We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat of a retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
1 review
“Treat of a retreat!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I wandered whether the pictures I saw on the site were too good to be true...they weren't! The lodges are set in beautiful surrounds and not too close to each other. The décor is minimalist and calm.The spacious rooms are well proportioned with good storage and excellent en suites in each room. The log fire was a treat and the open plan living area was well thought out. As we shopped locally and made our own meals a well equipped kitchen was perfect. The staff at booking stage and when we arrived were very friendly, very helpful and welcoming. The stream around the lodge was a bit "whiffy" but you couldn't smell it in the lodge/ sitting out on the decked area.I would have been a bit concerned had I stayed nearer the pond area. The welcome basket was a lovely touch.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ponds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eleasia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    89
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
199
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Natural Retreats, Yorkshire Dales. The accomodation is fantastic, perfect setting and location. Great for a family break. The staff are extremely welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. This is our second visit and we will be booking again for half term.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,036 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We were in Lodge 15 which was near the back with fantastic views. Lodge was very spacious with everything you needed. 3 en suite bathrooms; only disappointment was that none of them had a bath. Couple of niggles; no outdoor table when we arrived (soon rectified - though why they didn't move one over from a free lodge prior to our arrival I dont know!), welcome hamper compared to other sites was poor, and the radiator in our bedroom just didn't work. Apart from them we had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We were upgraded to a three-bed premium lodge - lodge 19 - which was secluded and high up on the hill overlooking the valley and Richmond. Our original two-bed lodge had a leak - before we arrived - and we were very grateful for the upgrade, which moved us away from the pond area.
The lodge itself was great, very comfortable and well-designed. Our three children loved it and the surroundings where they were able to explore the hills and woods.
There were some wee issues when we first arrived - some things missing, not working, broken - but I don't know if the lodge was out of use and only opened to accommodate us so these may not be usual.
Overall we loved our stay so much we've already booked another Natural Retreats holiday. It's a fantastic setting and well worth a visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chestnutblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was very lucky to win a four night stay here. There was my husband, myself and our two dogs. A fabulous place to stay, the lodges were very clean and spacious. Three double bedrooms, a bathroom and one en suite shower room. The lodges are equipped with all modern appliances and gadgets. There is also a lovely log burner, although even in February we didn't need it as the heating is excellent. We enjoyed it so much, we are definately going back :) :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddywack31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenAhmed
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The most recent trip to the Yorkshire Dales lodges was our 4th visit, we always take the dogs and have friends drop in and out while we are there.

It's always great to have the lodge set up and warm as soon as you walk in and the hamper is a real treat to get you started, we've had both the breakfast hamper and just the standard one, and both are just what you need.

We've stayed in different lodges, and 12 is our favourite, this time we were in the 9 with 3 en suites, the kitchen is well kitted out, and the lodge looks out with beautiful views over the Swaledale Valley. It was very clean on arrival, and its easy to keep clean while your staying.

There is loads to do in the area, and we often pop into Richmond, however its just nice to have lazy days in the lodges, with lots of good food and wine.

The staff are lovely and always go that extra mile, they are on hand when you need them, and I have to mention the lady that cleans the lodges. She is always at work and does a brilliant job! Amy is always on hand when and if you need her.

Our friends always book in a night or two with us and its lovely having the space to cook, eat and have a great time.

The concierge service is lovely, and they are always super helpful. They've tracked down everything from shooting days to caviar, and much more.

The one minor detail the lodges should rectify, is the AV set up. This time there was a free view box, that hummed loudly whenever you watched a film or the TV. No massive issue, but annoying none the less.

Looking forward to planning our next trip to the Yorkshire Dales!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Lodge 1 and had a fantastic break, the lodge has all the amenities you need and are well appointed.
Cheryl our concierge was great setting the room up with balloons, flowers and champagne for our arrival. They really can't do enough.
We will definitely be returning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Billdi187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
5.2 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
156 reviews
1.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
1.2 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 51 in Richmond
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hack & Spade
Hack & Spade
#3 of 3 in Whashton
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales

Property: Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
Address: Unit 1 Aislabeck Plantation Hurgill Road, Richmond DL10 4SG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning design, modern open plan living and sustainable build are only a few highlights of these superb residences which offer perfect self catering holidays in the Yorkshire Dales. Having benefited from a complete refurbishment, the interior of each residence has been entirely revamped, incorporating ethical and exquisite design. The lodges are lovingly furnished with bespoke touches such as the exclusively designed sofas and innovative ‘cube’ seats, showcasing colours purposely chosen to compliment and mirror the idyllic scenery. Locally-sourced items have been used wherever possible, from the beautiful sofa cushions to the unusual ‘tree trunk’ bedside tables, just another example of Natural Retreats’ commitment to sustainability. As well as beautifully updated interiors the residences have also benefited from rejuvenated exteriors, enhanced roads and pathways. And, just in time for Bonfire Night, a selection of residences will boast private outdoor fire pits encircled by sunken seating, enabling guests to further appreciate the beautiful backdrop and views across the stunning Swale Valley.The Yorkshire Dales is an area of great natural beauty, offering visitors a real taste of rural England. An ideal location for walking, fishing and mountain biking, breathe in some fresh country air and appreciate the world we live in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Hotel Richmond
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing