We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

we stayed for two nights at the Frenchgate May Bank holiday Superb hotel highly recommended great location everything perfect 2 min walk to town rooms very well equipped quiet at night breakfast very nice

Room Tip: pay a bit extra and book this hotel you won't be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    98
    30
    26
    10
See reviews for
71
419
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

we stayed at the Frenchgate for an overnight stay in April - we have stayed there before so knew what to expect. we did some lovely walks on Saturday and Sunday with an amazing meal in the restaurant on Saturday evening. The bespoke rooms are beautiful with all of the mod cons - underfloor heating in the bathroom and heated mirror. The food is to die for and the proprietor always has a good suggestion for drinks - I usually have the marmalade vodka - its lovely. we would definitely recommend this to others

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jules T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We found the Frenchgate to be warm friendly and comfortable, on arrival the welcome was all we could expect. The room was of a high standard and offered a pleasant atmosphere setting the scene for our stay. Breakfast was good and there was a varied menu for every taste served in a small pleasant dining room. All in all would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed of equal comfort to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

A great location in Richmond, down a very pretty cobbled street. Parking on the street at the front of the hotel is free but limited. However there was plenty of space available in the private car park behind the hotel. This is accessed by a different street - I'd advise you contact the hotel to get details before you drive there.
The room (5) was a little small but very well and tastefully appointed with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. We were woken early by noise from the room above (very creaky floor boards and noisy bathroom) but it's an old house, so expected and not an issue.
Breakfast was fine, but nothing special and maybe did not live up to the surroundings. Fruit salad was a bit tired looking and the eggs Benedict tasted a bit vinegary for my partner's tastes. But it was still a cut above the usual B+B fare.
All in all a very pleasant stay - maybe be a bit overpriced (126 GBP for one night) for the size of the room, but we would definitely return and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Room 5 is twin room - quite small and lots of noise from the room above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My girlfriend and I were looking to book hotel in Richmond for weekend at short notice.Found the Frenchgate on line and rung to enquire about vacancies.Only one room available which we took.The owner David was on hand to greet us and take us to our room.He painstakingly showed us around the room and all its special features.The room was superb,original feature yet modern facilities that you come to expect in the most modern of hotels.The hotel even provided us with a bottle of Champagne free gratis.The location is very good for the town centre on beautiful cobbled street,providing good location but off the main road.Breakfast was most appertising with very good service.I will definitely be returning to this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I visit Richmond about twice a year to see relations in the area and I have stayed at other hotels and B&Bs which have been very good. I thought I'd try this one for a change. Although this hotel looked attractive from its ratings and its pictures I was disappointed. Obviously a lot of money has been spent on this small hotel but when you get down to detail there are negatives. I booked an executive single room thinking I would get a slightly bigger room than normal but this wasn't the case. The very nice bed had been squeezed into the room, making it difficult to get round. The reading light had a red shade, making it impossible to read in bed. The Wi-Fi only worked intermittently, which was very frustrating. I had particularly booked a hotel with Wi-Fi, because I had some work to do.

The shower was very small and the wash basin had no plug so you couldn't have a shave properly although all of the fitments in the bathroom were obviously extremely expensive.

The breakfast was very good quality. Negatives: the teapot was too small and the toaster was in the breakfast room. Someone had left a piece of toast into long and consequently we had a smoky room smelling of burnt toast.

The price of this single room was at the high end and it really wasn't worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden at the rear – it's less noisy at night, when people return...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodenoughtoeat, Owner at The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
It is clear from this, your second review, that you still do not accept the need to charge for late cancellation.
You are correct in that a lot of money has been spent on expensive refurbishment of this beautiful old building and our generous cancellation policy of 48hrs is necessary to protect this business and maintain the high standards enjoyed by all our guests.
So of course the large 4.0' wide, comfortable bed you liked becomes a bed "squeezed" into the room, the soft bed side light with red shade alone might prove difficult to read by, but did the other two powerful desk lights and ceiling spots not help?
The large, 8" , powerful, regulated, Swedish rain showers found in our single rooms compliment all the other expensive fixtures including the "no plug basin" where you can enjoy shaving under fresh running water from the ingeniously designed aerated mixer taps with their 80% reduction in water flow!
We are pleased you also enjoyed your freshly cooked to order breakfast, which included the free flowing fresh tea in our, not huge, individual tea pots, warm, freshly baked (daily) breads for guests to slice fresh or toast as and when they choose, even though one guest must have enjoyed well done toast, but fail to see how the smell of fresh bread or toast at breakfast can spoil anyone's breakfast?
Your comments confirm the quality, freshness and individuality we provide consistently for all our guests, and your "disappointment" which comes from being charged a second night for late cancellation, is helpful to remind all travelers both the importance of booking the correct dates AND the need for all hotels to have clearly stated essential cancellation policy's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My girlfriend and I spent the Easter bank holiday at the Frenchgate and had a truly wonderful time. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They interacted with each of their guests on a personal level to ensure all their needs were catered for. The rooms have been beautifully restored and kitted out with all you'll need for an enjoyable stay. The exquisite bathrooms with underfloor heating, large double showers and heated mirrors are very well thought out. The "double bed" was enormous! Over 7ft wide and incredibly comfortable. The only minor downside is the level of mood lighting. Whilst providing a relaxing and romantic atmosphere it might be nice to have the option for some brighter light in order to apply makeup. However the lit and heated mirror in the bathroom was an adequate substitute. The food was simply sublime. I thoroughly recommend you book a table for dinner and when you saunter down for breakfast in the morning, be sure to sample Doreen's black pudding! We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 50 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 50 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Property: The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing