We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect host perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

What a fantastic hotel . We stayed in The cottage on the ground floor which is located outside next to the hotel. Decor is lovely the room as so much charater plenty of space and storage. Bathroom is lovely too again tastefully decorated. Now for the owner David , what a charater , David makes you feel welcome from the minute you step in the door to leaving. Nothing is too much trouble and you can tell he is proud of his hotel and he should be. David is very attentive and funny. The staff are fantastic too best service and again so friendly. This hotel is a real gem . We also dined in the restaurant what an experience, food was amazing on every mouthful you had an explosion of tastecand textures, the chef is superb . The ambiance in the restaurant is just right with excellant service you truly do not want to miss dining here. The overall standard of the hotel is superb in all
rooms. Would I book again...definitely. One last thing I normally struggle sleeping in hotel beds no
t here beds are really comfy slept really well and then served with a fresh tasty cooked breakfast all the food was to a high quality. Thank you so much David and your staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vodkasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Well run by a man with passion. All the staff we came across were intelligent and proficient, dinner was fantastic and a real surprise. The beds were comfy. We will certainly go back, Richmond looked lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were given a track date and accommodation which had been won by friends. I would normally (perhaps cynically) expect accommodation prizes not to be of the highest standards but clean and comfortable. I cannot begin to express how taken aback we were on our arrival at the Frenchgate. The owner greeted us personally and immediately advised us of the private parking, of which I had been unaware and was anticipating on-street parking overnight. He was obviously proud and so enthusiastic about the hotel, showing us to our room, outlining the history of the building and explaining the origins and outcomes of the furnishings and decor. This was followed by a meal, which was second to none, and leisurely taken drinks afterwards in the most comfortable of surroundings. A wonderfully comfortable 7' bed gives a marvelous sleeping area! Breakfast was as good as it gets. I cannot tell you how attentive the staff were and how special it made the stay feel. On leaving we were allowed to leave the car whilst we explored the town and the owner took time out of his morning to explain the legend of the drummer boy and a most picturesque walk around the environs. 10/10. Please give serious consideration to this hotel and restaurant, I can guarantee that you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Frenchgate Hotel & Restaurant and would highly recommend it. As it was a late booking we stayed in two different rooms which we had agreed to on making the booking. The first room we stayed in was a lovely well kept en-suite room with a 4x6 double bed although the bed was a bit snug it suited us both fine and the lovely Claire on reception had pre warned us of this fact on booking so it was no surprise.
On arrival we met Claire and David, the owner, and they made us feel very welcome and we felt like we had known them for ever, they make a great team and could not do enough for us.
On our second night we stayed in the "Napoli" room which we again would highly recommend the bed is 7feet wide !! the bath which is situated in this very large room is luxurious it also has an en-suit wet room/w.c. Both rooms have ceiling fans which are very quite and cools the room very well. Both rooms were very quite, the Hotel is situated on a cobbled back street not far from a Church which still has chimes which we found most pleasant. The second night we booked in for dinner and after drinks in the lounge we sat down to a wonderful dining experience the new chef Shaun had put on an excellent menu and has some great ideas for the future. The food,wine and service was exceptional and David made the experience very enjoyable.
We will be going back to the Frenchgate and would like to thank the wonderful David,Claire,Shaun and the rest of the team that made our stay such a special one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tap202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Frenchgate Hotel on our wedding night recently. We had a night in the "honeymoon suite" which was large and very comfortable with a beautiful bathroom. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the town centre on a relatively quiet side street with off street parking. The hotel is very nicely furnished with a lovely garden and outdoor seating area. The staff are welcoming and helpful. We stayed on a B&B rate and the breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. We could have eaten breakfast in the bedroom as it had a table and chairs in however we chose to eat in the dining room with friends. Our only negative point is that the owner who very kindly showed us around a month or so before our stay appeared fixated on explaining how much the furnishings cost in the hotel, something that we felt was unnecessary as the hotel and its furnishings really do speak for themselves. Furthermore on the night of our stay we returned to the hotel bar around 1am and my wife ordered drinks however the owner appeared a little put out at being disturbed whilst using his computer in the hotel reception. He was the only member of staff working at that time. Despite these 2 minor negative points our stay was lovely and we would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the suite, the hand carved oak bed is amazing, my only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. When we arrived, the hotel owner met us, he was friendly, welcoming and as soon as we arrived we knew that our stay was going to be excellent. We checked into the suite and proceeded to have a few drinks in the cosy bar. The hotel owner bought us an excellent bottle of wine on his recommendation and we sat in the conservatory/bar enjoying the weather. The next morning we had an excellent breakfast in the informal but pleasant surroundings of the dinning room. All in all a most excellent stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob2493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed in the Frenchgate on a short holiday in North Yorkshire in early August. The "Napoli" room was superbly kitted out; we lacked for nothing. The room had a quiet ceiling fan. It's a bit quirky having the bath in the bedroom, but having the bathroom and shower separate was very useful. We ate in the restaurant once and the service, food, wine, and presentation were amazing. The location is also good as it is in close proximity to the central marketplace yet it is not a through street, hence very quiet at night. Can't recommend it highly enough. Also several other good restaurants within walking distance. Only slight problem for us was the mattress was a bit on the hard side.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astro_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
455 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#4 of 8 in Richmond
185 reviews
13.5 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
20.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
479 reviews
19.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £109 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing