We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaraunt style prices for pub service”

The Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #9 of 121 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$36
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Shoulder of Mutton is a traditional Country Pub which has been recently fully refurbished, we are set in the village of Middleton Tyas at the Scotch Corner junction off the A1, we are an ideal stop off point for both journeys north and south 1 minute from the junction, we are also ideally placed if you are staying at the Scotch Corner Hotel or Travelodge at Scotch Corner or Skeeby In 2010 we were voted 6th best restaurant in the Darlington & Stockton Times.We pride ourselves on our friendly welcome and service and our excellent food, all our food is made on the premises, we try and use local produce where we can, our meat comes locally and our steaks are all local and are 28 day matured, Seafood comes from local fishmongers and is fresh daily. Our chef Simon was trained at the Savoy in London and is local to the area he previously worked at the Black Bull. We have a well-stocked bar with a selection of real ales, great wines and serve a selection of fresh brewed coffee and teas, all ideal for a quick stop on your journey as well as the ideal place for intimate lunch, dinners and family gatherings.We have a private dining room seating a maximum of 18 people which is ideal for private gatherings and family meetings. The room is also available for conferences and meeting’s, the room is fully equipped for all your conference needs the room is ideal for up to 14 people, please call for details.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaraunt style prices for pub service”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We have been to this restaraunt a few times since it has been refurbished. The food generally is good, but the service is always unpredicatable, often slow and sloppy. I think whilst we have generally enjoyed the evening we feel it is over priced for its service and standards. It could do with either improving the restaraunt ambience and service to match the food, or offering a cheaper more "pub food" menu which fits its current style.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank born2havefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sh0ulder0fMutt0n, Owner at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for the time to write your review. We are sorry that you feel that the prices didn't reflect your overall experience, I feel that we are competitavely priced in todays current climate. We have recently decorated the main Restaurant which has been a great success as we have maintained the look, feel and charm of the pub and as such we are continuing to improve the look of other areas of the Restaurant.
As for the sloppy, slow service I'm rather surprised that this is what you experienced as we receive great feedback on our friendly service, as this was not the case for you please accept our apologise. We all take pride at the Shoulder of Mutton to ensure the whole Customer Experience is an enjoyable one. Feeback is excellent be it good or bad and can often be dealt with at the time its just a shame it took 3 months to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    103
    34
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Ok - but not great”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We visited the SoM last month with friends. The pub/restaurant is in a lovely village and has had rave reviews of late. We hadn't been there in years and it was nice to go back.
The atmosphere of the place is good but some of the staff are a bit young, naive and didn't seem to care if cutlery was missing and when the table had empty glasses that needed to be cleared to make room for food.
Maybe we just chose wrongly but whilst the food was good, it certainly wasn't great nad didn't do the menu justice. In terms of value for money I cant say that this was good either. We eat out regularly with friends and this meal seemed to add up to a lot more than we would usually pay for better fare.
In summary, nice but not great.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sh0ulder0fMutt0n, Owner at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
We were disappointed to read your review about your recent visit to the Shoulder of Mutton. I would like to assure you that our staff care very much about the whole customer expeience as do we and as such feel saddened that you didn't take the opportunity to pass your comments on at the time of you rvisit. Missing cutlery and the removal of empty glasses are a basic standard that we expect our staff to follow, however if this was not the case when you visited I apologise and will make sure the staff are made aware. With regards to the standard of food that we offer I was surprised by your comment that is wasn'tt good as we receive such great feedback both on Trip Advisor as well as face to face, we pride ourselves on the quailty of our locally sourced produce and home made dishes which again is disappointing if this did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your review and happy dining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem of a pub in a beautiful village, serving excellent food.”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

You will be guaranteed a warm welcome from Frank and Kevin at The Shoulder of Mutton and the food is some of the best in the area.
A completely refurbished private dining room is available for special occasions and the pub is fats becoming the place to be in the area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curly107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dare I SHARE this gem?!?”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stopped at the Scotch Corner "Services" for an early lunch and thought "we can do better than this, surely!" We started following the signs to Middleton Tyas Village Store and chanced upon the Shoulder of Mutton. So very glad we did - the service was excellent - charming, chatty, knowledgable and sensitive (when a family with noisy kids looked like sitting beside us they were gently led to a bigger 'better table for a group'). A good range of drinks, including real ales and some well chosen wines on the list. And the food... deep fried camembert that was rich and tasty, an excellent pate, and some of the best scallops I have ever tasted, gently done in butter wine lemon parsley and just a touch of garlic. If this review leads to a sudden flood of customers, please be kind to the staff. And to those of us who'll come after you - don't eat the last scallop!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renoir19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shoulder of Mutton also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
East Layton, Richmond
 

Been to The Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing