We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Middleton Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Turf Hotel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
US$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holly Hill Inn(Richmond)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
174
33
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
33
13
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housenespresso machinethe main housespa treatmentsclay pigeon shootingcellar barwoodland walkwedding marqueefresh milk in the mini fridgeluxury bathroomsnooker roomwooden beamssecret escapesrestaurant staffgrounds are stunninglovely productsdab radio
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From the beautiful grounds to the fantastic food, rooms and service this place cannot be praised enough. There’s not really much else to say other than you really need to visit here. I know we will definitely be back.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeremy2696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Other reviewers have fully covered why a stay at the Coach House is so special- lovely staff, beautiful location, stunning comfortable and quiet rooms with lots of little extra touches. Appreciated the little garden seating area attached to each room and the luxury bathroom products, hot and powerful shower, and the books etc available. We had 3 nights on a Secret Escapes deal but it wasn't cheap- total cost over £600 as we had individual rooms.
My only reservation relates to the menu choices which really didn't suit me. We were asked prior to the stay for dietary requirements. I advised that i did not eat meat, would eat fish and was allergic to almonds. However, there were just 2 fish choices- one had almonds on it and the other had meat. The vegetarian option main course had the same ingredients as the vegetarian starter which was a bit odd, I found the price on the first night of £110 for 2 with drinks a bit steep given I had so little menu options. On our third night, we ate there again and I explained I was struggling to find anything suitable and the waiter advised me I should have asked for the vegetarian menu.! He duly fetched this but it was virtually the same as the main menu. I chose the veggie risotto and sweetcorn soup without the chorizo. I am sure the choices were perfectly fine if you ate meat but couldn't see the point of asking for dietary needs before the visit if that had no influence on what was offered.
Having said that, the meals , though not huge, were well sourced locally and very fresh. The breakfast choices were good and the waiting staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyladyLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Another great night away here. Got the offer again on Secret Escapes. Stayed here last summer and what a coincidence we had the exact same room this time. A garden room with a little patio garden outside space. Really lovely room with Nespresso coffee machine, radio etc etc. Full of nice touches. Fabulous bathroom and toiletries. Very very relaxing. If you add in the delicious food in the restaurant, including breakfast, cocktails in the bar and the relaxing lounge area it all adds up to the perfect night away, for us anyway. Beautiful surroundings and friendly knowledgable staff too. Spot on.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Booked on Secret Escapes for one night bed and breakfast. What a beautiful place. So close to the A1 but you’d never know it! So peaceful and quiet! Room was lovely and the bathroom amazing! Ate in the Coach House restaurant and the food was amazing. Staff lovely and friendly. Breakfast was first class too!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We've stayed in one of the Garden Rooms on the Middleton Lodge estate twice now, and it's become my favourite place to visit, I'm already looking forward to our next trip

Very accessible, just off the main road and well signposted, as soon as you enter the gates, you know that you are somewhere special.
From the pleasant, friendly check-in staff, through to the amazing bar staff and waiting staff, everyone is very accommodating, nothing is too much trouble for them.

The Garden Rooms are perfect. Set in the grounds, and although joined together, there's such a feeling of privacy, with your own small garden with a table and chairs to sit out at.

The rooms are amazing. Huge, comfy double bed and loads of storage space. The bathrooms are incredible, with fabulous showers and some beautiful Noble Isles smellies (which are available to buy in the shop on site).
Each room has a TV and DAB Radio, and a Nespresso machine, with various capsules as well as tea, coffee, hot chocolate, fresh milk, orange juice, still and sparkling water, crisps and home made biscuits. There's a fridge so everything is kept chilled.
There are books in each room, aswell as local magazines and lots of information about the area.
Beautifully soft robes and slippers are also supplied.

We ate in the restaurant on both occasions and the food was perfect. The steak is incredible and no steak knife needed either, it's tender and moist and tastes like a dream
A great selection of wines and gins at the bar, and sitting in the lounge with a pre dinner drink was a delight.
Breakfast was amazing; such a choice of cereal, fresh fruits, yoghurt plus fresh, cooked to order food too.

The grounds are lovely and the new walled garden is really well done. Cycle hire is available too.

The perfect get away from it all break

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annec14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews