We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willance House Guest House
Ranked #4 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were running the Coast to Coast and turned up later than anticipated, wet, bedraggled and thoroughly fed up. The reception we received was delightful, drying our clothes and trainers, and nothing was too much to ask. The house and our rooms was beautiful and cosy and the breakfast the next day was the best we had had on our whole trip.

I would definitely return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBewitched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Willance House Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Another excellent B&B on the coast to coast. A lovely old building with great character. Exemplary service from the tea and biscuits on arrival to the breakfast and packed lunches. Wi- fi fine, great bedroom and bathroom, a good night's sleep. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Willance House was my favourite B & B on this leg of our coast to coast walk. A beautiful, quiet room even though you are in the centre of Richmond. Tastefully decorated with great bed linen, so nice that we went out of our way at the end of our walk to buy the same. Modern clean bathroom with good toiletries. A great nights sleep followed by an amazing breakfast in a lovely breakfast room. Thank you Colin & Sandra we hope to be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Of all the accommodation we stayed at during c2c this was our favourite. A building of historical interest. Fantastic spacious and nicely decorated bedroom. Every little detail had been considered - big bed, superb linen, even a touch operated light! The owners were very pleasant and helpful. We arrived at 4.00 and by the end of the evening they had washed a large bag of clothes and returned it for just £7. And then there was THE breakfast. Beautifully presented, exquisite and delicious - amazing options! Thank you it was a great stay. (And Richmond is lovely, too!)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saundersofrudgwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I travel so much with my job as a magazine publisher that when ever I am near Richmond and I want to relax it has to be this ideal and warm location. The rooms are always very fresh and clean and the hosts make you very welcome. A good nights sleep is always guaranteed. The wide choice of breakfast is always very welcome and cooked with local produce. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Guest House to any one, its in my top three in the UK.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kevin_Hulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had a family party in Richmond and booked into the Willance Guest house for 1 night. Colin and Sandra the hosts were very welcoming and pleasant. The property was spotlessly clean and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and hubby really enjoyed his kedgeree. Would not hesitate to stay again. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montezumayork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have been touring around Northumberland and the Yorkshire Dales and Willance House is by far superior to anything we stayed in. It is furnished to a very high standard, Colin and Sandra clearly work very hard and made us most welcome. It is unique in that it has retained it's character, the history of the place also makes it interesting. When we are back up that way, we will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiewhiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
799 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 51 in Richmond
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#9 of 51 in Richmond
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Brewery Guest House
Old Brewery Guest House
#7 of 51 in Richmond
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strawberry House
Strawberry House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willance House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willance House Guest House

Address: 24 Frenchgate | N Yorks, Richmond DL10 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: £75 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Willance House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade 2 listed building in Frenchgate, Richmond we offer three en suite double rooms with king-sized beds. Using luxury Egyptian Cotton linen and large fluffy bathsheets along with power showers and a well stocked hospitality tray with fresh milk we aim to provide a high qualiity experience during your stay. On arrival enjoy a complimentary pot of tea or coffee and our home made shortbread and fudge. We are ideally placed to explore Richmond being only two or three minutes walk from the Market Place with its castle and Georgian theatre. The River Swale is just a stroll away providing picturesque river walks. We are situated on the Coast to Coast walk and we are one of the well known accommodation providers with essential facilities for walkers such as a laundry service and packed lunches. Our renowned award winning breakfasts are all freshly cooked to order using local produce, award winning preserves and our home made bread. Our extensive cold buffet is freshly prepared each morning providing a healthy start to your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Willance House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willance House Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing