We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grade a all the way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grade a all the way”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just home after a couple of lovely nights at the wayfarer. I must be nearly on my 20th visit, whilst Lucy and Chris have been the owners.
Excellent service, excellent food, both in the bistro at night, and at breakfast.
I've recommended this place to lots of friends over the years.
GRADE A ALL THE WAY.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    31
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
229
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I thought this B&B was good but I've had to rate it as Very Good as there is no rating for just Good - I didn't want to rate it as average as I think it is above the average B&B.

Our welcome was very warm and we were given a few pointers about the area, which was great as it was our first visit.

Our room was very clean and a good size, however the bathroom was tiny and my partner had to dry himself in the bedroom as there wasn't enough room in the bathroom. Still it was lovely, clean and modern and had everything in it we needed.

We ate in the Bistro on one evening and the food was lovely. We both had steaks, unfortunately they got them mixed up (I ordered sirloin and my partner rump) and as I had a sauce on mine we couldn't swap over. We decided not to complain as they tasted Ok. The wine we ordered was gorgeous and my dessert was lovely.

Breakfast was very nice and enjoyable.

The B&B is well situated for the long walk to Whitby (The Cleveland Trail) or for the short walk down to the bay.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and the food at the Wayfarer, and would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunandmoon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here on the final night of the c2c path. A lovely clean place with good food although a little noisey with rooms at the front from customers exiting the Bistro after 1am. Friendly hosts who run the bistro and does have a good for it's food.

Room Tip: try to avoid the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Ate here on Sunday 8th September on the recommendation of our B&B host, it was their steak and bake night, 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £38, we were not disappointed, food, wine and service all excellent! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank D33mass3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just stayed her (Fri/Sat night) and what a great place. When we arrived we struggled to find the hotel and the owner even cam out into the street to find us....what a gent, he had even reserved us a parking space. Our room was very nice and very clean. The breakfasts are huge and very well presented. On the Saturday night our son came to stay, this was no trouble at all and he was squeezed into the already full hotel and bistro....many thanks.
We would definitely stay again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gildersome10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Outstanding in every way! Spotless room. Would stay here again, without hesitation! The couple, who own and run the place, were friendly and welcoming. THE FOOD IN THE RESTAURANT WAS PERFECT! Beautifully cooked and presented well. It makes a change to find a B&B that provides such an outstanding service - at a very reasonable cost too! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This B & B and Bistro is well worth a visit. This was a return trip and no doubt we will be back. The accommodation is clean, modern and very comfortable ( especially the bed). The owners go out of their way to make sure everything is ok. The Bistro is fabulous! The food can not be faulted and is perfect every time.
Robin Hoods Bay is a delightful, as always!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
799 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
10 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#17 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse

Property: The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse
Address: The Wayfarer Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally the 'Top Shop' in Robin Hood's Bay, the Wayfarer has been lovingly restored as a bistro to a very high standard. Owners Chris and Lucy Hutchinson have created the perfect atmosphere in their Bistro with original wood floors and antique pine tables mixed with a contemporary decor. The menu changes every month and the specials board is changed daily. The Wayfarer also provides cozy accommodation. Newly completed, it offers en-suite bedrooms, with a high standard of service, delicious meals and exceptional value for money in a relaxed candle lit setting, it's perfect for a romantic get away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
The Wayfarer Bistro And Guesthouse
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing