We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed at the Victoria from 16th - 18th august. Friendly new owners , lovely sea views from our room, great beer in the bar ( pub prices) and we also had a lovely meal in the restaurant.
Robin Hoods Bay is a lovely place and the Hotel added to the pleasure we got from this short break. we will be back !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 12 has a lovely sea view but unable to see the village. Room 7 has the perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tutorsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goathland, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Thankyou it was a pleasure having you staying with us and we are developing a team that is focused on customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    213
    50
    19
    2
See reviews for
133
492
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Victoria Hotel is situated at the end of a row of Bed and Breakfasts, and it's location affords the best view of Robin Hood's Bay and the sea. Our twin bedded room(no. 7, I believe) was in the front of the Hotel on a higher floor so our view was incredible.

The room was exactly as the photos depicted on their website. Clean and comfortable, and rather roomy.

I didn't realize that upon walking into the Hotel, you are in a large entry hall that is very open, atmospheric, and looks up to the top floor. Very beautiful indeed.

We found the staff to be helpful, and I suspect that some of the past reviewers may forget that they're in a Hotel and not a Bed and Breakfast. There is something B and B ish about this place, yet it's size cannot allow for the extreme personal attention one would get at a B and B. All of our questions were met with a smile and helpful answers and advice. One woman did seem to be in a hurry and a bit stressed all of the time, but certainly not in a terribly offensive manner, though I did finally ask her if my question had bothered her. The front desk attendants were the most helpful. The slightly stressed woman was in the tea room. Again, nothing offensive at all, just not wonderfully personal like a B and B.

Breakfast was enormous and tasty, in another pretty and large room.

We had beers in the pub one early evening and it was pleasant enough.

Robin Hood's Bay was a magical place. One of the most beautiful spots on our long journey through England in July. We visited the nearby towns of Whitby, Staithes, and Runswick Bay and as nice as they were, we preferred Robin Hood's Bay to all of them.

We would also definitely stay at the Victoria Hotel again if we ever returned to this part of Yorkshire!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ancestralvoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was a bit disorganized and maybe short staffed. Overall a nice pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGlasgowTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We've always loved the Victoria Hotel. The food is fantastic as are the rooms. The view is out of this world!
But now it has new owners who could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful.
An added bonus is that the coffee room is now open all day, every day.
I would highly recommend the Victoria for coffee and cake, bar meals, restaurant meals and bed & breakfast. Look no further...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
294 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed for 3 nights , 1 in room 4 and two in room 7, (23rd - 26th June) the owner made a real effort to fit us in as they were fully booked on the Thu, Fri, Sat night. We rembered why we stay a B &B's, it was a bit noisy for us, not bad , just people enjoying the place, but not late. The plusses, the location and views, hard to toss. Great beakfast and huge nice meals in the bar. Great friendly staff. Car parking at the rear, this place was better than anything we would have got in Whitby.
Negatives- not cheap but location!!!, the floor bath mat in room 4 had frayed edges, (pswah), cleaning was a bit ordinary in room 7 and there was paint or paste on the bathroom floor and mould in the shower. The owner is beaut, direct, but beaut. Bit of Quality control would fix it.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#16 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Station Road | Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Victoria Hotel Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing