We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will return again”

The Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #10 of 118 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$36
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Shoulder of Mutton is a traditional Country Pub which has been recently fully refurbished, we are set in the village of Middleton Tyas at the Scotch Corner junction off the A1, we are an ideal stop off point for both journeys north and south 1 minute from the junction, we are also ideally placed if you are staying at the Scotch Corner Hotel or Travelodge at Scotch Corner or Skeeby In 2010 we were voted 6th best restaurant in the Darlington & Stockton Times.We pride ourselves on our friendly welcome and service and our excellent food, all our food is made on the premises, we try and use local produce where we can, our meat comes locally and our steaks are all local and are 28 day matured, Seafood comes from local fishmongers and is fresh daily. Our chef Simon was trained at the Savoy in London and is local to the area he previously worked at the Black Bull. We have a well-stocked bar with a selection of real ales, great wines and serve a selection of fresh brewed coffee and teas, all ideal for a quick stop on your journey as well as the ideal place for intimate lunch, dinners and family gatherings.We have a private dining room seating a maximum of 18 people which is ideal for private gatherings and family meetings. The room is also available for conferences and meeting’s, the room is fully equipped for all your conference needs the room is ideal for up to 14 people, please call for details.
Darlington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Will return again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having a family meal out and decided on The Shoulder of Mutton as none of us had ever eaten here before. We had a fantastic night. Excellent food, good service and very reasonably priced and all enjoyed in pleasant surroundings. We all agreed we will eat here again. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    98
    33
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a fine establishment which is well managed, clean, friendly and comfortable. The choices on the menu are varied and all the food is delicious and beautifully cooked. The beers nice too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank IvorD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“First visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had booked a lunch time meal and were greeted with .... no one !! Another diner also waiting on arrival at the bar commented ` Is it self service ?` After a while the landlord arrived to serve our drinks. We were shown to our table which was in lovely surroundings. A traditional, cosy ambience and a menu with plenty of choice. Our waiter was extremely polite and helpful. The food was well cooked but average, typical of most pubs.There were no real complaints.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sh0ulder0fMutt0n, Owner at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
I am disappointed to read your review and you feel it was just average, I was on duty that day and from what I can remember I had just opened up and popped in the cellar to get something and when I came back up a couple of people were there as it is not our policy to leave our bar unattended, I can assure you it was only a matter of a minute. I am so glad to hear our waiter looked after you well, but disappointed that you found the food average, our lunch time menu is designed to cater for everyone from someone driving by wanting a quick snack to anybody wanting some thing a little bit more elaborate, its a shame you didn't mention something when you were leaving as it would have been nice to discuss it with you.

Kind regards

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

As a resident of Middleton Tyas I feel we're very lucky to have such a great pub on our doorstep. Always a warm welcome, nothing too much trouble and fab food. What's not to like?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank curly107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sh0ulder0fMutt0n, Owner at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review its so nice that our local residents enjoy their time in the pub, and take the time to give us such a great review.

Thank you

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely old pub with loads of character. Really high quaility food, generous portion sizes and at good prices.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DidgeAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sh0ulder0fMutt0n, Owner at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of us, its so good to know what we do is appreciated.

Thanks

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shoulder of Mutton also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
East Layton, Richmond
 

Been to The Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing