We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location, lovely people”

Review of The Old Mill

The Old Mill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Mill
The Old Mill from a distance in spring The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The Old Mill
The Old Mill from a distance in spring
The lounge
The kitchen
Family bedroom
Twin room, 2nd floor
Bathroom, 1st floor
Bathroom, 2nd floor
Studio Theatre at The Old Mill Centre
In the grounds by the beck
The Old Mill from a distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Richmond, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andreathe...
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location, lovely people”
Reviewed 3 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We held my son's 21st birthday party at the Old Mill and had a great time. The owner & all the staff could not have been more welcoming, friendly & helpful. The facilities, accommodation and location were excellent. The party room/studio was perfect for a party with brilliant sound & video equipment & plenty of space for 60 people. I would highly recommend the Old Mill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2017
Thank you Andrea for taking the time to write these affirming comments. We're delighted that The Old Mill Centre was everything that you'd hoped it to be for your son's 21st. Thank you for looking after our special place. We look forward to welcoming you or some of your guests back on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jill b
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Insulted by the owner”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My review of the Old Mill would have been considerably better if I and my friends hadn’t been so insulted by the owner after our departure. After staying two nights and one full day, most of which was spent in Richmond, we received the most appalling communication that we had left the house in a mess......a mess that incurred three extra hours of cleaning, at a cost to us. This is preposterous. I admit that there will have been some superficial tidying, however nothing out of the ordinary and nothing that required deep cleaning. Surely a certain proportion of the rental cost is factored in for cleaning / tidying. We actually prided ourselves on the condition we left the house. Furthermore, to be accused of using too many toilet rolls is a joke. We are all professional people on decent wages who would not lower ourselves to steel cheap toilet rolls. To be accused of taking toilet rolls home is Incredulous. The communication that came from the cleaners, to the owner, has obviously been taken at face value - were these two cleaners after a fast buck? Also, the owner has twice addressed my friend, who booked the stay, the wrong name. How can we be sure that the cleaners or owner even has the right group of people? My only regret is that we didn’t take photographs of the house as we left -our proof that we did indeed leave the house in a decent state, one that two cleaners could easily have turned round for the next occupants in the appropriate timeframe.

On a positive note, Richmond is beautiful and the house is in a good location, as long as you take your own bucket and cleaning equipment so that the cleaners don’t have to lift a finger after you’ve gone. Oh and be conservative with your toilet roll consumption - every sheet counts!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review following a weekend stay and Halloween party at The Old Mill. We’re saddened that you feel so upset by the observations that were passed onto your group leader from the independent professional cleaning company that we use. The response from the company involved has been: “We certainly were not wanting to insult anyone as it’s our job as cleaners to clean up after people. However on this occasion it was left in a mess compared to how it usually is. Our feedback is how we found it”.

We are currently still in conversation with the person who made the booking and who agreed to the Terms & Conditions [not Jill Carroll who has written this review] and the cleaning company. We are seeking to understand the situation and to find a solution. In almost 10 years of being a centre, we have never had such a conflict of opinion about the state in which The Old Mill has been left. In our view, this review is premature, exaggerated and does not present the full picture.

We have had many lovely, caring guests at The Old Mill who have ensured that the whole centre is looked after with due care & attention, leaving it as tidy as they have found it. Our other reviews on TripAdvisor, including from those guests who return year after year, reflect a mutual concern and trust. We’d like to thank all those guests who have honoured their bond over the years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S
1 review
“Great get-away for the gang!”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is an amazing venue - an interesting building, well equipped, comfortable and beautifully maintained. The whole place exudes thought and care. We were a group of 7, but it could comfortably have slept 3 times that number (though I think around 12 adults would be comfortable for dining and bathrooms). The location is great - just outside Richmond and with access to superb walking in the Yorkshire Dales. We'll be back!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review Steve. We're delighted that you appreciated The Old Mill Centre so much and that you'd like to come back. That's just what we like to hear! Next time you're planning a Leadership Team Retreat (or for any other groups that need to get away) we look forward to hearing from you, hopefully in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marktina2...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Secluded family getaway!”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

With a large family growing family none of us have a home large enough for a get together for overnight stays. The Old Mill Center is just perfect for this. We stayed 2 nights. The accomodation is very spacious, warm & welcoming. We had a wonderful family reunion & will be repeating it in the future. Thank you so much!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're delighted that The Old Mill Centre enabled you to have such a wonderful family reunion. The whole team will look forward to welcoming you all again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious, comfortable and loads to offer families”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Brilliant! We booked the old mill for our annual group getaway in mid September. We are 5 families with children and a couple of uncles (20 in total). I was worried that the dining room would be too small for all of us and the layout would mean people being separated off in the kitchen. It really wasn't like 2 rooms at all. Comfortable and spacious! I had also been worried about one of the families going in the twin room. But, the photos don't do the size justice: plenty of room for a zed-bed or cot. We hired the studio for the weekend. The kids loved running around in there when it rained and we couldn't play in the field (also great fun). We also had a great 5 year olds birthday party in there. The team who run the old mill couldn't have been more helpful. Great place from start to finish. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thank you for this glowing review Michelle. This will make the whole team glow too! We're delighted that you had such a wonderful time - just what we love to hear. Thank you especially for mentioning how spacious the rooms are. That will be really helpful for enquirers who are pondering the same questions. We hope to see you all again some day in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElrondDon...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Magic in Richmond”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had such a magical stay in this delightful farmhouse. Christine and Barbara were fantastically helpful and the location was splendid. Lovely countryside but close to Richmond. There's plenty of space for many guests if needed, and the facilities are perfect. This place is a real gem and we can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for this affirming review. We're so pleased that The Old Mill was just what you were looking for - and that you'd like to come and see us again. We'll look forward to it! I'll ensure that Christine and the whole team see what you have written. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this review Lyndsey. We're so pleased The Old Mill and surroundings were just what you were looking for. Thank you for your booking and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Happy 70th Birthday to your mum-in-law once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing