We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Great Place to Unwind”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This natural retreats collection of wooden cabins really is a cut above what others of a similar nature provide. The cabin is large and well equipped, very clean and with a lovely floor to ceiling glass wall looking out on to a veranda and to lovely views beyond. The main bedroon and ensuite is vast by many standards with a walk in shower. The only gripes are that the other bedrooms are on the small side with very limited storage and, these being some of the first cabins Natural Retreats established, some white goods are showing their age but that does not mean they are not clean or in good working order.
The site is ideal for walkers with excellent scenic views in every direction including short walks with breath taking views of the river Swale. You are also only 5mins by car or a 15 to 20 mins walk (because its a bit steep in places) into Richmond with a host of Pubs and some reasonable standard restaurants.
On arrival you get a welcome pack with organic produce and its good stuff not cheap and cheerful. The staff also cannot do enough for you.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some cabins can be in the shade, try to pick one in the open to make the most of any good weather if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our lodges. We are happy to hear that you had such a great time and that you loved our concierge service. We are always on hand to help with whatever you may need to make your holiday memorable. We have lots of Natural Retreats locations and hope to see you at another soon. Please contact our office concierge team for the best rates as a returning guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    89
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
190
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

First time at Natural Retreats, thought the lodges were superb, really well planned and not overlooked by your neighbours, which was fantastic. Floor to ceiling windows which let the sunshine flood right in, and the log fire in the evenings just made the place so cosy.
Good planned accommodation, comfortable, well insulated with cool bedrooms which were perfect. The decking area was great to sit with a glass of wine and just look at the lovely view from our lodge (no 9).
We stayed a couple of nights with my son, his girlfriend and their dog and it was just lovely. Really great that it is dog friendly, and the boot room was really useful. Only gripes were more storage is needed in the kitchen for food which is brought by the clients, and a bigger fridge would have been nice.
We would love to come again, and would now seriously think about booking another Natural Retreats site.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I decided to go to the Yorkshire Dales retreat as it's not too far from home but far enough to truly relax without anyone bothering me. The sun was shining, bunny rabbits played on the grass in front of my lodge and I chilled out the whole time.

The lodge itself was superb! Clean, fresh, everything you could need is provided and a welcome hamper too which was filled with food and drink I would actually use.

Richmond itself is only 1 mile away but be warned, it is VERY hilly and it takes a fitter man than me to keeping walking up the hill back to the lodges.

Overall it gets 5 stars and I will definitely be looking at returning either here or trying out one of the other sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GrahamWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I use natural retreats on a regular basis. For this site I loved the log fire and floor to ceiling windows. A negative? Some of the fixtures and fittings were worn. Eg the kitchen sink taps were quite loose and the chest of drawers were broken. Also in all of the properties I have been in I really wish they has comfy sofas that would make each retreat the most relaxing beautiful and enjoyable holiday!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mbrighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

fantastic stay very well equipped, weather could have been better LOL, very clean rooms, bed linen very nice crisp and comfortable, lots to do round and about for those that love the outdoors! will definitely be booking for next year

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tonys31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a lovely first time visit to the Dales. Natural Retreats' customer service was excellent from the moment of booking to leaving. The accommodation was modern and functional. The estate was very well planned so that within the lodge you were unaware of any neighbours.
Richmond is a lovely old fashioned town and kept our family busy for four days with the castle, the station, the restaurants and lovely walks. Thanks to Yorkshire for the great weather too!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a fabulous stay. The onsite staff couldnt have been more helpful. The location is perfect for a stroll into Richmond or a little further affield (40 mins west ) and you are into some stunning walking. The main issue we had was cleanliness, generally the place was clean and tidy but our ensuite shower wouldnt drain due to it being clogged up with hair! once reported it was swiftly dealt with; the big sliding glass doors were badly smeared and dirty, this is what you are looking out of all of the time to enjoy the views, it really does need improving. The wet rooms dont really work as the water seeps into the bedroom under the door. BUT the reality is that these are minor gripes. We had 3 beds with ensuite which worked really well. The living space is brilliant with its open plan kitchen and massive glass front with terrace outside. We had a separate utility room which was great for the wellies and dog. We ate out at the Richmond Grill and Brasserie which was great, we also bought fresh fish from the market on Saturday morning and stayed in - perfect. If the few niggles were sorted out this place would be perfect. perfect

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MrBothUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
1.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
1.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
5.2 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holly Hill Inn
Holly Hill Inn
#13 of 50 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales

Property: Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
Address: Unit 1 Aislabeck Plantation Hurgill Road, Richmond DL10 4SG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning design, modern open plan living and sustainable build are only a few highlights of these superb residences which offer perfect self catering holidays in the Yorkshire Dales. Having benefited from a complete refurbishment, the interior of each residence has been entirely revamped, incorporating ethical and exquisite design. The lodges are lovingly furnished with bespoke touches such as the exclusively designed sofas and innovative ‘cube’ seats, showcasing colours purposely chosen to compliment and mirror the idyllic scenery. Locally-sourced items have been used wherever possible, from the beautiful sofa cushions to the unusual ‘tree trunk’ bedside tables, just another example of Natural Retreats’ commitment to sustainability. As well as beautifully updated interiors the residences have also benefited from rejuvenated exteriors, enhanced roads and pathways. And, just in time for Bonfire Night, a selection of residences will boast private outdoor fire pits encircled by sunken seating, enabling guests to further appreciate the beautiful backdrop and views across the stunning Swale Valley.The Yorkshire Dales is an area of great natural beauty, offering visitors a real taste of rural England. An ideal location for walking, fishing and mountain biking, breathe in some fresh country air and appreciate the world we live in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Hotel Richmond
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing