We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding weekend”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding weekend”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We had our wedding reception at the Victoria in May 2012, after a ceremony at Swell in the lower bay, and I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. We had struggled to find our perfect venue but from the first time we met Andrew, the owner, we knew this was the place!

Nothing was too much trouble for Andrew and his friendly team. We had visited various venues where you had to have their four course banquet, you couldn't have fireworks, their dj picked the music etc, but Andrew essentially let us build the wedding we wanted and was able to accommodate all our requests (which weren't too outlandish by the way). We wanted an informal barbecue and he sorted us out with a fantastic spread from Radford Butchers in Sleights. He was able to get us a wonderful little retro ice cream trailer stocked with tasty Ryeburn ice cream, which was a real hit despite the chilly conditions... And because we got married on the first Sunday of the month, when the Seaman's Mission traditionally fires the village cannon from the hotel garden on the cliff top, Andrew even fixed it for me to fire the cannon on our arrival at the hotel after the ceremony!

The whole team worked to make our day perfect. They seemed to genuinely care that we had a great day and whenever we visited the hotel in the run up to the wedding, all the staff seemed to share our excitement - asking us how the planning was going and telling us they couldn't wait. We booked out all the rooms for our guests for the two nights either side of the wedding, and our family and friends were really taken with the hotel's location, friendly atmosphere and wonderful service - both sets of parents have already booked return visits. All in all, the enthusiasm and passion of the hotel staff, coupled with the stunning views and location, make this place extra special.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rusty_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    219
    51
    20
    3
See reviews for
135
508
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Our second stay at The Victoria. stayed for 2 nights but could have stayed for 2 weeks, amazing views over the bay from the room and the balcony, Staff so friendly and very helpful....nothing is too much trouble. We dined from the bar menu this year and enjoyed our meals. some excellent ales in the bar, and 70p a pint cheaper than the John Smiths in the 3 pubs lower down the bay and the beer was a lot stronger.
Short drives to Whitby and Goathland, but i could just stay in the bay all day.
all in all a perfect stay and will be back next year.
Thanks to all at The Victoria.

Room Tip: Any of the sea view rooms but Room 1 is perfect for views all over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tutorsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-on-Thames
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I had booked a dinner table for four with seaview as the hotel is situated high above the bay. We were placed at the entrance to the dining room, no seaview, no apology, no explanation why the reservation had not been honoured although it had been written down in a book. the white wine was not cold enough,I had to ask for ice. The creme brulee on the menu was 'out'. All main courses were delicious, well presented and there was plenty of it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redfunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June 2012 the night before our wedding day at the Old Chapel, Swell and also the wedding night. The hotel is lovely, clean, friendly, serves a good breakfast and has a beautiful view. We had people coming and going to our rooms: delivering presents, flowers, photographer, hairdresser and the staff were always very helpful. Our family visited from Australia and loved the little tea room and sitting outside in the garden. We normally camp but could very easily get used to this luxury! Hopefully we will return for anniversaries!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I stayed here with my bridesmaid the night before my wedding and it was wonderful. We stayed in a moors view room which was very spacious. The bathroom was huge - perfect for a bride-to-be and bridesmaid and getting ready! The staff were very accommodating - some friends had dropped off a gift that day and they let them bring it to the room. We had a very peaceful night's sleep. Breakfast service was very pleasant with a lovely healthy selection (we weren't really in the right mood for a full English so can't comment on that!) The hotel is at the top of the hill but was still easily accessible for the beach - so before getting ready we had time for a quick swim in the sea! Once back in the room, the views were stunning - I sat and read my speech to the moors before the hairdresser arrived. Even with my Mum, 2 bridesmaids, 2 hairdressers and a photographer plus all the flowers the room didin't feel cramped. As deliveries, buttonholes and ushers came and went, the hotel continued to look after us all, bringing sandwiches and drinks to the room as we needed them. Most of all though, the beauty of the spot in which this hotel is located really brought me a sense of peace, and soaking it up helped me feel serene and ready for the next chapter in my life! Thanks, Victoria Hotel. I won't forget you!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tumbleweeds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We have just returned from The Victoria after a second stay, and were very sad to leave. We are both very well travelled internationally, but this place is special. The hotel is quite superb, and is magnificently positioned with panoramic views of Robin Hood's Bay. Our room was clean, extremely comfortable, superbly decorated to high interior design standards as well as having priceless, stunning views. The plentiful staff, of whom many are young people, are all friendly, courteous and helpful, always happy to oblige, whether in the restaurant, bar, tearoom or elsewhere. A special mention must be made here of the owner, Andrew, for whom nothing is too much trouble when it comes to the customer. Ever the professional, he has the knack of making you feel like you are the only people who matter in his hotel and this is quite unique, especially at such a busy time. (Hotel was booked-up during our stay). Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so special. We are already looking forward to our third visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The Victoria is a excellent hotel, the rooms are excellent and the restaurant serves very tasty food. We had a wonderful 5 nights and have booked again for next year. My only criticism is the massive increase in the rooms rates.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
12 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,206 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
722 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
809 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Station Road | Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Victoria Hotel Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing