We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHABBY AND RUDE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel is on the wrong side of the road, so that none of its rooms enjoy the views for which Richmond is justifiably famous. Nevertheless, if you still decide to book here, make sure you don't get the so-called cottage room. It lives up to its 16th century billing only in the decrepit state of the plumbing, its cramped space, old (not to be confused with antique) furniture and general shabbiness. In no way was staying there a four star experience except in terms of the price which makes no concession to reality.

And, if after staying out late (we were in Richmond for a wedding) you miss breakfast, don't bother trying to purchase a sandwich or anything else to tide you over. My wife asked and all she got was a refusal and sarcasm from the owner about the chef needing a day off. Either of the two junior members of staff listening embarrassed to their manager's sarcasm could and no doubt would have been willing to turn their hand to sandwich-making but were never given the chance.

According to other wedding guests, The Frenchgate Guest House and Millgate House Hotel, both of which have stunning views, are far friendlier and more professional.

AK

Room Tip: If you fail to specify that you do not want the cottage room, there is an 11% chance you will get it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Everything about the hotel was excellent. Alice welcomed us on arrival and was very friendly and happy to take time out to chat to us. We met the owner David later in the day and he was equally friendly and very nice. The room itself was lovely with a very large bed and was very well fitted out. Really liked the shower-room, especially the underfloor heating. The whole hotel had a really lovely feel and was very tastefully decorated. The bad weather meant that we weren't able to get into the garden but it looked like it would be a very pleasant place to sit with a drink. We had spent the week travelling through Stratford upon Avon, Bath and Cornwall and can honestly say that this was the nicest place we stayed in. We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Richmond.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor at the front of the hotel but there was no street noise so I assume...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Excellent service, excellent food. Could not of asked for more. Even if you are not staying overnight it is worth booking for dinner, it is not the cheapest in the area however you will not find better. Will almost certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked last minute, a Thursday night, and managed to get the bridal suite. Stunning location and room. We dined in the hotel restaurant, five courses with accompanying wines. Food was amazing and the wines were superb and very reasonably priced. Would highly recommend. The owner David is very welcoming.

A great hotel, we will be back.

Cathy & Dave

Room Tip: The bridal suite is a stunning room with marvelous features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cathy11222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were warmly greeted by Alice in reception and shown to our room. We had left our bags in the car as it was raining very heavily when we arrived. When the door was opened to the "Mousey Thompson Room" also known as the Bridal Room, we were amazed at the size of the bed! The room was beautiful! I had ordered a bouquet of flowers to be placed in the room for our arrival and I was not disappointed with the size and quality of the flowers. They were gorgeous! We were there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and have a quiet romantic weekend break together and we made a good choice with the Frenchgate. Alice offered to have our bags taken up to our room when we had collected them from the car after it had stopped raining but we had travelled lightly and only had small bags so we took them ourselves. The bathroom was modern and had a spa bath which we used very soon after unpacking the bags.
We booked a table in the restaurant for 6:30 and we were shown to the bar first of all and offered drinks and then we met David and had a friendly chat before being shown to our table. The food was superb! Well done Chef!
We had a walk around Richmond Market Square afterwards before going back to the Frenchgate to sleep in the very comfortable oak four poster bed.
The breakfasts was also very good quality with us both having a 'Full English' each and very good coffee. We stayed for two nights and we had a lovely stay here and I would love to go back there and we would recommend the Frenchgate to others.
Thank you David and all the staff for making it a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent hotel,excellent food and very attentive host.Introduced us to sabrage and lots of new drinks.Doreen's black pudding at breakfast was particularly memorable.We had a brilliant couple of days at The Frenchgate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

In all my years of travel I have never been made to feel so small by, who I assume was the owner. I was checking out and commented about the parking or lack of it on the street. He said "we have our own car park" "I didn't know that I replied". "well didn't you ask!" was his retort. "I didn't ask but normally that information is volunteered" His reply was "didn't you read your booking confirmation!"
Suffice to say and it is purely because of his abrupt manner I won't be staying there again which is a shame because the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 4!! Too cramped!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
10  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
433 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#4 of 8 in Richmond
183 reviews
13.5 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
8.4 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
254 reviews
19.8 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £108 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing