We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rounton house, the best B&B for Robin Hoods Bay!”
Review of Rounton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rounton House
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Once again we,ve been back to Rounton House, the perfect place for relaxing at Robin Hoods Bay. It,s just minutes from the fantastic view down to the Bay.
The house is lovely, as always the room was spotless, everything we needed for our weekend break. Theres tea and coffee facilities, towels, shower gel etc. Claire and Kate think of everything to make us feel welcome,
Each morning theres a great variety of breakfast, full English if you want, theres a menu in each room to fill in your choice, dining room is always clean and well set out.
There,s plenty of room for parking, which is what you want after your journey, just drive in, leave your car and explore the area.
We,ll be back to Rounton in July, thanks Claire, Kate and your Mum.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNORuncornCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

very friendly and accomadating, they even cater for vegans with advance warning. Had a proper breakfast, fresh fruit, toast and marmalade as well as a big fry up! Well worth the money, lovely room with a sea view in a beautiful house. We cycled over from scarborough and bike storage was readily available. Definately reccomend Rountan house to anyone.

Room Tip: wouldn't be a problem with noise in any room, ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I booked a 1- night stay here as a birthday surprise for my husband. I had spent ages trying to find a family- friendly B and B (NOWHERE in RHB does family rooms for 4, especially with children under 12) this place was recommended by someone and it came up trumps!
The room was available for us much earlier than we expected, the welcome warm, parking was easy, the room was v clean and comfy and the kids loved all the DVDs that were available. Importantly, the temperature during our stay in the night was -11, and the heating was kept on throughout- something not all B and Bs would do from previous Winter breaks elsewhere. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice (we are all veggie) and even the fussiest of 6 year olds was well catered for!
In short, we had a great time and will definitely be back one day!

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank suec_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The owners were very welcoming and friendly. Our room was very good and the breakfast was very nice.

Really clean as well

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john5Keighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We,ve had another lovely weekend at Rounton House, and recommend it as clean, comfortable, always a warm welcome after our long journey. There,s a great choice for breakfast in lovely dining room.
Robin Hoods Bay is a lovely place, and base for Whitby, where there,s always something going on, Scarborough, Staithes, lots of places to explore.
Claire and Kate are excellent hosts, we,re looking forward to our next visit in the Spring.
Thank you for our relaxing stay at Rounton House!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNORuncornCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We recently stayed at Rounton Guest House for two nights. We were made very welcome from the second we walked in the door. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. The place itself is set in the heart of Robin Hoods Bay in the most quaint setting. The room we had was welcoming, warm, very clean and it had endless hot water, heating if we were cold, and plenty of spotlessly clean, fluffy towels. Claire and Kate you were fantastic to us and our Daughter and you met our needs perfectly and because of this, if ever we are in the area again, we will look no further than Rounton B&B. The food is excellent, there's plenty, it's served piping hot and tea and coffee and extra toast etc is offered without having to ask. The most wonderful place we have ever stayed when we have been to this area. Big thanks and love to all of you.see you again soon hopefully.
The Bell Family. Nottinghamshire England.

Room Tip: The friendliness in this place is far better than a stunning room. All rooms will have a lovely view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Wonderful service. Lovely owners. Very welcoming to young children, when others in the area weren't! Great breakfast. Lovely spacious and light family room with great views. Great recommendations for day trips out and local eateries.

Room Tip: No bath available but shower facilities in room very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vcolkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robin Hood's Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
831 reviews
0.0 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rounton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rounton House

Address: Rounton House Mount Pleasant South | Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range: £68 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rounton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rounton House Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing