We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, lovely place and a lovely stay...:)”
Review of Streonshalh B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Streonshalh B&B
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely people, lovely place and a lovely stay...:)”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this fantastic b&b, as a little treat to cheer me up. This lovely place was exactly what the doctor ordered, it certainly cheered me up. Kevin and Debbie are wonderful hosts, they really go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. They really made our stay that extra bit special. THANK YOU! We stayed in the superking room; the bed is so comfortable (i wanted to take it with me!) This b and b is full of extra little touches- chocolates, bottled water, delicious fruit salad to start breakfast and my favourite HOME BAKING.The breakfast is delicious with so much choice. We will certainly will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    36
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
199
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is an excellent and well located B&B to finish the Coast to Coast walk in. We were aware of the early check-in so made sure we only had one drink at the finish ! Large room with all the amenities and en suite shower room. Very friendly hosts - probably because we were not late checking in, but I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B - just make sure you are there on time :-)

Room Tip: All rooms looked very comfortable - just make sure you are aware of the need to collect your keys by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrymulvaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight and have to say this is one of the nicest B&B's I have stayed in. Great friendly welcome, room was to a very good standard and the bottled of water and little chocs show the attention to detail the host's strive for.

Highly recommend anyone who is thinking of booking a stay in the area visit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked a room here at the end of our Coast to Coast walk. We got to Robin Hood's Bay at the end of a 20+ mile day, grabbed a quick drink and then grabbed the opportunity to get an early table at the Smugglers for dinner. From there we rang the B&B - just before 6:30 - and got screamed at by the owner for not checking in sooner and apparently for being rude and not being considerate of his social life. The exchange was so bad that we started looking for another place to stay, with the help of the owner of the Smugglers and other patrons of the restaurant, all who had overheard this conversation. Because it was the weekend of the Whitby Regatta we couldn't find another room and so made our way to the B&B, where we were initially met with an apology before he started yelling at us again. I dread to think what the other guests upstairs thought of the noise on the ground floor at the very late hour of 7:30pm. It's a shame, really, because the B&B is very lovely and comfortable and the breakfast was really good. But we couldn't get past being yelled at by the owner, who, after being reminded that he was running a business replied with "That's not the point, I do not care." I could never recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for a relaxing holiday or a bit of luxury at the end of the Coast to Coast walk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 108BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streonshalh, Owner at Streonshalh B&B, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for reviewing our B&B, indeed Coast to Coast walkers beware! We couldn't have put it better ourselves and hopefully some walkers will take heed when reading this. The fact that people finish the Coast to Coast and walk right past their B&Bs before descending into the lower village is a real problem for B&B owners. As in your case, some guests decide to have a celebratory drink, which leads to another, then possibly a meal, with a total lack of consideration or respect for landlords/landladies and think it’s acceptable to check in after 8.00pm.
In fact some B&B owners are starting to refuse bookings from walkers for this very reason, preferring to sell rooms to guests who understand and appreciate the amount of hard work involved in running such a business.
What a shame for us you couldn’t have found alternative accommodation that evening, thus enabling us, as we had planned, to go our for the evening, instead of waiting in all day for your arrival, or news of it. Surely it’s common courtesy when booking accommodation to let people know an estimated arrival time?
We clearly state in our terms and conditions on the booking site you used, that if you intend to check in later than 6.30pm we may not be able to accept your reservation if we don’t hear from you beforehand. In your case we heard nothing all day and had no idea where you were walking from that day. So hardly surprising you had an abrupt response when you phoned us to say you would be checking in around 8.30pm after your meal, but when you did arrive (after 8.00pm) you received a friendly welcome and a genuine apology for the brusque manner on the phone. However, you offered no apology on your part, just a rude and arrogant attitude prevailed, informing us that you were entitled to treat us in this way because you were paying us! True enough, but hardly a license for such a discourteous manner and one that we shouldn’t have to, and won’t tolerate.
Finally, we’re guessing we’ll be relegated to the blacklist on your Coast to Coast US blog/US guidebook you gleefully informed us you were being paid to compile. Pity for prospective walkers, as we notoriously provide one of the best breakfasts on the finale of the Coast to Coast walk and are one of the few B&Bs offering credit/debit card payment facilities. Invaluable, as there is no ATM in Robin Hoods Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
420 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Overall the stay here was great, but the breakfasts were the highlight for us. Lots of choice, everything freshly prepared and probably the best we've had in an English B&B.
The room was clean and nicely prepared with all the amenities you'd expect these days. Our bed was a UK King-size (5ft) and I believe that two other rooms have 6ft super kings. It was a little soft but that may have been personal taste as I prefer a hard bed. Welcome was friendly and both Kevin and Deb seemed interested in talking to their guests.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here last week and it was lovely. I really enjoyed all aspects of the place. It was very well located for the beach and centre. We were given great advice from as we were shown to our room; the cheaper pubs, the nicer places to eat, the ones that should be advance booked etc. which was really helpful - Just what you need when you don't know the place and want a cheap pint!

The place itself was great. We found parking on the street outside so didn't have to walk far or pay anything. Breakfast was amazing, lots of choice and delicious, I was very impressed. The room was clean and comfy, great shower especially, and chocolates on arrival which I rather enjoyed!

The owners were very kind as well. Advising us on our trip to Whitby and giving us a disc to use for parking should we have needed it.

All and all it was excellent and if I'm ever back in Robin Hood's Bay I'd definitely stay there and be disappointed if I couldn't.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc11042h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights in April 2014 and we can only highly recommend this place. Sorry for the delay with this review but I have only just worked out how to do it! Very tidy place, room small but plenty big enough. Excellent breakfast and the couple running the place take a real pride in what they serve you and others have said they supply you with a piece of cake to use as a mid morning snack so thanks. Also apologies for not remembering the couples names but I'm an Los man! The only possible downside could be parking but it really is manageable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
10 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#17 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streonshalh B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streonshalh B&B

Property: Streonshalh B&B
Address: Streonshalh Mount Pleasant South, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer clean, quiet, comfortable accommodation and can cater for parties of up to 10 people. Hikers welcome, packed lunches available on request. Free Wi-Fi connection. Streonshalh has 6 en-suite letting rooms, consisting of doubles, twins, and singles. We have 4 double rooms, 2 have King Size beds and 2 have 6' Super King size beds. All rooms have flat screen TV/DVD players. 2 of the double rooms can be twin rooms and we have 2 dedicated single rooms with 3' beds. Discount on bookings of 3 or more nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Streonshalh B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streonshalh Bed And Breakfast
Streonshalh Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Streonshalh B&B Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing