We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A well located boutique hotel within walking distance of Richmond town centre. Very helpful, friendly and professional staff. Excellent restaurant and ambience and good value.
Hotel located in a quiet street with free parking. Free wifi available.

Room Tip: Napoli suite,room 7 was comfortable and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

From the minute we arrived David and his staff made sure all are needs were met - it was a special occasion as my son was passing out at Catterick Garrison (only 5 minutes away) so I wanted to celebrate his achievement in style so I booked him and his girlfriend room 7 - a beautiful room with a massive egg shaped bath in the room. My granddaughter (aged2) and myself had room 5 a pretty room overlooking the gorgeous garden. In the evening we celebrated with a family meal - 5 courses of the most amazing dishes which not only looked fantastic but tasted just as good. The evening was rounded off with drinks in the comfortable lounge - breakfast was equally wonderful. David takes a real pride in his hotel and justly so.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at Frenchgate House from 2.5.2014 till 5.5.2014. From the moment we arrived until we left I can honestly say that David and his staff looked after us to the best level. He was charming and attentive and his staff were all very very friendly, professional and helpful. Our room, although on the small side (Tokyo). was very comfortable. The 7ft bed was superb. We did have the luxury of a bath which was very welcome after all the walking in the Dales. The hotel itself is very near to the main town. There were some lovely walks down by the river and also at the top looking over Richmond.
I would certainly return if David is still there and would recommend, without question.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

From the minute we arrived were made to feel welcome, we were shown to our room (junior suite room 7) by the owner and given a quick but thorough tour of our room and all the facilities. Beautiful old building but with modern rooms, loved the 7ft bed and free standing 'egg' bath. Dinner was lovely couldn't fault it, and all the staff were polite and professional, brilliant attention to detail but without being over bearing. Breakfast was also excellent great choice and again fab service. We will defiantly be returning and would not hesitate to recommend! The only reason for a 4/5 for cleanliness was because I found rather a bit of dust and small cobwebs in the room but a very small complaint in comparison to the overall experience :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Decided to treat my wife to a short stay at FG, we live local and just wanted to relax in and unwind for an evening. Our arrival was taken care of by David, we were made to feel most welcome, the room (an upgrade) was clean, spacious, immaculately presented and very tastefully finished. The batch and 7ft bed stole the show. Dinner was excellent, well paced and again presented with precision by a super friendly and efficient team. Breakfast was equally good, the situation and aspect of the dining room allows a discreet view down the Swale. A short stay that met our high expectations. Highly recommended for diner or a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exmoorstag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

we stayed for two nights at the Frenchgate May Bank holiday Superb hotel highly recommended great location everything perfect 2 min walk to town rooms very well equipped quiet at night breakfast very nice

Room Tip: pay a bit extra and book this hotel you won't be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

we stayed at the Frenchgate for an overnight stay in April - we have stayed there before so knew what to expect. we did some lovely walks on Saturday and Sunday with an amazing meal in the restaurant on Saturday evening. The bespoke rooms are beautiful with all of the mod cons - underfloor heating in the bathroom and heated mirror. The food is to die for and the proprietor always has a good suggestion for drinks - I usually have the marmalade vodka - its lovely. we would definitely recommend this to others

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jules T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
452 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#4 of 8 in Richmond
184 reviews
13.5 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
20.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
478 reviews
19.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £109 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing