We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Holly Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holly Hill Inn
Ranked #14 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Everything about this establishment was absolutely first rate. The owners and staff were very friendly and polite, the accommodation was very comfortable and clean with plenty of tea,coffee etc. The view over the castle from the bedroom window was stunning. The breakfast was excellent, large portions and cooked to perfection, with plenty of toast and tea! The chef couldn't do enough for us, asking if we needed anything more and prompt service if we did. The dining room is beautifully decorated with tapestries and fantastic open fireplace. Would thoroughly reccommend a stay here and we hope to visit again very soon.

Room Tip: all the rooms are clean and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    27
    5
    4
    10
See reviews for
42
58
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The owner was friendly. The staff in the restaurant were attentive and polite. The bedrooms are excellent, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was first class and cooked exactly as requested.The bathroom products were good quality and the linen was lovely and fresh. What more could anyone ask for!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The service was slow, the food awful. I had scampi but only breadcrumbs left at the bottom of the fryer basket the fish wasn't there. The staff were uninterested. This was the second time I had been here and it was worse than the first time. Highly overated, I would never go back again. Wouldn't bother going here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We went as a family of 6 for Sunday lunch and had to walk out as well as another couple because a member of staff was very rude and did not make us welcome. Done us a favour as we found another pub restaurant in the town centre and the food was fab.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lola1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stopped for a snack on a very hot day. Too hot to leave the dog in the car but no problem. Dogs welcome in the bar (but not restaurant area) and even brought her a fresh bowl of water.
There is a full menu available but we didn't want a large meal.
We all ordered hot meat filled baguettes which were promptly brought to the table. Excellent home cooked bread and meat all of superb quality.
Staff very friendly and efficient going the extra yard to make sure everything is good.
I have fond memories of this pub from many years ago when I was in the army at nearby Catterick Camp. It was good then but even better now.
My only regret is that as a driver I couldn't sample the excellent looking ales on offer!
Only 50 miles from home so we'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed near to this pub for the second time. We were looking forward to revisiting.
The food is good home cooking, and doesn't disappoint. The venue is very clean and the hosts are warm and welcoming.
Dogs are allowed in the bar and water is provided.
North Yorkshire is (next to my own county - obviously) my favourite place in England. And this pub is just one of the reasons we will keep visiting.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just stayed at the Holly Inn for the past 3 nights and were really impressed...We all know about northern hospitality but Joanne Emma and fiona take it to another level.......We had a lovely room and all the staff were really kind helpful informative and friendly ......the breakfast was anything you wanted and I can say that if you have the full English you will not need a meal for a fortnight ...what a spread......we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and we will always stay there when we come up to Richmond again
Well done ladies you have done yourselves proud .......thanks a million ......

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briant31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
753 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 51 in Richmond
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#17 of 51 in Richmond
143 reviews
3.3 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
0.6 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Hill Inn

Property: Holly Hill Inn
Address: Holly Hill, Richmond DL10 4RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at The Holly Hill Inn, a traditional English country pub, comfortably laid out with open fires, local ales and lagers including the local, very Yorkshire Black Sheep bitter from The Black Sheep Brewery in nearby Masham and the elegant Peroni to name but two. Superb British and continental fayre, coupled with great wines, four luxury en-suite bedrooms and a function suite complement the venue. Situated on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, and within easy reach of the historic Georgian town of Richmond, The Holly Hill Inn is a popular retreat for locals and visitors alike. We're also just a stone's throw away from the well travelled coast to coast cycle route from Whitley Bay in the North East to Whitehaven in Cumbria. Why not make a day of your visit and stroll down the hill into town to see the largest cobbled market place in Britain and the adjacent Richmond Castle? We have four luxury, en-suite rooms where you can relax and unwind after a day of sightseeing or business. Stay in one of our well-appointed, en-suite bedrooms, with views of Richmond and the castle and awake to a great Holly Hill breakfast ensuring you start the day on a high. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holly Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Hill Hotel Richmond
Holly Hill Inn Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing