We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pod stay!”
Review of Hillcrest Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillcrest Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent pod stay!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I chose to stay in a pod as we were able to take the dog and in February having the heater was brilliant. The site has beautiful views and dog walking field was brilliant. We were greeted by Ed who showed us to the pod, as the site was quiet we were upgraded free of charge to a large pod with an uninterrupted view of the countryside which I thought was lovely of them. The facilities on site could not be faulted from the information on local attractions to the clean and warm toilet and shower rooms. The pod was brilliant very spacious and comfortable. Would definitely recommend to a friend. The pods would make a brilliant break for anyone with kids also as its warmer than camping and with the fitted lighting its a good place to stay up after dark. Would love to return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ang1989s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. Hope to see you both back here again some day - perhaps in the sunshine! Kate and Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Firstly thank you to Kate and Ed for the great stay and hospitality.

From the personal welcome and tour we had on arrival, we felt completely at home. The weather was expected to be cold and the little touch to have the heater on in the pod made all the difference.

It was our first time in a pod and we would do it again no problem and I think Charlie the dog was in his element!! Yes dogs are allowed which was one of the deal clinchers as well as the very reasonable price.

All of the facilities were clean and well kept, and the local knowledge from Kate was second to none.

An excellent setting with panoramic views and looked even more stunning with the inevitable snow that flurried during the night.

A complete thumbs up overall, hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiCo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackburn
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

our first time in a pod, could not have picked a better place. quiet with everything you need. friendly owners who were always willing to help with advice and directions. pods have heating and are warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wozzer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
It's always lovely to get such positive feedback, so thank you for taking the time to post a review. Do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Willow Cottage and were extremely impressed. Kate was really helpful when booking and very welcoming when we arrived, the cottage was very well decorated, like a home from home, we had everything we might need and it was extremely clean and tidy.
It had a nice private patio too and picnic bench.

Beautiful location with views of the countryside. Rest of the camping area was tidy and well kept.

Would definitely recommend + stay again. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had the most amazing time at Hillcrest Park! Kate and co were really friendly and helpful, our camping pod was warm and cosy (in October) and the facilities were lovely and clean. We took air beds and our camping stove, but the flexibility of being able to set up your own camp was great, plus there is the option of hiring items from Hillcrest. It is in an excellent location and we went on some lovely walks in the area. I would highly recommend glamping to anyone, but especially here where the price was very reasonable for our weekend stay and the surroundings are such a haven. A very well run and delightful place to be. Hopefully returning sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
2.9 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
6.1 mi away
Homelands Guest House
Homelands Guest House
#1 of 20 in Barnard Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Piercebridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Inn Hotel
6.4 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
9.0 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Park

Property: Hillcrest Park
Address: Hillcrest Hillcrest Berry Bank | Caldwell, Richmond DL11 7UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Park is our family owned and run holiday park in one of the northernmost of the Yorkshire Dales, Teesdale. We have five holiday cottages, 10 camping pods and 15 pitches for touring caravans. We are surrounded by farmland yet only 10mins drive from the A66 and 1.5m from our nearest pub! Teesdale has much to offer, from the art exhibitions at the Bowes Museum to the towering natural beauty of High Force Waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillcrest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Park Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing