We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Midweek break”
Review of Rounton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rounton House
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Midweek break”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked our stay at short notice(the night before our visit to RHB)as we were supposed to be camping but the forecast was for 2 days of heavy rain. I can only say that we dropped lucky, nothing was too much trouble for Kate and family, good off road parking, warm clean comfy rooms, dvds available for our 2 boys, very good breakfast to set us up for a day out. easy walking distance from the bay with its shops and pubs. I would 100% recommend this B&B to anybody, and look forward to a return visit.

Thank you, Richard Megan William and Joseph.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willjoemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It is without doubt a must for any person wanting to visit Robin Hoods Bay. I can only say that the welcome was superb and the Hotel is clean and welcoming. The hosts attend to all needs with a smile and nothing is a problem. The breakfast's are to die for. Room 1 is cosy and has a great sea view. I can only urge anyone to book in on a trip to Robin Hoods Bay. And private parking as well !

Room Tip: Try and book room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Once again our stay at Rounton was as lovely as ever.
Its always a pleasure to have a long weekend there, the house is full of character,
and a great welcome when we arrive.
The rooms are comfortable, spotless with everything you need, a place to relax in after
a walk down to the bay for the day!
Then look forward to a delicious breakfast next morning, with lots of choice.
We,re always well looked after and its a pleasure to stay at Rounton, thanks
you Claire, Kate and your lovely Mum. We,ll be back in July.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNORuncornCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We booked last minute in Rounton House to meet up with friends who were staying there. We had a lovely weekend, nothing was too much trouble There was plenty to eat at breakfast with extras if needed,unlimited tea/coffee /milk in the room which was clean warm and comfortable as was the whole house My bed especially (double) was very comfy and warm with plenty of pillows if needed We would certainly stay there again ..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janb1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Our 3rd visit now always first class service here clean warm fantastic hosts in claire and kate you will not be in better hands.will be returning again soon.off road parking only a few minutes walk to the post office,pubs and eating establishments.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazza41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cawood, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Booked to stay at Rounton as we were meeting up with friends who were also staying there. Cannot fault it one little bit, from our initial enquiry to our departure nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in Room 2, which was a family room, there was just me and mum, the shower was in the room and toilet just across the hallway which we had sole use of. Room was very clean, nicely decorated and warm (as you need that up in North Yorkshire in October!), beds were comfortable, plenty of spare bedding if we needed it, TV with DVD player in just in case you feel like a night in, plenty of tea/coffee etc (we brought milk, we didn't need to, but we've stayed in other places where there's never enough), and more on the landing if you ran out. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of cereals to choose from, even Melon if you preferred fruit, endless tea/coffee/toast if you required, and a nice cooked breakfast to set you up for the day. Claire and Kate were very friendly and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble. We certainly wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we were making another visit to Robin Hoods Bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urbangirluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Well we have just arrived back having stayed in room 1. In a review I had noticed it states cramped with badly fitted wardrobes etc...I don't think this was the same place. If I had wanted a 4 or 5 star Hotel I would have booked into one. However after travelling in Europe and in the U.K. I can honestly say this is without doubt one of the best B&B's I have come across. The girls were brilliant and the welcome was just right. The room was clean and very well furnished and we did not find a problem with the size of the toilet nor the shower. Coffee and Tea is provided in the rooms and was topped up when we went out..The Breakfast was outstanding and substantial. We were also aloud to come and go as we pleased and car parking was provided. I would have happily have paid more. A short walk and you are on the footpath to the old village and Bay which is a truly beautiful walk,Terrific Value and Home from Home. Excellent and Thank You for outstanding Service.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the most terrific view over the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
6.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rounton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rounton House

Property: Rounton House
Address: Rounton House Mount Pleasant South | Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rounton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rounton House Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing