We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Willance House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willance House Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Willance House Guest House
Ranked #5 of 50 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
U.K.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Willance House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We found this quiet comfortable and friendly guest house last year, and have just been back for the fourth time, so not many more words are required - except that Colin and Sandra's motto is 'we aim to please' and they do that in every detail. Comfortable rooms, excellent food, great location, would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bedders46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
136
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bala, North Wales
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed at Willance House while doing the coast to coast walk and everything was excellent. Willance house is an interesting historic property with excellent decor and furnishings. The service is outstanding and the breakfast choice. The location is ideal just a short walk into the centre of Richmond. Highly recommended and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walker-paddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEORDIELAND
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We had previouly stayed here some years ago and after staying at well over 100 establishments we had put it in our top five, we hae recently returned and have to say its still as goos,in fact the proprietors don,t let the gras grow under their feet and have even improved on what was already an excellant customer experience,they have now added eggs florentine and fish kedgeree to what was already the best breakfast we have had in any guest house.
They ar now in the process of kocking walls down etc and making he bedrooms even better.
We like to think the TA Community are a genuine lot looking out for each other so all I would say is ignore the one poor rating they have had, read through it and realise it was one disgruntled punter who perhaps did not play fair, the owners are some of the most genune nicest people we have met during our travels and without doubt we would not hesitate to visit again and encourage anyone to do the same, great toiletries, fantastic breakfast,great warm rooms, games to play,books to read,great location,great rooms -WHATS NOT O LIKE

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LETITROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

A superb couple of nights in this lovely and historic house. Despite its age, all facilities had been modernised (in the best of taste) and the breakfasts (home-made bread, even !) could not have been better. And it was warm throughout - important with frost outside. The centre of town is no distance away, with a terrific choice of good restaurants for eating out, and the Georgian Theatre jjust up the road. Great to be able to leave the car parked in the same road for the whole weekend without charges - and without needing to use it ! We can only wish Colin and Sandra all the best for the future; we shall certainly recommend Willance House to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed at Willance House again in September while walking the Coast to Coast. Sandra and Colin are excellent hosts, as is everything about their B&B. The bathrooms are very modern for a property of the age of Willance House, and like the bedrooms, spotlessly clean.
The breakfast menu is the most comprehensive I've seen at a B&B; the ingredients all locally sourced.
I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCitywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Warm, comfortable, friendly and in an attractive part of the town. Lot's of choice for breakfast, including fish options. Room and bathroom were spotless and well maintained.

Owners even returned, by post, a pair of slippers that we left. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloMac31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west lothian
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at Willance House for two nights this weekend. We thought that it offered excellent value for money. Extras like fresh milk in a thermos in the room really make a difference. There was also an excellent choice of drinks in the room plus biscuits and sweets. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was legendary. I don't think that I have ever had such a good breakfast in a bed and breakfast- well worth having to arrange a specific time in order to get it freshly cooked. Huge selection of fruit, yogurt etc before the cooked part as well. Colin and Sandra were extremely helpful and nothing was too much bother. Loved the fact that they would make a flask for you in return for a donation to Mountain Rescue. Great location too on a quiet street but still close to the town centre.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which is the back room. Possibly quieter than the front rooms. Has a lovely wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hors82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.0 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 50 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#7 of 50 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Brewery Guest House
Old Brewery Guest House
#8 of 50 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#17 of 50 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willance House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willance House Guest House

Property: Willance House Guest House
Address: 24 Frenchgate | N Yorks, Richmond DL10 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Willance House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade 2 listed building in Frenchgate, Richmond we offer three en suite double rooms with king-sized beds. Using luxury Egyptian Cotton linen and large fluffy bathsheets along with power showers and a well stocked hospitality tray with fresh milk we aim to provide a high qualiity experience during your stay. On arrival enjoy a complimentary pot of tea or coffee and our home made shortbread and fudge. We are ideally placed to explore Richmond being only two or three minutes walk from the Market Place with its castle and Georgian theatre. The River Swale is just a stroll away providing picturesque river walks. We are situated on the Coast to Coast walk and we are one of the well known accommodation providers with essential facilities for walkers such as a laundry service and packed lunches. Our renowned award winning breakfasts are all freshly cooked to order using local produce, award winning preserves and our home made bread. Our extensive cold buffet is freshly prepared each morning providing a healthy start to your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Willance House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willance House Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing