We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Raven Hall Hotel(Ravenscar)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bramblewick(Robin Hood's Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Larpool Hall(Whitby)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
563
238
56
22
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
563
238
56
22
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer gardensea viewtea roomlovely hotelcoleslawsunday lunchroll top bathwalk in showerbar menuate hereboth nightsscampian evening mealfamily roompuddingsconesthe cliff
Filter
Updating list...
809 - 814 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

staff very friendly.We went for drinks in the Victoria we stayed in the Clarence dene guest house, a few doors up the road with our little staffy, And it was nice to sit in the bar and gardens OVER LOOKING THE SEA .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picklesasylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I have only positive things to say about this hotel. We had a four poster room with moor views which were stunning. The room was spacious, immaculate and extremely comfortable. Bathroom was well equipped and again spanking clean. If I was to criticise the only thing I would add is a lamp or something near the dressing table as it was quite dark with the curtains closed and as the room does face the car park, this would be helpful. The hotel has its own car park and it's a lovely walk into the centre of Robin Hoods Bay, the walk back mind is a bit of a killer as its so steep. We ate in the hotel bar and the food was excellent as was the bottle of wine we had with it. The views from the patio/ garden bar are out of this world. All in all a lovely hotel, one which we will be returning too in the not too distant future : )

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornamouat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I came on tripadvisor to comment about my stay on 17th July 2012. What a surprise when I saw the review dated 19th July. I thought somehow I had already put my review on. Me and my wife also were put in room 14 by the manager. Bear in mind we are repeat customers but wont be going back.

After previously staying here in 2 lovely spacious rooms for the same price we were extremely disappointed with this treatment.
Its shameful treating guests this way.
Room 14 is not a double room and my wife banged her toes several times on the protruding wall and wardrobe as there was little room between these and the bed. The double bed is small and you do not have much stretching room.
As the earlier review mentions, you have wonderful views out of the window to the kitchen extractor. We wanted an early night due to been exhausted from a walk earlier but no chance of that as all day long the extractor emits a sickly frying fat stench and the humming noise was unbearable, not even dying off completely at anytime.
Because of the humming noise and smells we couldn't open the window to cool down because of the heat in the room so did not sleep all night long.

This was all mentioned to the receptionist on the way out, she made faces as if this was a surprise to her and they had never had anything like this before. She said she would note these complaints down, will we hear anything, possibly now, on here, with some feeble excuse.
I am more angry with myself now, after seeing the earlier review, these sensible people held back their final £30, aaaargh, I wish I had done the same.

Also, to me the bar meal prices are getting exorbitant for simple meals, especially when you want to charge extra for chips rather than having poppadoms.

So, they have lost one couple as guests from this, I reiterate that I am very disappointed with this. Please do not accept room 14.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ImBurntAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriarhb, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thankyou for your feed back !

Sorry you didn,t enjoy your stay as previously so.
Regarding the room you booked a Budget Standard Room,it is equiped as per previous eg;Double bed,flat screen tv,tea making facilities,free tioletries and all the other facilities that the Hotel offers.
When booking it might have been prudent to book a higher tariff room such as seaview if thats what was required.Regarding the bar prices they have not been increased this year and we constantly recieve feedback on how reasonable our pricing structure is.
Once again Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

we stayed here in july 2012 for a short break.on arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff who during our stay were helpful and easy to approach,nothing was too much trouble.our room,a moorland view was superb and very clean with everything we needed.there was plenty of room with ample furniture for all our storage needs.the restaurant food was fantastic with plenty of choice and beautifully cooked,likewise was breakfast with ample choice and well presented.it was also reassuring to know that the hotel had its own carpark with plenty of spaces.as you can see i cannot fault the victoria hotel and i would definately recommend booking here.we will definately be staying here again.fantastic

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed here when meeting a friend who had just finished the C2C, as part of a part of 6. The hotel is in a great location with fantastic views. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, we saw some of the rooms that were advertised on the internet, and these were lovely. However, we were allocated room 14 which was definitely not advertised on the 'net. The room had huge hot water tank in a cupboard that gave off so much heat the room was unbearable. We couldn't open a window due to the noise from the kitchen extractor fan. The food was poor with two of our party sending their main courses back. Mine was nice enough, though nothing special. When we took our problems with the room to the staff they were unable to help due to the hotel being fully booked. It was obvious the room was part of the staff quarters as it was through a keypad controlled door, the room didn't have room number on it, and the annex it was in was used to store matresses.
The next day the we informed the lady on reception that we were not willing to pay any more than our 50 pound deposit for the 80 pound room they had taken when we booked online. She telephoned the manager who refused to come and discuss our complaint nor accept anything less than the full price. Needless to say he didnt get any more than the deposit.
It was a shame really, because the hotel is in a great place, with great friendly staff, but this issue with the room spoiled the whole experience.

Room Tip: Avoid any room number higher than 12 and you should be ok. Best rooms have fantastic views
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve-Hall78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriarhb, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thankyou for your response !
A little bit baffled about the title ?"Shame about the owners attitude"
particulary when we never spoke about any concerns that you had during your stay or indeed about anything in general,Are you sure you have got the right person ?
Customer booked a budget double room with exactly the same services and facilities as other guests,just decided to pay less on their accomodation.The guests arrived with other party members who decided to pay for seaview rooms etc...clearly after seeing other party members rooms the guests thought lets see what we can get out of this !!!
I was not made aware of this issue until I came in the same day of departure.The Hotel was certainly not misleading guests and the guests have got precisely what they paid and booked for as per website/booking.com etc..The guests have already agreed to the terms and conditions of the Hotel refernce payment so that stands.
Lesson to be learnt before you start shouting from the rooftops make sure you have your facts right,particulary slating the Manager when you have not even met him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews