We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yorkshire trip 2013”

Foxglove Covert Local Nature Reserve
Ranked #10 of 24 things to do in Richmond
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Foxglove Covert Local Nature Reserve covers 100 acres of moorland edge adjacent to Cambrai Lines at Catterick and has a remarkable mix of habitats and species. The reserve contains semi-natural woodland, heathland, flower-rich grassland, streams, ponds, a lake, willow and Alder carr, coniferous woodlands and wet meadows. The patchwork of habitats across Foxglove Covert Local Nature Reserve is home to more than 2440 species. At the heart of the reserve is a modern, purpose-designed Field Centre, a great place to start your visit and learn more about the wildlife of Foxglove Covert. The diverse habitats of the site mean that a variety of bird species is either resident or passing through on migration and bird ringing is one of the most important aspects of conservation on the reserve. In common with all other bird ringing sites, Foxglove Covert carries out its work under the auspices of The British Trust for Ornithology (BTO). We are located as part of Catterick Garrison so identification is required to access the site. Please see our website for further details on access and directions. Access to the site is free, however any donations are gratefully received to help us find the £100,000 it costs each year to keep the reserve open. We are open every day (except Christmas, Boxing and New Years Days); Monday-Friday 9.00am-5.00pm and weekends and bank holidays 10.00am-4.00pm.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Yorkshire trip 2013”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Hard to find and you have to go into the camp at Catterick Garrison just behind the Tesco but once you are in there is a great visitor's center and ringing station lots of interesting things to look at and do.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I visited Foxglove last week, stopping off on a trip up to Durham from Yorkshire. The beauty and diversity of nature reserve were totally unexpected, so much in such a relatively small area. The field centre, where we were made most welcome, was full of interesting information, friendly people and facilities to eat a picnic lunch. The guided walk, taking us to see woods, streams, wild flower meadows and more. We sat for a short while in a hide overlooking the wet lands and were lucky enough to see a dazzlingly coloured kingfisher whizz by.
There is an outdoor classroom with fun activities to foster environmental awareness and a love of nature. Much of the reserve seemed to developed to allow access for all.
I really enjoyed this place, it has so obviously been developed and looked after by staff and volunteers who really love nature, wildlife and the reserve itself.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neesh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Military Camp hidden secret”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Anyone interested in wildlife, particularly birds will love Foxglove. It is a piece of tranquility in the heart of a military zone. Wonderful facilities.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A wonderful discovery. A little difficult finding out how exactly to find it other than the info that it was in Catterick Barracks. When we arrived we were given a map and codes in the Guardroom and eventually found the gated and locked entrance that we undid with the code. We didn't realise we could drive down to the visitor centre at first but soon realised. We met the very friendly warden on the way in and he made us feel most welcome.
It was a little late in a rainy and cloudy day for photographing but we had a lovely walk and looked around the centre. Everywhere was very accessible and well signed with a variety of wildlife habitats.
Next time we are in the area we fully intend to revisit - in fact we were so impressed we may just make a special journey !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely location, wonderful wildlife, flora and fauna”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A simply lovely place to wander around either on a the moorland or around the woodland trails and ponds. The wildlife, flora and fauna are stunning and the whole place is a credit to the MoD and the volunteers as it's immaculate. The 2 main hides are excellent (and super clean too) and the volunteers are wonderful. Can you tell I like this little gem? It's free to get in but we leave a nice donation and the visitor centre is excellent plus the kettle is always on to help yourself to a cuppa. When we were there recently the volunteers were ringing birds caught in the mist nets and my wife was asked if she'd like to release them. Yes please :) The Chiffchaff was tiny :)

As the reserve is accessed from within an active army barracks take photo ID (at least for the driver) and follow, very carefully, the signs for the reserve. You don't want to go wandering around looking lost.

Well behaved dogs are welcome too and many of the trails are accessible for people with disabilities.

Is there a negative? Yes, just one. The parking is, well, a bit of park it where you can (within the reserve obviously and not so to block a trail entrance, etc) as there is no obvious defined car park. Best get there early then.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PetenCaz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foxglove Covert Local Nature Reserve also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Foxglove Covert Local Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing