We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fantastic" stunning hotel and service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel and staff were simply first class!! the rooms are stunning, modern, spacious, luxurious and beautiful, every care has gone into every aspect of the hotel and the owner David and his staff were just fantastic and did eveything they could to make our stay perfect.... everything is very clean and so well styled, we had one slight issue with other noisy hotel guests but David resolved this as soon as he found out by moving us and upgrading us to the best suite in the hotel which was simply gorgeous and full of period features. I cant rate this hotel and staff high enough, if you want the best nights sleep stay here the beds are massive and total quality, this a real gem and we will definately we staying here again in the future... Andy , Ipswich

Room Tip: the bridal suite has a sumptious four poster bed, stunning period features and a jacuzzi bath!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
There are newer reviews for The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, stunning rooms, superb service and lovely food. We were staying in town for a wedding and it was agreed we had picked the best hotel by far. The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable, they even designed us various cocktails. It was so lovely drinking them, sitting in their garden taking taking in the beauty of Richmond

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammyjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were given a very warm welcome by Alice who was very happy and bubbly. She made us feel very much at home. We stay in the Napoli Suite when we stay here (out 3rd stay), I love the superbly comfortable bed. It's enormous! the porcelain shell bath is luxurious and the rain shower very refreshing!

The staff are all so very attentive - thanks Natalie, Kali, Wendy of course Alice and our host David.

We love The Frenchgate and we have already booked for next year! Just do it, go on, it will be worth it!

Room Tip: Noise only due to an annual festival, it's normally quiet. Napoli Suite is my favourite!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clowny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

From the initial telephone enquiry to checkout. A truly first class service from David the owner and his dedicated team of staff. We stayed one night on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast basis. The room had a view of the lovely garden, very clean, well laid out & a very comfortable large bed with fresh crisp bed linen. The evening meal was out of this world, Michelin star quality food. A first class gourmet dining experience...!!! A fantastic selection of wines, spirits & speciality Gin's, along with Fever Tree Tonic (A must have mixer for the Gin connoisseur) I highly recommend you try The Frenchgate Restaurant, not only a must for guests of the hotel but for outside diner's too. A great selection of hot & cold food for breakfast with individual freshly cooked choices. Nothing is a bother to the staff, if they can help you they will. All you have to do is ask...? We will definitely be booking this small & friendly hotel again...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

outstanding hotel with staff who gave use a warm and friendly welcome excellent food and wine with a beautiful town to match what more do you want! All this praise from a Lancashire lad it must be good.
Thanks
Tony & Jenny

Room Tip: the bridal suite if you want to impress
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 666tony123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night to celebrate a wedding anniversary . Richmond is a beautiful town and we were highly delighted with our choice of hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and the local knowledge of the Receptionist was second to none. Being a very warm day and evening we were very grateful for our ceiling fan in the room, the room itself was not very spacious but well equipped and the bed enormous. We ate at a fantastic French restaurant Rustique that evening which again we would highly recommend, the most polite service I have ever experienced and full of atmosphere. Breakfast at The Frenchgate in the morning was delicious ( eggs benedict to die for)... With plenty of choice to suit any taste. Just wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked for 6 people and 3 rooms for a birthday celebration and we were all delighted with the hotel in terms of staff, comfort and service.

We dined in the restaurant and were very impressed with both the food and wine. All in all an excellent meal.

Room Tip: A room facing the garden is preferable due to the church bells but this is a minor point.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank IGB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
798 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
168 reviews
4.8 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 51 in Richmond
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#15 of 51 in Richmond
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £106 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing