We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Millgate House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Richmond
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A66 Motel(Richmond)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (837)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveller rating
823
11
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
823
11
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaward winning gardengarden apartmentcraster kippersowners austin and timbeautiful gardengarden flattreasure troveyogurtb bantique furnituremalt whiskysilver teapotdrawing roomyoung stafffull blooman eclectic mixmagical place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 837 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed overnight at Millgate House on our way to Northumberland.
This is an exceptional bed and breakfast. The welcome is wonderful. The rooms are large and airy. Every comfort is taken care of from the very comfortable beds to the sumptuous bathroom providing high quality towels and toiletries. There is a large comfortable sitting room full of antique furniture, rugs and beautiful pictures. This overlooks the exceptional garden. There was an enormous choice at breakfast from fruits, croissants and cooked food. This was all wonderfully prepared and much better than most 5 star hotels. It is obvious that the proprietors with their attention to detail want to make certain that their guests have an unforgettable experience staying with them.

Room Tip: a room at the back of the house overlooks the gardens and valley.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a lovely place to chill out..
Warmly welcomed by Tim, after a long drive, with a lovely bottle of chilled Sauvignon and advice on where to eat locally, we relaxed in the most beautiful room I have encountered in a hotel setting. Stuffed full of silver, porcelain and old paintings, it has a lovely atmosphere.
The garden suite we had booked was large and comfortable, with a door out into the gem of a garden and both Tim and Austin took time on several occasions to show us the diversity of the beautiful flowers growing there.
Breakfast was excellent and served promptly by Tim. This room is also exquisite, with more paintings and antiques and a lovely large window opening out onto a wrought iron balcony, overgrown by scented roses....a delight indeed. Needless to say, the breakfast choice was wonderful and the choice of fresh fruit very good indeed.
If you need a place to spend a few days exploring the marvellous countryside around North Yorkshire, Millgate House needs to be top of the list of places to stay !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband Andrew and I stayed at the beautiful Millgate House in Richmond, North Yorkshire, just after our wedding on 24 May 2014. We had previously stayed at Millgate in autumn 2012 and were very keen to make a trip back on this special occasion.
We arrived late in the evening of Sunday 25 having spent most of the day clearing down after the wedding on the Saturday. Our wedding reception was held in a marquee on a very wet day and there was lots to do, and most of it muddy! We were therefore much in need of relaxation when we arrived. I made several changes to the arrival time too, due to the fact that our clearing down took a lot longer than expected. Austin and Tim were really accomodating and polite over the phone, and in the end we arrived about 10 pm. By that stage we were exhausted and to get a lovely welcome, complete with a bottle of wine and help with our luggage, was so much appreciated.
We spent three nights in Room One and it was so relaxing. The room is very large and luxurious, and we spent almost the whole day on Monday just resting in the calming surroundings - so much needed after all the emotion and excitement of the wedding and pre-wedding build-up! Millgate is just an oasis of calm, from the beautiful views to the luxurious (but not ostentatious) surroundings and fantastic quality breakfast. Austin and Tim should be incredibly proud of the service they provide.
We love Millgate House and the area so much that we plan to return each year for our anniversary. This will always be a very special place for us, only improved by Austin and Tim's wonderful hospitality. When we left on Wednesday morning they remarked that we seemed a lot more relaxed than when we'd arrived - they couldn't have been more right!
Ten out of ten!!

Room Tip: Room One extremely luxurious with large bed, very good for honeymoon couples/ a special celebration.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elevateddancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Millgate House - what a treat! I stayed in Richmond for a marathon and booked at the last minute. The owners were very helpful and responded promptly, which was great as I was short of time. What a treat when we got there. They were very welcoming - nothing was too much trouble; and they even put up with our scatty dog and us walking him late and night and early morning. The river for dog walking is just at the bottom of the hill and local pubs and restaurants also just on the doorstep. The room was exquisitely furnished (with amazing views of the gardens) and the breakfast was fantastic -I was sorry to only have such a short stay. We will definitely stay again, but longer next time.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are beautiful, tranquil and almost other worldly.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A warm welcome was offered into the home of Austin and Tim, followed by being shown to our lovely en suite room overlooking the superb garden. So began an extremely relaxing stay to belatedly celebrate my sisters birthday.
The venue was chosen and booked months in advance to reflect her interest and expertise as a plants woman.
The following day we headed off to Harlow Carr the celebrated RHS garden near Harrogate - a lovely garden in itself, but for my sister the highlight was the really beautiful garden at Millgate.
Combined with superb hospitality and fascinating surroundings within, this was a long planned treat which certainly did not disappoint. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHS592014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skinheadfood, Owner at Millgate House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Once again we would like to thank some of the very many recent guests who have waxed lyrical about the house and garden here...It is very satisfying to have so many discerning observations about what has gone into making Millgate the unique place that it is.

We love it and love sharing it with those who have an appreciative eye for detail and beauty.

The roses this year are quite outstanding and so the garden is looking particularly beautiful due to the lack of wet weather...a real plus.

It is very flattering to be compared so favourably with Harlow Carr, which we too love and which is very different...as are all gardens...each reflecting their creators....like the houses they live in too.

The excitement and enthusiasm of guests keeps us vital too...so many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews