We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely B & B, and hosts!”
Review of Streonshalh B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Streonshalh B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely B & B, and hosts!”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

My sister and I stayed at this B & B for 2 nights on a tour of Great Britain, and we didn't want to leave!! We absolutely LOVED the town, and thought Streonshalh was absolutely the best B&B! Debbie and Kevin were excellent hosts! Friendly, funny and easy going they instantly made us feel at home! Debbie greeted us warmly when we arrived in the rain on Thursday, showed us our exceptionally charming, comfortable rooms and left us to relax.The rooms were nicely decorated, the beds were VERY comfortable, had lots of pillows and both were en-suite! The bathrooms were a good size and spotless!
Each room had a view of the town and ocean that was so beautiful, I took pictures out our windows! Flat screen TV's were mounted on the wall and tea was provided. The full English breakfast was the best we had in England! Fresh fruit to start with, tea, and toast. Then a hearty cooked breakfast of beans, bacon, sausages, egg and potato hash brown!! It was absolutely delicious and the "dining area" is bright and sunny, making it a lovely place to wake up in the morning! They were also happy to acomodate my sister who is a vegetarian. They provided packed lunches for us a minimal fee which was great when we spent the day in Whitby! The Bed and Breakfast is in the perfect location. Only a minutes walk to the bus stop, little general store and post office which was very convenient! The town is absolutely charming, set on a hillside on the ocean with tiny stores and homes along the narrow streets. Pubs are plentiful, with friendly locals and tourists and lots of good beer + cider! :-) We both agreed it was our favorite place we visited, and would definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swtviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    37
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
205
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
grimsby
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

When we arrived we were greeted with a very warm welcome. we were shown to our room which was very clean and in good dercorative order. the breakfast certainly sets you up for the day very good choices. we asked for a pack up for our journey which was very good indeed and good value for money. i will be recommending this place to family and friends.
keep up the excellent work we will vist again soon

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy36Grimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I write this review with some reservations - I don't want too many people to know just how good this place is in case we can't get another booking! Streonshalh is at the top of the hill - between the public car park and the Wayfarer Bistro (both worth knowing) - which is rather a good location, away from the tourist bustle of the lower town, but near some good walking paths . It was a perfect B&B; very friendly, tastefully-decorated, spotlessly clean. Nothing was too much trouble for the proprietors. The breakfast was superb - freshly chopped fruit (watermelon, strawberries, grapes...) followed by cereal and one of the best cooked breakfasts we have eaten - sausage, black pudding and bacon all local and very well cooked, beans, tomato, eggs... all followed with toast and a choice of home made jams.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borehamwod
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2009

this bed and breakfast is like home from home, upon arrival we met (mine hosts ) Debbie and Kevin, you were put at ease straight away, nothing was to much trouble, the rooms were great, we stayed on the top floor, and the view over the sea was beautiful, my father was in the next room to us and he also had a great view over the sea, now the thing to make a great bed and breakfast is the breakfast, and my word you could not fault it at all, it was great, fresh fruit to start with, you must have the fried breakfast, the sausage were great, also try the homemade jams, I would recommend the Streonshalh to all ages

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slowman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

If you have high expectations and want to feel fabulous and taken care of, this is the place for you.

On arrival Kevin and Debbie could not have been more helpful, keys given out and shown to a spotless room and I mean spotless.comfortable bed and a power shadow that you can get a least two in(if you want to) loads of tea, coffee and biscuits and a hairdryer...

The breakfast is wholesome and excellent quality, local product, even fresh fruitt and posh cereals...

Made to feel really welcome and staying there was one of the highlight of my trip, being a solo traveller is not always easy, you will have no problems here, I was made to feel really welcome and when leaving, I felt like I was saying "goodbye to old friends"

I would have no problems recommeding this lovely bed and breakfast to anyone, you would be crazy to stay anywhere else.

Thanks Kevin and Debbie for a great time and see you again soon
Denise

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deniseisinthebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We spent a long weekend in this B&B and we had a very good time. The host is so nice and very helpful.
The position is great, very close to the bay and the restaurants.
The room was very very clean and had a beautiful view (we were in room 6).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lallacap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

This was one of the best B&B's we stayed in during our coast to coast walk. The hosts went the extra mile and even lugged our luggage to our rooms. Breakfast was fabulous with fresh fruit and made to order eggs. Wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippinFromTheDrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
14 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,225 reviews
6.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streonshalh B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streonshalh B&B

Property: Streonshalh B&B
Address: Streonshalh Mount Pleasant South, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer clean, quiet, comfortable accommodation and can cater for parties of up to 10 people. Hikers welcome, packed lunches available on request. Free Wi-Fi connection. Streonshalh has 6 en-suite letting rooms, consisting of doubles, twins, and singles. We have 4 double rooms, 2 have King Size beds and 2 have 6' Super King size beds. All rooms have flat screen TV/DVD players. 2 of the double rooms can be twin rooms and we have 2 dedicated single rooms with 3' beds. Discount on bookings of 3 or more nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Streonshalh B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streonshalh Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Streonshalh Bed And Breakfast
Streonshalh B&B Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing