We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little treasure!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, West Yorkshire, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a little treasure!”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Having to abandon our camping trip due to bad weather, my husband and I decided to try and find a B&B for one night in Robin Hoods Bay. Lucky for us the Wayfarer had had a cancellation - just one room available for that one night (although the Bistro was full to bursting - so we had to eat elsewhere that evening). The room, although on the top floor and with a sloping roof, was one of the most comfortable and clean rooms we have ever stayed in - modern, fresh and with all mod cons (including flat screen TV). After a good nights sleep we were treated to a wonderful breakfast (no wonder the Bistro was so full the evening before - the food was fabulous!). Cereals, fresh fruit/salad, yoghurts, tea, coffee, toast and a choice of full English or other hot alternatives. My husband's full English was plentiful and my smoked salmon and poached eggs were delicious! All this made complete by the warm and friendly hospitality of the hosts - Chris and Lucy. We shall certainly try to book there again and would recommend this hostelry to anyone who finds themselves in this wonderful part of North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourAmigos08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    31
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
229
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This is the first time we've eaten in a bistro and had the food rushed in front of us.

Barely had we finished our first course when the next one quickly appeared and this seemed to be the case for everyone else in this restaurant. Not only did this feel like a fast-food experience, get them in, get their money and get them out, but the food was distinctly ordinary too and we expected far better for the price.

Also, we chose this place after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. Maybe some of them should be taken with a pinch of sea salt.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Inselaffe666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We visited Robin Hood's Bay for the first time in 5 years, and after reading the reviews on here thought we'd try the Wayfarer, MISTAKE!

The rooms were clean but basic, the only parkign was in the public car park on teh other side of a main though route adn no help for me or my husband with the cases, up the hill from the car park to the Guesthouse

The staff were stroppy and the food cold, when we mentioned it to the staff we were offered money back if we didn't write a review on here, maybe that's why they are all goods reviews. we didn't need money we needed a great location and rest, unfortunately the location wasn't great, there were no wonderful sea views, the guesthouse is half way up the bank, in an end terrace house, so we could see the sea if we leaned out of the window.

We were very disappointed with the whole holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sgessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayfarer240, Owner at The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Chris and I were very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and feel we must point out a couple of issues that you mentioned about our guest house.
Like so many other bed and breakfast establishments we have tried to make our property a comfortable play to stay. We offer three rooms that have sea views. Two have balcony's that look over the country side and down towards the bay the other large room has views of the sea. The other two rooms admittedly don't have sea views unless you look to the left from the window but we do say on our website that only ' Some with sea views' and when anyone books a room with us we always tell them which room they will be staying in.
Parking is a major issue for most of us that live in Robin Hoods Bay. We have two parking spaces and then offer parking permits for the car park that is literally 30 seconds walk from ' the wayfarer'. If that car park is full there is another large car park only a minutes walk up the road, we always ask our guests to drop their bags off before parking up so we can tell them which parking is available. In fact another trip advisor user has posted a picture that shows where the car park is from the house. Our guest house and the car park are at the top of the bank before the road descends down the hill.
We were also disappointed that you didn't enjoy your food, I just wish you had mentioned this to Chris or myself, I have asked my staff if they can remember anyone saying the food was cold and and none of us can, so that comment is a bit of a mystery. One thing I will say is that I am very fortunate to have very polite, hard working staff and can not imagine that any of them would be stroppy with anyone, so I would like to apologise again if that is the case.
You should of mentioned all of the above to Chris or myself and it wouldn't of been a problem to find you some alternative accommodation in the bay.
I have emailed you ask when you stayed with us and have had no reply so that is why I have responded to your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

we stayed here for 2 nights for my partners birthday. We usually go self catering in RHB but glad we tried here. The food in the bistro was really something special. Fish specials and other interesting dishes. The white chocolate creme brulee was divine!!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Didn't manage to get accommodation at the Wayfarer as we booked quite late but we decided to try out the food while we were in Robin Hoods Bay anyway. We were VERY glad we did. There are only about 2 other restaurants in the bay so we decided to try the Wayfarer out first as it looked the most impressive. The food was absolutely wonderful. There were daily specials which cosisted mostly of fish as well as a lovely menu. We were so impressed that we decided to go back the next night as we didn't want to be dissapointed by going elsewhere as the Wayfarer had set the bar so high for the standard of food. Again, our second meal way wonderful and my partner, who is a chef, was very pleased! The staff are very friendly. We sat at the top of the restaurant on both nights and were able to see into the kitchen through a service hatch. It was lovely to see such a clean kitchen as well as a neatly presented, professional chef. We would definately recommend the Wayfarer to anyone visiting Robin Hoods Bay or the nearby area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miatod89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed in this guesthouse for 2 nights and have no bad comments at all. Perfect location, free parking, beautiful+spacious+comfortable bedroom (bed, sofa, armchair, wardrobe, cabinets, drinks and biscuits, big flat screen TV, spacious modern bathroom with all toiletries and towels provided) witha sea view. Massive delicious breakfast, plenty of choice, food especially cooked for you. We had dinner at the Bistro one night and it was beautiful, starting from candles on the table to the great food and service! :)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulavesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

A super base for exploring the Yorkshire Coast - room comfortable (we loved our balcony), breakfast (in the Bistro) a cornucopia of delightful culinary choices. We dined in the Bistro one evening - food/service absolutely fine, and, all in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saxodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
14 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,047 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse

Property: The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse
Address: The Wayfarer Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally the 'Top Shop' in Robin Hood's Bay, the Wayfarer has been lovingly restored as a bistro to a very high standard. Owners Chris and Lucy Hutchinson have created the perfect atmosphere in their Bistro with original wood floors and antique pine tables mixed with a contemporary decor. The menu changes every month and the specials board is changed daily. The Wayfarer also provides cozy accommodation. Newly completed, it offers en-suite bedrooms, with a high standard of service, delicious meals and exceptional value for money in a relaxed candle lit setting, it's perfect for a romantic get away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
The Wayfarer Bistro And Guesthouse
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing