We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend 'podding'”
Review of Hillcrest Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillcrest Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from a weekend in one of the family pods at Hillcrest Park. The pod was a great size for the two of us and the dog. Great location with just a farmers field in front of you for the view with plenty of bird wildlife. Stayed for 2 nights decided to have a weekend camping without having to put the tent up and down. Showers and toilets fine and not far from the pods. Also has the benefit of a shared kitchen area where you wash up and you can also use the cooking facilities if its two wet outside. Great field for the dog to walk / run. We met a lovely family from Liverpool who where our neighbours and the son and his friend are a credit to their parents very polite and friendly and this added to a lovely two days. All in all a great weekend and we would highly recommend the pods and facilities on this site.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We're always delighted to hear that people enjoy the place as much as we do, and that you had a good experience. The family next to you were indeed a delight, and we hope that you all visit again! Many thanks, Kate and Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We rented a family pod which had plenty of room for my partner and I and the 2 children. Upon arrival, we were met by Kate who promptly showed us to our cosy pod. We only stayed for one night so the kids were more than happy to roam free in the field for the afternoon, and we could relax knowing that they were completely safe.

I haven't done much camping in the past because I don't like the idea of dirty, communal toilets and showers, but the facilities at Hillcrest were wonderful - so clean and warm with a few toiletries to hand. They were close to the pod as well which was handy in the middle of the night.

Hillcrest farm is set on the outskirts of a village and is ideal just to get away from it all. We took a walk down the lane for about a mile and came to a river where we skimmed stones for a while. We then looked for a pub for an afternoon drink but every pub we turned up to was closed! I think they are more like restaurants and only open at meal times. So,we headed back to the site, cracked open a bottle of wine and got the BBQ going - perfect weekend and we will most definitely be booking again very soon.

Thank you!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay Victoria - and perhaps we have changed your view of the camping experience! Thank you for taking the time to post a great review, and hope to see you here again.

Kate and Ed

PS: Note for next time - the Bridge Inn at Whorlton is open all day and serves food. It's very dog friendly, and the owners are lovely too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in a pod that overlooked raby castle, Enough said !!
Amazing site with great hosts.
Site lovely, location is great.
We stayed in early march and pod was lovely and warm.
Would recommend this site to anyone for campers in pods to motor homers or caravaners!.
Thanks again we will be back
Andy & Fiona Jones

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AndynFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and even better that you would like to come back! Thank you for taking the time to post a review and look forward to seeing you again, Kate and Ed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Our first stay at Hillcrest Park. What a gem of a site. A warm welcome from owners Kate & Ed. The caravan park is in a tranquil location, however close enough to North Yorkshire and Cumbria. I encourage you to stay either with your tourer/motor home, or stay in one of the camping pods or cottages.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BedouinJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves, and hope you have chance to visit again. Kate and Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have just returned from 2 nights in a family pod that slept 5 comfortably. The showers were immacutely clean and the water was lovely and warm. There was also a small kitchen area with a microwave and a 2 ring hob which you were free to use, this would have been brilliant if it had rained, however we were blessed with sunshine! Kate and Ed were very welcoming and Kate had a wealth of local knowledge that we used to fill our two days. Our pod overlooked the playing field which the children and the dog enjoyed. Would recommend a stay and hopefully we will visit again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blackpoolcoyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and took the time to post a lovely review, and hope to see you again. Your feedback on our little camping kitchen is also useful - hopefully the weather will be so good this season, it won't get much use! Kate and Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Me, my wife, my 5 year old son and our little 14 week old puppy stayed in a pod for a weekend away. Firstly, Kate and Ed are very welcoming and their hospitality is just incredible. They couldn't make you feel anymore welcome if they tried. We all had such a great time and will defiantly be returning again this year. Thank you both so much for a fantastic weekend.

You haven't lived until you've experienced 'podding' :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Really glad you enjoyed your stay, Mike. And thanks for the great review. Look forward to seeing you here again before too long. Kate and Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Have stayed both in a cottage and a pod. Both were great. The pods were particularly loved by the kids and were very cosy and warm. The site is located in gorgeous countryside. Fabulous for the dog especially having the dog walking field. Kate and Ed were more than accommodating and went over and above to make it a great stay. Would highly recommend. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank clareyb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrestpark, Owner at Hillcrest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you Clare! Glad you enjoyed both stays, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
11 mi away
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Inn Hotel
9.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
457 reviews
6.5 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hollymoor House
Hollymoor House
#1 of 1 in Aldbrough St John
58 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hack & Spade
Hack & Spade
#3 of 3 in Whashton
87 reviews
6.9 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#4 of 8 in Richmond
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Park

Address: Hillcrest Hillcrest Berry Bank | Caldwell, Richmond DL11 7UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Price Range: £50 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Park is our family owned and run holiday park in one of the northernmost of the Yorkshire Dales, Teesdale. We have five holiday cottages, 10 camping pods and 15 pitches for touring caravans. We are surrounded by farmland yet only 10mins drive from the A66 and 1.5m from our nearest pub! Teesdale has much to offer, from the art exhibitions at the Bowes Museum to the towering natural beauty of High Force Waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillcrest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Park Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing