We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.”
Review of Streonshalh B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Streonshalh B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here last week and it was lovely. I really enjoyed all aspects of the place. It was very well located for the beach and centre. We were given great advice from as we were shown to our room; the cheaper pubs, the nicer places to eat, the ones that should be advance booked etc. which was really helpful - Just what you need when you don't know the place and want a cheap pint!

The place itself was great. We found parking on the street outside so didn't have to walk far or pay anything. Breakfast was amazing, lots of choice and delicious, I was very impressed. The room was clean and comfy, great shower especially, and chocolates on arrival which I rather enjoyed!

The owners were very kind as well. Advising us on our trip to Whitby and giving us a disc to use for parking should we have needed it.

All and all it was excellent and if I'm ever back in Robin Hood's Bay I'd definitely stay there and be disappointed if I couldn't.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc11042h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    37
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
201
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights in April 2014 and we can only highly recommend this place. Sorry for the delay with this review but I have only just worked out how to do it! Very tidy place, room small but plenty big enough. Excellent breakfast and the couple running the place take a real pride in what they serve you and others have said they supply you with a piece of cake to use as a mid morning snack so thanks. Also apologies for not remembering the couples names but I'm an Los man! The only possible downside could be parking but it really is manageable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

After 16 days walking and the worst weather of the whole trip we arrived soaking wet, covered in mud from the bogs on Sneaton Moor and the Coastal Path. Kevin took it all in his stride and welcomed him into his home. We did a damage limitation with regards to the mud but again our very kind hosts weren't phased.
Our room was very comfortable, well furnished and had all we could have asked for to aid our stay - the chocolates were especially welcome!
Our bathroom was small but well appointed and both rooms were very clean.
We took Kevin's advice and once were had made the trek down to the bottom of the Bay we then went to eat at The Victoria Hotel. This was good advice and as we sat with another couple we had met on the walk the sun shone through the windows and all was good with the world again!
Our breakfast was great - fresh produce and all home made. There is lots of choice. We were going to have the Whitby kippers until we saw the pancakes, maple syrup and fresh berries on the menu - they were great.
Kevin and Debbie very kindly let us hang around for a little while and then in the garden as we waited for our lift home.
Thank you for a great end to our trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPC5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We couldn't have asked for better service. Kevin and debbie were excellent, breakfast was amazing, quiet location and not far from the beach, shops and pubs/places to eat. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The only thing I could possibly complain about is there was no clock but this is not much of a problem.
We had an excellent stay and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We picked Robin Hoods Bay because it is special to us and staying with Debbie and Kevin was the icing on the cake. The most important aspects were the welcome and the attention to detail. We stayed in room 6 at the top which gives a lovely view over the town and to the sea. The bed was really comfy and the shower was excellent. The provision of corkscrew and glasses and a fridge to keep the fizz cool were inspired. The breakfasts are amazing with plenty of choices and excellent Black Pudding, We especially liked the fresh fruit salad to start and the lovely baking provided to take away for later. Even though we were not there for walking I was impressed on how welcoming they were to walkers and happy if they were only stopped for one night.
We would thoroughly recommend a stay here, Happy Days. Nigel & Heather xx

Room Tip: Room 6 for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This place is just amazing. We have stayed once before as a couple and take it from us, you will not get better in Robin Hoods Bay. Kevin and Debbie are amazing hosts who can not do enough for you to make your stay that little extra bit more special. The rooms are comfortable and the bed we had (room 2) is large and comfortable. There are great little touches in the room like a mini fridge and a really powerful shower. The breakfast is hearty and cooked to your liking. Being a black pudding enthusiast, Kevin certainly ordered enough in to keep me going :p
All in all this place is really special and our only regret is that we dont live close enough to come here every year! Thanks again guys, great memories. Tom & Kate x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommybanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was the first time we had stayed there after reading previous reviews and it didnt disappoint. We had room 6 (attic room) and it was lovely, cosy and had everything we could need including great extras like wine glasses and a corkscrew !! Very comfortable bed and no complaints about the cleanliness, the on-suite was also perfectly clean and modern. Unfortunately it was very misty on the day we arrived but there was a great sea view from our window which we had the opportunity to see the following day. Kevin and Debbie were brilliant hosts, attentive and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was fab and we were greeted with a lovely fresh bowl of fruit when we came down for breakfast. There was everything you could hope for and more. I would not hesitate recommending this B&B to stay and we hope to visit again as soon as possible. FANTASTIC XX

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashforth67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
12 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,208 reviews
6.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
753 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streonshalh B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streonshalh B&B

Property: Streonshalh B&B
Address: Streonshalh Mount Pleasant South, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer clean, quiet, comfortable accommodation and can cater for parties of up to 10 people. Hikers welcome, packed lunches available on request. Free Wi-Fi connection. Streonshalh has 6 en-suite letting rooms, consisting of doubles, twins, and singles. We have 4 double rooms, 2 have King Size beds and 2 have 6' Super King size beds. All rooms have flat screen TV/DVD players. 2 of the double rooms can be twin rooms and we have 2 dedicated single rooms with 3' beds. Discount on bookings of 3 or more nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Streonshalh B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streonshalh Bed And Breakfast
Streonshalh Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Streonshalh B&B Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing