We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food & restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic food & restaurant”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We enjoyed an absolutely brilliant evening at the Frenchgate Hotel on Friday. The food, wine, ambience and serviec were second to none. Every detail has been carefully considered to ensure the ultimate dining experience. A 'must visit' restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    103
    30
    27
    11
See reviews for
75
436
40
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I sought a boutique hotel with a slighty different touch, from the orginal enquiry with david i was certain this would be the area and hotel to entertain some business guests.booking was made for 7th december 2013.

Upon arrival our every need was met to true excelance from david and his team, great food and a great selection of beverage to suit any pallet.

i would strongly advise purchasing a bottle of finhe champagne to be educated and instruted on the art sabrage!

Rooms were tactfully decorated and very clean the thomson massey suite was outstanding.

in short eiter business or pleasure david and his team will most certainly make it memorable

cheers David, hope to see you in the future

Room Tip: the thomson massey suite is a fine way to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were shown to our room by the very friendly owner, David Todd. The room we stayed in was a superior room called The Galway, very large king size bed and lovely wet shower room which had a heated tiled floor. The room was very nicely decorated with quality bedding, lighting and furniture. Very attentive staff as we were waited on the lounge sat in front of a roaring fire. The evening meal was very good quality food with a few added chef compliments such as an oyster starter !! Breakfast was also of a high standard. The hotel is delightfully decorated throughout. It is also in a good position in Richmond being 10 minutes from the main market square and the same distance from the river. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a wet room with a walk in shower and heated flooring
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilG1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Back again and not disappointed, got a free upgrade to a deluxe room which was a nice surprise, stayed in for dinner which was excellent especially the goat cheese tartlet. I also tried a local brew Timothy Taylor Strong Pale Ale an excellent find and will be buying some from my local brewery in Bristol 'Bath Ales'..

I was surprised there wasn't more people staying please give it a try if you are in the area

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticker1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Visited the Frenchgate hotel restaurant last night for the first time and had the most wonderful food and personal experience. I would highly recommend it for service, quality and a unique overall experience. I would certainly return and recommend it to my friends and relatives. Next time I would like to stay and experience more of the hotel facilities.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cakeylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand cayman
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here for one night as attending the gala dinner at Richmond School. I was greeted by David Todd the owner who gave a really warm welcome & upgraded my room. The hotel was spotless & rooms so clean & tastefully furnished. The bar area had a roaring log fire & the staff most friendly. The breakfast was beautiful & I felt it was home from home as so relaxing.I would recommend you stay here as David will ensure you are looked after. Thank you Frenchgate. Caroline

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrixieTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Ooh what a wonderful welcome.David met us at the car and helped us in with our luggage, came to our room with us and showed us where everything was and how to use the Shower/Bath/Heating etc, Beautiful room, very comfortable beds, nothing was to much trouble...Staff best ever!!! And I have stayed in hundreds of hotels, they remembered our names and my Sons name who I had arranged to meet the following morning for breakfast.
Breakfast was lovely, really relaxed with very fresh and beautifully cooked food.
Really looking forward to an excuse to come back
Thank you
Gill Shaw

Www.gillshaw.co.uk

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
753 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
156 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,265 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
0.2 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 51 in Richmond
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Property: The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing