We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid the owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Avoid the owner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This should be an excellent place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed and Frenchgate is a lovely, quiet street. However it is very expensive for this area, the food is not as good as it thinks it is, and the owner is insufferable: condescending, patronising, pretentious and evidently very much in love with the sound of his own voice. Even within Frenchgate there are far nicer and more user-friendly places to stay, and much better value too. Unless you like being lectured, I'd give this one a miss.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Silverfox I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    99
    30
    26
    10
See reviews for
71
419
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a one night stopover on a business trip. The Frenchgate is a really nice boutique hotel with friendly and attentive service. The rooms are well appointed, quiet and have very comfy beds. Unfortunately I missed dinner but the breakfast was excellent, I had the American breakfast which I'd recommend. The hotel is easy to find, parking was also easy. I'm coming to Richmond again next month and will certainly be checking in at the Frenchgate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

A well located boutique hotel within walking distance of Richmond town centre. Very helpful, friendly and professional staff. Excellent restaurant and ambience and good value.
Hotel located in a quiet street with free parking. Free wifi available.

Room Tip: Napoli suite,room 7 was comfortable and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

From the minute we arrived David and his staff made sure all are needs were met - it was a special occasion as my son was passing out at Catterick Garrison (only 5 minutes away) so I wanted to celebrate his achievement in style so I booked him and his girlfriend room 7 - a beautiful room with a massive egg shaped bath in the room. My granddaughter (aged2) and myself had room 5 a pretty room overlooking the gorgeous garden. In the evening we celebrated with a family meal - 5 courses of the most amazing dishes which not only looked fantastic but tasted just as good. The evening was rounded off with drinks in the comfortable lounge - breakfast was equally wonderful. David takes a real pride in his hotel and justly so.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at Frenchgate House from 2.5.2014 till 5.5.2014. From the moment we arrived until we left I can honestly say that David and his staff looked after us to the best level. He was charming and attentive and his staff were all very very friendly, professional and helpful. Our room, although on the small side (Tokyo). was very comfortable. The 7ft bed was superb. We did have the luxury of a bath which was very welcome after all the walking in the Dales. The hotel itself is very near to the main town. There were some lovely walks down by the river and also at the top looking over Richmond.
I would certainly return if David is still there and would recommend, without question.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

From the minute we arrived were made to feel welcome, we were shown to our room (junior suite room 7) by the owner and given a quick but thorough tour of our room and all the facilities. Beautiful old building but with modern rooms, loved the 7ft bed and free standing 'egg' bath. Dinner was lovely couldn't fault it, and all the staff were polite and professional, brilliant attention to detail but without being over bearing. Breakfast was also excellent great choice and again fab service. We will defiantly be returning and would not hesitate to recommend! The only reason for a 4/5 for cleanliness was because I found rather a bit of dust and small cobwebs in the room but a very small complaint in comparison to the overall experience :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Decided to treat my wife to a short stay at FG, we live local and just wanted to relax in and unwind for an evening. Our arrival was taken care of by David, we were made to feel most welcome, the room (an upgrade) was clean, spacious, immaculately presented and very tastefully finished. The batch and 7ft bed stole the show. Dinner was excellent, well paced and again presented with precision by a super friendly and efficient team. Breakfast was equally good, the situation and aspect of the dining room allows a discreet view down the Swale. A short stay that met our high expectations. Highly recommended for diner or a stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exmoorstag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 50 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 50 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Property: The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing