We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our second visit to natural retreats yorkshire. It really is a hidden gem. The lodges are as breath taking as the surroundings! They are very well equipped and very comfortable. The town of Richmond near by is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutelilfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    89
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
199
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed in lodge 3 which had fabulous views and was not directly overlooked. The staff were great and very friendly when welcoming us and on our departure. The lodge was very warm despite freezing temperatures some days & evenings. Beds were very comfortable with excellent quality linens in both bedroom and bathroom. Welcome pack had top quality products. Lodge was very clean. Only negative was the settee cushions slid off the frame as you sat on them. Not a major problem and gave us a few extra laughs. Maybe an easy fix with some sticky backed Velcro strips on cushions and frame. Very modern and tasteful design inside and out. Great location for exploring wider area, even as far as York, and a number of good walks. Would highly recommend to friends and will go again for a short break. Access road may not be suitable for cars with lowered suspension but average family cars seemed to manage ok.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

It's hard to pick fault with this accommodation. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived on site to find none of the things other reviewers had criticised. The fixtures and fittings in our lodge (number 3) were in good condition and no sign of any tattered or torn furniture etc. The place was freezing when we arrived, but a few of the included logs on the wood burning stove soon made the place cosy and warm. We were a little worried about the 4 o'clock check in time, but we went and had a delicious Sunday lunch at the White Horse Fleetham, which was just the other side of the A1.

On arrival one of the managers came to see if everything was OK and offered to drive the kids up to the reception area so they could borrow some DVDs.

The lodges are spacious, clean and uncluttered. Every utensil or device you could need is in there. The welcome hamper was nice and the food included of a good quality and local produce where possible. The bottle of wine came was most welcome after a long drive up from Suffolk.

The beds are comfortable although it takes a bit of fiddling with the heating thermostat to get the right temperature balance throughout the lodge. In the end we turned off the bedroom radiators as the log fire warmed the entire place nicely.

The view is good but not stunning. You look out onto open moorland with no obstruction other than the low hills directly in front of the lodges. The other lodges are nearby, but not near enough to be intrusive and there was no noise from any of the other lodges.

The lodges are accessed by a steep track of dirt and stone mix. Our Volvo XC60 struggled climbing it when it was wet and the boot was full of cases, so don't expect an easy decent to site in something like a porsche. You'll be fine in most saloons though, unless very wet or snowy.

There are some great walks around the site and Richmond is about 45 minutes stroll away. We went in October and the fields were very wet and muddy, but as long as you've got sturdy water proof boots you'll be fine.

My only criticism was the sofas. A very minor niggle. They're the sort where the cushions slip if you don't quite sit right on them. You get the hang of them after a while though.

Overall a great holiday and I felt the lodges were priced about right.

Room Tip: Lodge 3 and the others are south facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

This is my second Natural Retreat stay, the first was in the Llyn peninsula. The location is stunning, set just outside Richmond in the Yorkshire Dales. The "Grand Design" style lodges were first class with huge glass window/doors so you can sit and nature watch. Upon arrival you get a complimentary basket of local produce, perfect for breakfast. Amongst the marketing literature there are suggested walks. We went on the Swale River/Richmond walk and ended up in one of Richmond's pubs for a well earned pint. We'll be back!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WilmslowWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Last minute booking.Our first with Natural Retreats.I was worried about privacy after reading the Natural Retreats Yorkshire reviews..
We were accommadated in a fantastic lodge.Views over Pentland Firth,ceiling to floor windows).
We were blessed with dry sunny weather.
So enjoyed this perfect,immaculately clean lodge and wood burner.No manky bathrooms/toilet brushes in sight.
Thankyou for a wonderful stay.
We "holiday" 5-6 times per year-with our gorgeous boxer/labrador.We have had a ball.
Thankyou so much, Natural Retreats.
Saw 3 seals near the harbour and loads of othe wildlife.Holly the dog exhausted after her numerous walks.
Mike ,Yasmine,Holly.
Saddleworth.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike3651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Just spent five days here and we couldn't have wished for better. The lodges and the staff were wonderful. We had a problem with something as small as a bedside lamp and it was replaced within an hour. Just a small example of the service. We will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Just had 5 night stay in Lodge number 1, 22-27th sep 2012, very clean and spacious, everything catered for from flat screen TV to Log fire, central heating, full kitchen, 3 large double en-suite bedrooms, spacious lounge area. Free WI-FI, Large decked area outside. very quiet and comfortable location. welcome basket on arrival included, bottle of wine, fresh bread, local butter, fresh eggs, ginger biscuits, jar of jam. Located just outside Richmond, just 25-30 minute walk away. Management very friendly and helpful, always on the end of phone if you need assistance, would recommend to anyone wanting to have a peaceful and relaxing break or for visiting the Dales.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alank55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
5.2 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
156 reviews
1.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
1.2 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 51 in Richmond
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hack & Spade
Hack & Spade
#3 of 3 in Whashton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales

Property: Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
Address: Unit 1 Aislabeck Plantation Hurgill Road, Richmond DL10 4SG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning design, modern open plan living and sustainable build are only a few highlights of these superb residences which offer perfect self catering holidays in the Yorkshire Dales. Having benefited from a complete refurbishment, the interior of each residence has been entirely revamped, incorporating ethical and exquisite design. The lodges are lovingly furnished with bespoke touches such as the exclusively designed sofas and innovative ‘cube’ seats, showcasing colours purposely chosen to compliment and mirror the idyllic scenery. Locally-sourced items have been used wherever possible, from the beautiful sofa cushions to the unusual ‘tree trunk’ bedside tables, just another example of Natural Retreats’ commitment to sustainability. As well as beautifully updated interiors the residences have also benefited from rejuvenated exteriors, enhanced roads and pathways. And, just in time for Bonfire Night, a selection of residences will boast private outdoor fire pits encircled by sunken seating, enabling guests to further appreciate the beautiful backdrop and views across the stunning Swale Valley.The Yorkshire Dales is an area of great natural beauty, offering visitors a real taste of rural England. An ideal location for walking, fishing and mountain biking, breathe in some fresh country air and appreciate the world we live in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Hotel Richmond
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing