We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Better”
Review of Streonshalh B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Streonshalh B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was our third stay at Streonshalh, and Deb and Kev continue to make improvements to what was already an excellent B&B. This time we found a lovely new shower room, and Deb encouraged us to take her home-baked muffins and flapjacks to eat on our walks. Streonshalh provides a wonderfully warm welcome for everyone who stays, attention to detail, an excellent breakfast and a good night's sleep in an extremely convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2011

Great accommodation, very friendly welcoming place with the little personnal touches. Definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue-camberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Debbie and Kevin, owners of Streonshalh are extremely personable and attentive. They are there to provide you anything you need. Breakfast was delicious and made to order with hand baked treats such as gingerbread cookies and chocolate muffins. The rooms are comfortable. The location is just a few minutes walk to several restaurants, as well as the shore. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroilnatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Good to see that this place is no.1 as it deserves it. You wouldn't find better hosts anywhere.....they couldn't be more helpful. Location is just off main road where the majority of b&b's and hotels are located so nice and quiet with beautiful vlews from the front rooms. Very clean and comfortable and excellent breakfast.

I would partciularly advise coast to coasters to use this b&b as a finishing accommodation... you will be glad you did.

Also I would definitely recommend staying an extra night. You then have a free day (no long walking !!) to relax and explore the interesting but small village of Robing Hoods Bay and have lunch in one of the little cafes (the one at the top of the steep road to the beach is great). Then catch the bus to Whitby. The bus stop is 2 minutes from the b&b and it is a 20 min ride. Whitby is a much larger place with plenty to see especially the Captain Cook Museum. Return to Robin Hoods Bay in the afternoon and have dinner in the Victoria Hotel in the magnificent dinning room overlooking the North Sea. Then have an early night with a good nights sleep, another delicious breakfast and walk around the corner to catch the bus to Scarborough for your onward journey.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussie5514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed two nights at this B&B after finishing the coast to coast walk. Debbie and Kevin were great hosts and gave good helpful advice. It was especially nice to have fresh fruit salad at breakfast. Situated just off the main street so not much traffic noise. The top room "honeymoon Suite" as kevin calls it, had a fabulously comfortable bed just what was needed after "the walk."

Room Tip: Ask for the top front room with the best bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenWarragul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Excellent place to end the coast to coast walk. We stayed her on may the 31st. Kevin was very helpful. The breakfast was great with fresh fruit. Very professional. We can recommend this place.
Jose and Pieter from Beek-Ubbergen, Holland

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PIETERBEEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Stayed in the single room ( sea facing) as a part of biking trip. Perfect place - well maintained and clean. Was a last minute booking, found the owners were hospitable and professional ( replying to email enquiries very promptly).

Wonderful breakfast with a good generous mix of fruits as a salad along with typical Full English.

No Negatives - may be bike parking space would be a welcome addition but the Bay is a small village so don't let that keep you off. Recommended , I do not have any problems staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wandering_Bloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robin Hood's Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
855 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
24 reviews
0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
558 reviews
0 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streonshalh B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streonshalh B&B

Address: Streonshalh Mount Pleasant South, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range: £78 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer clean, quiet, comfortable accommodation and can cater for parties of up to 10 people. Hikers welcome, packed lunches available on request. Free Wi-Fi connection. Streonshalh has 6 en-suite letting rooms, consisting of doubles, twins, and singles. We have 4 double rooms, 2 have King Size beds and 2 have 6' Super King size beds. All rooms have flat screen TV/DVD players. 2 of the double rooms can be twin rooms and we have 2 dedicated single rooms with 3' beds. Discount on bookings of 3 or more nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Streonshalh B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streonshalh Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Streonshalh Bed And Breakfast
Streonshalh B&B Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing