We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little extra”
Review of Streonshalh B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Streonshalh B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Albury, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A little extra”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

What a lovely ending to our Coadt to Coast walk. The location was great and each of the rooms ( our party of 9 had them covered) were charming and very tastefully appointed. Kevin was a very friendly host who did all he could to be helpful. Breakfast, ordered the night before, was wonderful and a little different to other places on the track. The addition of a little home baked treat to take away for morning tea was also much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotcrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    37
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
201
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just returned home from a relaxing 3 night stay at The Streonshalh.Nothing was too much trouble from the charming hosts, Kevin and Debbie.The weather was hot and sunny and the hosts offered to add a flat top sheet to the bed in order to aid a cooler night's sleep....worked a treat! Hope you have a hearty appetite when staying here as the breakfast is amazing , there is everything (and more) that you could ask for, with a wonderful fresh fruit salad to freshen the pallet before tackling the most deliciously cooked full English breakfast or you could try one of the 'lighter' but equally delicious options.Just in case you are still feeling peckish (I dare you !!) you have extra treat of tiffin, freshly made scones or banana loaf to take with you should you choose on your day out courtesey of the hosts.Debbie and Kevin are happy to tell you were to eat out locally or places of interest to visit and make your stay feel more personal and welcoming than most places we have stayed. We hope to pay them and their charming house a visit again before too long.
PS if you want to continue with the hearty Yorkshire food fest we would highly recommend a meal at the Grosvenor Hotel close by.....especially the Lobster sea food platter....yummy !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurdyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I recommend Streonshalh B & B. It is a beautiful house, with a lot of charm, and the owners/hosts keep the rooms in good order. Good showers. Hot water, decent pressure. But if you are walking and if there is any possibility that you are coming in later than 6:30pm, let them know. It says on their website to check in before 6:30pm, and they mean it.

We were a group of 5 walking the Coast to Coast. We were not moving very quickly and getting late starts, so often we were arriving at our accommodations at around 6pm. However on the steep climbing days and long mileage days (16 - 23 miles) we would come in between 7pm & 8pm. The reason I am giving you this information is because we didn't tell our hosts at Sreonshalh we were running late until about 7pm, when one of our party arrived over an hour before the rest of us. Our host was quite displeased and made it clear he had expected us to check in no later than 6:30pm. When we did arrive in RHB, I popped in to get our party member who had arrived earlier, but didn't contact our host because she (our party member) had all our keys. This caused another problem, because our host had expected me to contact him. In the morning, he made it clear we had upset him, but he still provided an early morning breakfast and was cordial and polite the rest of the time.

That said: The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. They are clean, as are the bathrooms. Room 5 has a too soft bed, but the other rooms my party had (2 & 4, I think) the beds were just right. Breakfast was delicious. We left so early, 7:15am, we didn't have time for a full breakfast, so our host kindly made cereals, toast, and a wonderful fruit salad available.

Room Tip: I think the Rooms on the top floor seem smaller because you're up in the roof. Room 5 which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walking4beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streonshalh, Owner at Streonshalh B&B, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you for posting your review of our B&B, we value our customer feedback.
For any prospective Coast to Coast walkers or other guests reading this review, please note that our latest check in time is not strictly 6.30pm as implied. The party of walkers in question made a booking through an internet booking site about 8 months previous to their stay with us. On that site we ask people to check in by 6.30 UNLESS we have heard from them to arrange a later check-in time.

We had no further communication at all since their booking, even after requesting by email that they let us know who was transferring their bags and where they were walking from on the last day of the Coast to Coast. Surely it is common courtesy to let hosts know an estimated arrival time just so we can be sure to be home to greet them and show them to their rooms. So from 4.00pm onwards we waited, and waited and waited without knowing if they had successfully completed the walk, or were indeed stranded somewhere en-route.

We are a small B&B and do not have a manned reception like hotels and motels and by the time evening comes around we need a few hours to ourselves to either go shopping, or indeed have a meal out occasionally and just relax before the morning. By the time 7.00pm arrived, we were surprised when somebody arrived by car to tell us the rest of the party were enjoying a meal in a pub over an hour's walk away and would be arriving around 9.00pm to complete their walk and check in! Surely a phone call from the landline in the pub could have been made to let us know where you were. Some joined up thinking was all that was required from yourselves and we apologise if you were offended by a rather jaded landlord, but surely understandably so under the circumstances?

It's a pity you found the mattress too soft, our usual comments for that room is the best bed slept in on the Coast to Coast, but we appreciate everybody is different and it's difficult to cater for any individual back or other body problems people may have.

Hopefully you made it to Heathrow in time to catch your flights after your early morning departure from Robin Hoods Bay.
Kind regards.
Owners at Streonshalh B&B, Robin Hoods Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Four of us stayed here on our last night of C2C and it was just right. One of the rooms was large whilst the other on the top floor was slightly more cramped. However, the location is quiet, the breakfast excellent - smoked salmon and scrambled eggs - and all in all it was just what we needed. We were offered a piece of cake to take with us for the day and there was a plentiful supply of tea and coffee in the room. The dinner recommendation of the Victoria pub was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubafanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We (The two Toms) stayed here while hiking the Coast to Coast and what a perfect way to end a hike. . . . Kevin was awesome and the breakfast was the best of our whole trip (especially the fresh fruit bowl) Thank you for a wonderful time!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fladland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

A 3 night stay in a cracking part of the world factored in as we headed home from the south of England.

Great location with good access to all parts of the town. Busy streets but room to park augmented by a parking space off street.

Nice well maintained and presented building externally with well appointed rooms with ensuite facilities. Our room had a Super King size bed, which was the most comfortable bed we had found since leaving home, leaving the other places we had stayed at in the shade. Nice touch of good coffee mugs and wine glasses along with water cups to complement the expected teas and coffees. A nice touch, along with the wine glasses, is a small wine/beer cooler in the room :-)

Breakfast is a super affair starting with fresh fruit salad for all then a choice of cereals followed by a great choice of options rather than the B&B expected "full English" or "continental." Ranging from smoked salmon and scrambled eggs to pancakes with maple syrup. As if this was not enough the lady of the house is a good baker and little extras appear freshly baked each morning... Perhaps Banana loaf or Scones or... anyway you are most welcome to eat these with breakfast (I doubt anyone would have room) or take the goodies away for a snack through the day. Actually using the room's kettle to fill the thermos flask then adding the morning baking probably meant a couple of tea rooms were bypassed each day ;-)

Our first night was a Tuesday so our hosts suggested we pop into the Grosvenor... just around the corner... where there would be live music. Fantastic - "free" gig by Steve Philips who used to play with Mark Knoffler of Dire Straits... first class and I believe he's a regular artist for Tuesday nights.

Anyway this just typified the knowledge of our hosts whether we were walking to Whitby or driving to the NYMR steam line... Oh, also take mine host's advice for eating out... some really good places to eat at to suit most pallets and budgets.

As usual, for me, the bottom line is, would we come back... Most certainly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This was the end of our Coast to Coast but you should always leave the best to last. We stayed with our friends from Leicester in the top rooms which were beatifully presented with an excellent ensuite bathroom and very comfortable bed. Kevin was very friendly, helpful and gave us good advice about where to eat. We loved the breakfast and the chat. The perfect ending to our first long distance walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0yreiver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
12 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,209 reviews
6.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
753 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streonshalh B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streonshalh B&B

Property: Streonshalh B&B
Address: Streonshalh Mount Pleasant South, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer clean, quiet, comfortable accommodation and can cater for parties of up to 10 people. Hikers welcome, packed lunches available on request. Free Wi-Fi connection. Streonshalh has 6 en-suite letting rooms, consisting of doubles, twins, and singles. We have 4 double rooms, 2 have King Size beds and 2 have 6' Super King size beds. All rooms have flat screen TV/DVD players. 2 of the double rooms can be twin rooms and we have 2 dedicated single rooms with 3' beds. Discount on bookings of 3 or more nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Streonshalh B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streonshalh Bed And Breakfast
Streonshalh Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Streonshalh B&B Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing