We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic escape”
Review of Hillcrest Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillcrest Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed at Hillcrest Park this weekend with my girlfriend for 2 nights in one of their cosy pods (managed to get the 2-for-1 deal) which was a fantastic offer! Kate & Ed are lovely people with 2 cute dogs. They spared nothing to ensure we had a fantastic stay and helped us a lot with knowing where to visit & things in the local area!! even though the weather wasn't the warmest the pod stayed lovely and warm with the little heater! Thank you for a fantastic weekend and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Harry, thank you so much for this great review. We're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and got to explore this beautiful area. Look forward to seeing you here again one day - perhaps in the sunshine! Kate and Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent New Years Eve 2013 at Hillcrest Park. We wanted to find accommodation that was dog friendly and this place was great! They have a dog walking field on site and the POD we stayed in was a perfect place for us all to settle in the evenings. The facilities were very well kept and I enjoyed a nice hot shower after a day of walking the dogs in the rain. There are lots of nice walks and things to do and the owners Kate and Ed were full of information about the local area which was very useful.

I didn't think winter would be the best time to go POD camping but the heater provided kept us warm and we all had a great time. We cooked a dinner on the gas cooker and opened a bottle of wine to see the new year. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: There was plenty of room for two people and two large dogs in a small POD!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate-and-Ade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Glad to hear you enjoyed your New Year here, and thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. Since you came, we've improved the showers and loos, and also the kitchen facilities - so if you come again, hopefully you will be even more comfortable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My parents came to stay in February 2014 in their motorhome, they enjoyed the surroundings of the park and the facilities are great. My dad suffered a medical emergency and the owners Kate and Ed assisted and called for medical help (they saved his life) but the kindness didn't stop there they aarranged a cottage for immediate family. I would recommend this site to anyone whether it be staying in their well equipped cottages, camping pods or the use of the grounds for your motorhome/caravan. We will definatley be coming back very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhone2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I just hope your Dad is on the road to recovery, and that we'll see you all back here - in rude health - before too long. All our best wishes to you, Pat and Martin, from Kate and Ed (PS: the flowers lasted ages, the wine didn't!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just returned from our weekend at Hillcrest, don't normally take the van out as early as February. But it was great ,site all hard standing so no worries about pitches. Kate and ed who run the place were really nice couldn't be more help full. Excellent toilet and shower block right next to our van which was a bonus. Good dog walking field. Will definitely go back again this year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmgirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay, despite the slightly wild weather! Look forward to seeing you here again, perhaps in a Pod next time! Kate and Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Spent last weekend in one of the Camping Pods here and it was fantastic. The owner, Kate was extremley helpful with the booking and she invited us to come as early as we want, and told us we could stay later than the usual 10am check out time.

My Wife and I camp throughout the year all over the country, but as our tent is waiting repair at the moment, we decided to try a camping pod. Perfect for two people to sleep in, it was warm and clean. There was a little heater which didn't seem to give out much heat, although It kept the space warm through out the night. We were surprised to see frost in the surrounding fields and on the decking of our pod in the morning, wouldn't have guessed inside the Pod.

Showers, toilets and washing up facilities were clean and supplied with towels and sponges. We will be making a trip here again before the winter is out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review and I'm really pleased to hear you both enjoyed your stay. I do hope you will come again - and then you'll have chance to try out our newly tiled shower cubicles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I booked a Pod for our break as I enjoy camping but my husband doesn't so this was a good compromise. The family pod was very spacious and very warm for the time of year with the heater on. We where very unprepared for our trip however Kate and Ed where very helpful and provided us with lots of equipment and advice that made our stay comfortable. The dog walking field was wonderful for our dogs, I couldn't see any area that needed improvement!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Emma - thanks for the lovely review, and I'm glad we managed to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat, in terms of equipment! You might be interested to know that we have made some improvements by tiling out all the shower cubicles, so I hope you'll come back to try them out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spent a night at Hillcrest in one of the pods. The wooden pods are empty save for a lamp and a heater. They are very clean and you can easily stand up in them and move around. Bring your blankets, sleeping bags etc and it is very cosy. Concrete slabs are available to put BBQs on and each pod has a picnic table which can be folded into just a bench. There are toilets, shower facilities and washing up facilities available in a communal building which also lots of tourist information and details of the local area. The nearest shop was 3 miles away and a taxi there and back cost us 6 pound.
I have nothing negative to say. I couldn't see a tea towel in the washing pots area and I think having one available is the only thing I would change.

Really good value for money, lovely night away and we will certainly be back in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a helpful review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay - and we now have tea towels in the pot washing room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
22.9 mi away
Camp Katur
Camp Katur
#1 of 2 in Kirklington
173 reviews
9.6 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
11.0 mi away
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
3.8 mi away
Hollymoor House
Hollymoor House
#1 of 1 in Aldbrough St John
57 reviews
9.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Park

Address: Hillcrest Hillcrest Berry Bank | Caldwell, Richmond DL11 7UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Park is our family owned and run holiday park in one of the northernmost of the Yorkshire Dales, Teesdale. We have five holiday cottages, 10 camping pods and 15 pitches for touring caravans. We are surrounded by farmland yet only 10mins drive from the A66 and 1.5m from our nearest pub! Teesdale has much to offer, from the art exhibitions at the Bowes Museum to the towering natural beauty of High Force Waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillcrest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Park Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing