We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent evening meal”
Review of Turf Restaurant

Turf Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 119 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent evening meal”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We went for evening meal with a couple of friends and had a really great time. I dont often think of going to pubs to eat - mainly associate them with drinking! but so glad we were advised to go here. The food was really good and the staff were very friendly whilst serving us. Eating in pubs has a more relaxed atmosphere then restaurants and had a very nice relaxing evening catching up with friends. Will definitely go back here again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    29
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis Valley, NS
Level Contributor
145 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Only OK”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I had a meal at the Turf Tavern on the recommendation of the barman at another pub that did not serve food. It is hard and perhaps unfair to rate an eatery on just one meal, but the curry I had was just passable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valleyguy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Very good location this pub is in the middle of Richmond when walking in the very good atmosphere lots of people eating and drinking so I can tell the staff were busy we ordered three meals that was good value two meals for £11.00 and I had lasagna have to say the food was very nice all home made Chips as well absolutely tasty The only thing that let this pub down was the waitress I fought she was a bit stroppy by throwing down the knife and forks made me feel a little bit uncomfortable but other from that good home made cooking and good atmosphere pub

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

An excellent Sunday Lunch, the roast beef was plentiful while our friend had a fabulous looking chicken pie which was packed with chicken. The sticky toffee pudding was one of the lightest I've ever had and tasted amazing too. The service was friendly and efficient without being in your face and it was excellent value for money. We will definitely visit again when next in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic0la_Pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best Sunday Lunches in the Area”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The sunday dinners are fantastic, Huge portions of meat, roasties,yorkshires and a selection of well-cooked veg and a divine Dauphinoise potato dish. However....if you are vegetarian or have a veggie guest be prepared to be hungry. I asked a waitress what was the Sunday lunch veggie option, expecting a vegetarian meatloaf, quiche or something similar and was told 'The veggie sunday lunch option is extra vegetables -we just give you more veggies and no meat'. This needs to be addressed, one small change will make this Pub a faultless place for good homemade grub any day of the week.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KristalB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turf Restaurant also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Turf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing