We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We've stayed at the Victoria several times and have never been disappointed. The hotel is traditional but has all modern amenities. The rooms are beautiful, some having fantastic views. The dining-room overlooking the bay is spacious and airy. The food is wonderful and the service is brilliant. The Victoria is run by a friendly, efficient staff who are never too busy to talk to you. I can't wait to return to this amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriarhb, Owner at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thankyou for your kind comments I will ensure that the whole team is aware of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    217
    50
    20
    2
See reviews for
134
502
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We enjoyed a couple of great home cooked meals at the Victoria Hotel in November. Great sized portions and god vale for money. The onion rings are amazing! The bar area is lovely and warming and relaxing. A great place to go :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawsker, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We've spent the past two nights in The Victoria eating and drinking and most enjoyable it was too. Good food (the fish pie was fantastic) and a really good atmosphere. I think the owners are building something special here. The place was packed both nights and it's out of season time now. Fast, efficient service too. Views to die for, they're now arranging weddings so I might have to divorce the wife and remarry her here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is one of the nicest places in Yorkshire - beautiful location and a well presented hotel, the rooms are very comfortable and smart with a good view from most rooms.

Best of all the staff are so nice and nothing is too much trouble - we are treated as friends but still with efficiency.

We stayed this week for a birthday and met up with some great 'old' friends; will be back next year.

Room Tip: look on the website for the room description
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Spent 3 nights away with friends for birthday celebration, rooms excellent staff couldn't have done more for you. Very picturesque area.. Had previously attended my nieces wedding recetion here in September and it was only whatvI can describe as magical

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Me my partner and my grandson stayed for 3 nights for price of two.had an excellent stay with sea view room,loverly warm welcome,room was locerly clean and well caterd for my 1 year old grandson and his needs.food excellent value for money,staff were very helpful and always there to help us.bar was loverly with open fires and the beers were beautiful.breakfast was excellent and caterd for my 1 year old grandson..was definatly a loverly stay and will be returning after christmas for our third visit.would highly recomend this hotel.thankyou to all staff for a fab stay

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penthouse123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriarhb, Owner at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thanks for your feedback,we always endeavour to give our guests a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We arrived on a chilly blustery winters afternoon to a warm welcome and an amazing hot bowl of homemade crab soup. We weren't lucky enough to have a sea view but our room was so cosy. The bed was huge and snugly. Liam was the perfect gentleman in the bar where we had per dinner drinks so I was delighted to see his cheery face serving breakfast. The hotel,staff and food were all perfect. I will be back.

Room Tip: Don't worry if your room doesn't have a sea view. It's just outside. Fab location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
10 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,190 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
713 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
6.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Station Road | Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Victoria Hotel Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing