were waiting on the AA to call us back with an estimated time for our car to be assessed then we were going to go back into the hotel to order dinner and a drink until the barman turned aggressive towards our grandchild.our grandchild left the toilet seconds before his dad and he entered the bar area without an adult which we know was wrong of him,when my son came from the toilet the barman was raising his voice to the child calling him a lunitic ,my son did not retaliate as we had no were else to go whilst waiting on breakdown,a customer from the hotel came to see how we were because he thought the barman to be rude and aggressive to us .this is RAC reccommended hotel and look how we were treated,i complained next day only to find this barman is the owner and he was even more abrupt and nasty this is why im writing this review,his loss as 5 meals drinks hotel for 5 people plus breakfasts he missed out on because of his attitude problem

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank paulinefagan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Well once again I find myself enjoy the delights of the vintage hotel, this is my 5th time staying here in two and a half years and it could be the good food or the very warm welcome you get or even the extremely clean rooms. I honestly love staying here and I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth19780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Although we don't stay the night in the hotel, my friends and I meet here regularly for lunch. It's sort of equidistant for all of us and after stumbling across it years ago when our usual venue was closed for refurbishment, we have never gone anywhere else. Yes, the decor is dated. But as a previous reviewer stated, so what? Don't be put off by that. The food is excellent, and good value. Every time. Service is good, not too fussy, not too lax. What more can I say? Try it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StellaandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My friend and I are travelling through Yorkshire and had a brilliant nights stay at The Vintage Hotel in Scotch Corner. We used it to travel into Richmond for the day- very easy on the bus X26 or X27 for (2.60 pounds one way). We arrived to the warmest welcome from the manager who was extremely kind and helpful, who we had been in contact with via phone. He was so welcoming and warm, helping us find the best room to suit our budget. The hotel was gorgeous, decked out in vintage atire. The room was clean, ridiculously comfy bed and spacious (#5). We opted to share a bathroom which was also clean and easily accessible. We enjoyed a Pimms at the bar with the manager, had a lovely chat and learnt all about the history of the hotel. Definitely recommend to stay here, close to Richmond and further travel into the Yorkshire Dales. Beautiful atmosphere, the menu looked yummy too! Great Value for money, especially for us backpackers who had previously been staying in hostels. Will definitely return to the Vintage Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
3.8 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#4 of 8 in Richmond
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Inn Hotel
4.3 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vintage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vintage Hotel

Address: Scotch Corner, Richmond DL10 6NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £49 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Vintage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Vintage Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing