We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant food”
Review of The Farmers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Farmers Arms
Ranked #34 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“brilliant food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

myself and my partner have been here a few times for a meal and we could not fault it in anyway. the food is amazing and well worth the money. however we have not stayed in the hotel part, I would recommend the food to everyone, the building is clean and tidy the staff are very polite and helpful.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    20
    11
    10
    11
See reviews for
28
24
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Today we went for lunch at the farmers arms. We had pre-booked a table, unsure of how busy it would be. When we got there we found it to be quiet but luckily they had reserved us a nice table by the window. We were promply served and told that the tower burger - which my husband ordered - would take half an hour to cook. We said this was fine but asked for our little girls meal to be brought out sooner if possible just so she could get sorted. They were very helpful with this and her meal was brought out promptly. Our meals followed shortly after. All I can say is our meals were perfect. The fish and chips I had were the best ive had in a long time. The chips are lush!! After our meal they brought out a cake for my father in law, with a candel and plates so we could eat the cake. Even when my father in law asked for a coffee with rum in, the waitress made it up for him. Service couldnt have been better and food was delicious. Would deffinatly go again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If you are in the Richmond, North Yorkshire area make a point of visiting The Farmers Arms at Brompton on Swale. You will not be disappointed. A relaxed, friendly atmosphere, pleasant and attentive staff, really good food at competetive prices, prompt service, and a fine selection of beers, wines and spirits make for a really great experience.
My husband and I and any visiting family members will be returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond,north yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We booked as a work do for a college leaving meal. Asked to pre order meals as we wee a table of 11. We were all arrived and sat at out table but 7.30 the time the food and table was booked for. Half hour went past no food and no one to ask if there was a problem??? We were round the corner in another room from the bar area when one of our table went to order a drink asked if the food was on it's way the reply was "shortly". 30 mins went by after this and we where all very hungry disappointed frustrated and getting ready to leave. I went to ask how long food was going to be as 2 of our members of the group have diabetics and needed to eat or leave to get food at home so they did not become ill. I was told " no longer than 10 mins as they were waiting for the chicken to cook". I as a chef my self know chicken does not take over an hour to cook!!!! We finally revived out food at 9oclock The waitress did not at any point come to explain any delay or problem with the food. We had to find a member of staff for an explanation. This I find is unacceptable. We did how ever get given 1 complimentary drink each but st this point all of us where wanting to leave As we had no food and no idea of when it was gongTo arrive if at all. It did finally come like I mentioned
1 1/2 hours after we had pre booked out food for. Very disappointing and such a let down for our friend whos leaving party it was The food was enjoyable but why wouldn't it be after an hour and a half wait. The salmon dishes where discribed on the menu as marinated in orange and ginger with chilli sweet and sour sauce the 3 of us who had this dish all said none of these flavours where detectable so we were not entiallg sure what it was served in a sauce of but where too hungry after out hour half wait to mention it as we did not want the food to be taken and started again as we could not risk another hour half wait for it to arrive to us as the rest of our party would have left by time we got ours back. Such a disappointing experience. We will not be returning and not recommending it to any one who is hungry. I have worked in restaurants and feel that this was a very unacceptable wait time in a not busy pub and the lack of communication about the delay made the matter frustrating. Had we had been approached and told there was a problem we could have understood and been more patient but having to guess what was happening with the pre ordered food we were all about to grab our belongings and leave when the first meal came I the table. We were forgotten about we think. We still didn't know the reason why we waited so long for our simply food dished to be cooked. Not a good customer service or time keeping

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Clairelou1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Visited for a carvery when passing, chanced a table without a booking.
Charming little pub which was very busy, got a table in a little side bar room, nice and cosy. Toilets lovely and clean also.
Weird system regarding ordering / paying. Ordered drinks at the bar, asked to set up a tab so we could pay at the end, told this was fine, was given a table number and told to join another queue. Went to order carvery at a separate queue, but then had to pay before we could get our carvery ticket, so couldn't get a tab? Confusing. Asked if we wanted any more drinks or deserts adding onto the bill before we paid - not sure how we would have known what else we wanted to drink when we had only just got our first drink or whether we wanted a pudding?
Anyway, queued up for carvery, but it was more like school dinner queue. Usually I would expect to be able to serve myself at a carvery - that's the point isn't it? Instead after we had been given the meat and frozen Yorkshire pud there was a lady slopping overcooked veg and sloppy mash and mushy peas on the plate. Bizarre.
Average Sunday lunch in a nice setting. Wouldn't rush back unfortunately.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaTT187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Thursday night is quiz night, so, if you want to eat, get there early; fortunately we were aware of this and so had ordered and eaten, well before the quiz started. The quiz was fun, the food was good; what else can I say. I had the pheasant and chorizo pie, an excellent lining for a few pints. We have eaten here twice now and for a pub, because a pub is what it is, we certainly cannot complain. If you want wholesome, tasty food, give it a go. If you want 5 star accommodation with a Michelin style restaurant, go somewhere else. One big bonus, they also serve Doom Bar; a bit of Daymer Bay in the Dales. What is there not to like?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollyjohnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We came across this inn by chance as we were staying down the road at the Bridge Hotel (avoid at all costs!!) they informed us they weren't cooking that Saturday and advised us to try the framers Arms. Although they were fully booked, they squeezed us in, and it was well worth it!! The food was excellent. We discovered they did accommodation too, and have stayed here 3 times since. The rooms are very homely, and spacious, with free wifi available. The family room is excellent. We have eaten in the pub and restaurant each time and never been disappointed with the quality of the food - you must try the beef Wellington! It is to die for!!!! And the fact that it is always full is indication of how good this place is!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but the family room is amazing with separate rooms for the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen25364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
125 reviews
3.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
744 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#17 of 51 in Richmond
143 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
220 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Turf Hotel
The Turf Hotel
#39 of 51 in Richmond
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Arms

Property: The Farmers Arms
Address: Gatherley Road | Brompton on Swale, Richmond DL10 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With many years of experience in the food and drink industry, the Farmers Arms offers an eclectic A la carte menu to tantalise any taste buds, a fine selection of wines and cask ales, a welcoming atmosphere, traditional country style en-suite accommodation and a Sunday carvery of un-beatable value to customers throughout the local area and beyond.Founded in 1700s, the bar/restaurant started out as a Coaching Inn but has developed into a wonderful eatery for all patrons near and far and is situated in Brompton on Swale (Richmond). The Farmers Arms aims to provide every customer with a professional and courteous customer service, and an experience to meet and exceed expectations of food, wine, accommodation and hospitality and has a separate, lounge, bar and restaurant to suit all customers’ needs, traditional country En-suite accommodation, a child's play area and a large and beautiful beer garden. The expert staff allows customers to enjoy great food and drink in a welcoming atmosphere and provide the highest standards of service. The farmers arms aims to provide the correct ambiance and professionalism to meet and exceed all expectations, whether it be for a quiet meal with a loved one, a family function, a bite to eat with the kids, or a drink with friends or colleagues every time. The Farmers Arms is managed by Michael Cooper AMBII and Maria CooperThe Management team and staff are more than qualified to take good care of all the customer’s needs, having had many years’ experience in hospitality and catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Farmers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Arms Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing