We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightfully modern yet traditional hotel providing everything you could possibly need.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My girlfriend and I spent the Easter bank holiday at the Frenchgate and had a truly wonderful time. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They interacted with each of their guests on a personal level to ensure all their needs were catered for. The rooms have been beautifully restored and kitted out with all you'll need for an enjoyable stay. The exquisite bathrooms with underfloor heating, large double showers and heated mirrors are very well thought out. The "double bed" was enormous! Over 7ft wide and incredibly comfortable. The only minor downside is the level of mood lighting. Whilst providing a relaxing and romantic atmosphere it might be nice to have the option for some brighter light in order to apply makeup. However the lit and heated mirror in the bathroom was an adequate substitute. The food was simply sublime. I thoroughly recommend you book a table for dinner and when you saunter down for breakfast in the morning, be sure to sample Doreen's black pudding! We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
There are newer reviews for The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good location, managed to park right outside. We had booked a double room and a single room. The double room we were shown to was in "the cottage". The single in the main hotel. We also had dinner at the hotel on the night we stayed. Whilst our stay was very good, food also very good, we felt slightly patronised at times. We would suggest that the hotel, booking sites make it very clear as to the location of "the cottage" room and that it does not have a shower.

Room Tip: Check carefully when booking as "the cottage" is not attached to the hotel, it does not ha...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Always a very warm welcome from David. Stayed in the past with my husband but this time en route to scotland and back on my own David gave me a very comfortable and stylish room (bathrooms gorgeous especially luxurious towels) Sadly the restaurant was closed for work in progressive in the kitchen. Ah well, next time! Good breakfast choices before setting off. Have recommended to friends and look forward to returning.
Barbara Walker

Room Tip: Just leave it to David
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Frenchgate Hotel for one night in April 2014.
We decided to book a room based on previous reviews on Trip Advisor; the hotel definately lived up to its reputation!
The hotel is gorgeous, the room was clean and stylishly furnished.
The staff were extremely helpful and made our stay very comfortable.
We ate our evening meal in the restaurant and had one of the best meals we've had in a long time. Breakfast was delicious too.
I would definately recommend this hotel for a stay in Richmond.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank super_star0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was a last minute booking.
Managed to park right outside the hotel. The owner showed me to my room, which was the single but a lovely well appointed room and bathroom. Not the biggest hotel room I have ever stayed in but had everything I needed.
Very disappointed to learn that the hotel restaurant was closed as I had heard good things about it. The hotel owner recommended 3 restaurants - sadly as it was a Sunday night one was closed, also on checking one has a '0' rating food hygiene score - luckily I found that out before visiting Rustique. In the end I ate at the Italian just around the corner which was absolutely fine. When I returned to the hotel I pointed out the hygiene rating to the hotel owner - he was surprised. This is a recent score too. Hopefully he will not be recommending them again unless they vastly improve.
It was great to have free wifi in the room and the main hotel area - something that larger hotels need to look at - Marriott for instance.
For some reason I wasn't over impressed with Richmond and prefer Leyburn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bakingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I would not hesitate a recommending the Frenchgate to anyone visiting Richmond and the surrounding area. The hotel is immaculate, the staff warm, friendly and attentive and its on the loveliest street in the town. It was perfect for our weekend away from work and the kids...just wish it had lasted longer! Thank you to all the folk at the Frenchgate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Frenchgate was a great place to stay, comfortable, cosy and very welcoming. Huge double bed, oodles of bath/hair toiletries, and a lovely breakfast next morning-couldn't want more (except a swimming pool!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
798 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
170 reviews
4.8 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 51 in Richmond
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#15 of 51 in Richmond
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £106 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing