We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Streonshalh B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Streonshalh B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Yorks
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

The other 157 Excellents were right. We're pretty hard to please but our reception,accommodation and breakfast could not have been better. We also liked the fact we had a mini fridge in our room, so the sparkly was at the perfect temperature for aperitif time. Other nice touches were the chocolates and bottled water provided in our room and the home made scones we were sent on our way with--delicious, thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    35
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
193
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed at the Streonshalh B&B for 1 night (28/1/2013) and wished we could have stayed longer. The location is perfect overlooking the bay and within easy walk of the pubs shops etc. We had a lovely warm welcome on arrival from the owners and shown to a very tastefully decorated and comfortable room. The room was extremely clean and offered tea, coffee and bottled water, the added nice touches were the wine glasses, bottle opener and fridge in the room.
Breakfast was fabulous, offering fresh fruit, cereals, full english and a good choice of alternatives to the full english, we were given homemade flapjack to take home which were delicious. We would highly recommend this B&B and would definately stay again ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just come back from a great 2 night stay for New Year at Robin Hood's Bay. I can honestly say that this lovely B&B was just fab. We stayed in Room 2 (the one with a rather strange review below!) and couldn't find anything wrong with it. The room and bathroom was extremely clean and the bed was super big and comfy, certainly no draft through the windows even though the wind was rather gusty at times - which is to be expected at this time of year. Fruit and breakfast were really nice, even though one of us couldn't face breckie after the New Year's Eve celebrations! Thanks to Kevin and Debbie for making us so welcome. I would recommend this B & B to anyone visiting the area. Would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alian1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Clean fresh rooms, comfy bed, very helpful and friendly owners, lovely breakfast, probably the best B & B I have stayed in! The village is small so you cant help but be near everything. Our party walked some of the footpaths around RHB. Top notch. Well recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daftladeastyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

I've realised, nearly half a year on, that I haven't reviewed this B&B yet- and it deserves some extra publicity! My other half and I stayed there for only one night but next day we were wishing we could have stayed for a lot longer. The location is very picturesque - high up overlooking Robin Hood's Bay with some rooms having sea views. The building itself is very attractive and once inside, you are not disappointed - we had one of the sea view rooms which was a very good size and had stylish, tasteful and perfectly put together decor - outstanding for a B&B and on a level of a boutique hotel. The bathroom boasted a fantastic shower, we also had a mini fridge and various other finishing touches which made our stay just that little bit more special. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of storage space if you wanted to stay for a longer period of time. Our hosts were brilliant - we received a detailed 'introduction' to our room with explanation of how various things worked and useful information about the area, places to eat etc - a great personal touch. Breakfast was delicious - all local produce, fresh and generous, with home baked scones and flapjack to take away for the day. We were recommended a pub to have our evening meal at - unfortunately I can't remember the name now but I hope some other travellers will have mentioned it - excellent food and atmosphere too.
All in all - what a gem of a place - it will always hold special memories for us and we will be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LemonGrove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

December 2009 was lovely...rustic, charismatic & befitting the Victorian theme of the place. T'was a lovely welcome by the lady of the house...with a lovely breakfast & 10 out of 10 for everything!
December 2012...another story, I'm afraid. Bedroom 2 put together like lego with draughty windows, fridge sounding like a generator, bathroom sink put in at an angle, shower door didn't close, wallpaper put over past wallpaper, had to stuff tissues in the windows to stop the draughts...We have photos but will keep to ourselves!
OKish breakfast, have stayed at several B&B's in RHB and won't be going back here.
The worst place we've been to...

Room Tip: Look around at what there is in Robin Hoods Bay for £75...look at them all first. We assumed...wron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jools P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasperRHB, Owner at Streonshalh B&B, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our B&B. We value the opinions of our guests.

You stated that you stayed in the same room 3 years ago, although after checking our records we could find no evidence of your visit. If you had stayed with us before in that room, you would have noticed we have upgraded the bed to a super king size, installed a flat screen TV/DVD and enlarged the shower room considerably. We have painted the room a different colour (not repapered). Why would we invest our time and money de-grading our rooms?

We were aware the shower door had dropped slightly and needed a gentle coaxing to close, but it now snaps snugly into place.

However, it remains a mystery to us why the loose screw was sitting unattached to anything between the blinds, in fact upon cleaning the room after your departure, we first noticed its existence. We can only deduce that it was strategically positioned, perhaps to enhance your photo no.6 on your review.

The fridge is a little noisy when first switched on until it reaches the set temperature and when used for purpose, emits a low hum. Obviously it was just switched on for a test.

The 'sink at an angle' is used universally in the plumbing trade and commonly known as the self-explanatory 'corner sink'.

The galeforce wind that howled around the Bay on the night in question was enough to test any roof, let alone the double glazing. The painstaking effort employed by yourselves to plug the groove of the window frame with tissue paper and force a magazine into the other window in order to photograph your evidence, frankly beggars belief. We don't profess to be an hotel, we are a B&B, it is our home and we felt it had been violated after your stay. Surely, if the room and facilities were so unbearable, why not address these issues to us at any time during the afternoon and evening you occupied the room? We would happily have offered you a full refund, found you alternative accommodation in the village and bid you a heartfelt farewell.

It was rather upsetting to receive your 2 page email a couple of hours after your departure, a truly offensive and defamatory piece. I won't bore readers with the minutiae of its content, suffice to say, amongst a huge list of niggles, it stated our Christmas garland on the stairs was a health & safety risk, the decor was not to their liking (we have used heritage colours to compliment the age of the property) and our personal favourite, our new oblong plates for serving the breakfast made it difficult to get to the sausages - I jest not.

Finally, we did have our faith in human nature restored when the rather more positive review after this one was posted, more akin to the majority of reviews we have received, posted by grateful, satisfied customers.

Baffled owners at Streonshalh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Had a great time here the first weekend in December. Lovely bedrooms plenty of room and a comfy bed, lots of tea and coffee and chocolates and bottle of water was a nice touch. Breakfast was one of the best I have ever tasted and delicious home made scones to take out with you for your day ahead. Very welcoming hosts and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellyJP602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#17 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streonshalh B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streonshalh B&B

Property: Streonshalh B&B
Address: Streonshalh Mount Pleasant South, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer clean, quiet, comfortable accommodation and can cater for parties of up to 10 people. Hikers welcome, packed lunches available on request. Free Wi-Fi connection. Streonshalh has 6 en-suite letting rooms, consisting of doubles, twins, and singles. We have 4 double rooms, 2 have King Size beds and 2 have 6' Super King size beds. All rooms have flat screen TV/DVD players. 2 of the double rooms can be twin rooms and we have 2 dedicated single rooms with 3' beds. Discount on bookings of 3 or more nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Streonshalh B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streonshalh Bed And Breakfast
Streonshalh Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Streonshalh B&B Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing