We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escaping the Rat Race”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I decided to go to the Yorkshire Dales retreat as it's not too far from home but far enough to truly relax without anyone bothering me. The sun was shining, bunny rabbits played on the grass in front of my lodge and I chilled out the whole time.

The lodge itself was superb! Clean, fresh, everything you could need is provided and a welcome hamper too which was filled with food and drink I would actually use.

Richmond itself is only 1 mile away but be warned, it is VERY hilly and it takes a fitter man than me to keeping walking up the hill back to the lodges.

Overall it gets 5 stars and I will definitely be looking at returning either here or trying out one of the other sites.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GrahamWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

I use natural retreats on a regular basis. For this site I loved the log fire and floor to ceiling windows. A negative? Some of the fixtures and fittings were worn. Eg the kitchen sink taps were quite loose and the chest of drawers were broken. Also in all of the properties I have been in I really wish they has comfy sofas that would make each retreat the most relaxing beautiful and enjoyable holiday!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mbrighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

fantastic stay very well equipped, weather could have been better LOL, very clean rooms, bed linen very nice crisp and comfortable, lots to do round and about for those that love the outdoors! will definitely be booking for next year

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tonys31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a lovely first time visit to the Dales. Natural Retreats' customer service was excellent from the moment of booking to leaving. The accommodation was modern and functional. The estate was very well planned so that within the lodge you were unaware of any neighbours.
Richmond is a lovely old fashioned town and kept our family busy for four days with the castle, the station, the restaurants and lovely walks. Thanks to Yorkshire for the great weather too!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a fabulous stay. The onsite staff couldnt have been more helpful. The location is perfect for a stroll into Richmond or a little further affield (40 mins west ) and you are into some stunning walking. The main issue we had was cleanliness, generally the place was clean and tidy but our ensuite shower wouldnt drain due to it being clogged up with hair! once reported it was swiftly dealt with; the big sliding glass doors were badly smeared and dirty, this is what you are looking out of all of the time to enjoy the views, it really does need improving. The wet rooms dont really work as the water seeps into the bedroom under the door. BUT the reality is that these are minor gripes. We had 3 beds with ensuite which worked really well. The living space is brilliant with its open plan kitchen and massive glass front with terrace outside. We had a separate utility room which was great for the wellies and dog. We ate out at the Richmond Grill and Brasserie which was great, we also bought fresh fish from the market on Saturday morning and stayed in - perfect. If the few niggles were sorted out this place would be perfect. perfect

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MrBothUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Cracking venue set in secluded woodside plot. Dog friendly and very helpful concierge. Thanks Cheryl!
Our 1st trip but we will be back.
A chill out spot and Richmond is a short walk away. Fantastic restaurants and pubs to quench the thirst.
Le Piazza 2 is a fantastic restaurant too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Natural Retreats never disappoints. We go twice a year, once in the spring, and again in the Autumn. The site itself and the lodges are wonderful, and there is so much to see and do in the area. We recommend The Blue Lion at East Witton for a lovely chi-chi pub meal out (must book), and Rustique in Richmond for relaxed affordable French.

Room Tip: The only downside about the lodges is that because of their minimalism (which we love), noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Birdingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
5.2 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
3 mi away
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
486 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hack & Spade
Hack & Spade
#3 of 3 in Whashton
90 reviews
2 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales

Address: Unit 1 Aislabeck Plantation Hurgill Road, Richmond DL10 4SG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Price Range: £96 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning design, modern open plan living and sustainable build are only a few highlights of these superb residences which offer perfect self catering holidays in the Yorkshire Dales. Having benefited from a complete refurbishment, the interior of each residence has been entirely revamped, incorporating ethical and exquisite design. The lodges are lovingly furnished with bespoke touches such as the exclusively designed sofas and innovative ‘cube’ seats, showcasing colours purposely chosen to compliment and mirror the idyllic scenery. Locally-sourced items have been used wherever possible, from the beautiful sofa cushions to the unusual ‘tree trunk’ bedside tables, just another example of Natural Retreats’ commitment to sustainability. As well as beautifully updated interiors the residences have also benefited from rejuvenated exteriors, enhanced roads and pathways. And, just in time for Bonfire Night, a selection of residences will boast private outdoor fire pits encircled by sunken seating, enabling guests to further appreciate the beautiful backdrop and views across the stunning Swale Valley.The Yorkshire Dales is an area of great natural beauty, offering visitors a real taste of rural England. An ideal location for walking, fishing and mountain biking, breathe in some fresh country air and appreciate the world we live in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Hotel Richmond
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing