We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
peterborough
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is the first holiday alone since being widowed last year to Robin Hoods Bay. A place close to our hearts. Everyone of the members of staff whom I met, treat me with such kindness and made me feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is beautiful I stayed in room 6 which has an amazing view of the beautiful Bay and is very well furnished. The evening meals are to die for, absolutely delicious. I will definitely be coming back. Special thanks to Susie and
Ryan for their kindness.

Room Tip: Sea views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fopelfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    217
    50
    20
    2
See reviews for
134
502
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our second weekend break at the Victoria. The location can't be beat with stunning views over tha bay. We like to pay extra and get a superior sea view room and it is worth every penny. We were actually staying in the same room as previously, but the furniture was slightly different, but excellent quality adding to the whole experience.

Breakfast was well organised and very friendly. My husband enjoyed the cooked breakfast, whilst I enjoyed the toast which was prepared to order and served at your table which I thought was a nice touch and prevented queueing at the toast machine.

We had a very good bar meal on one night. It is a very popular place to eat and the choice was plentiful especially with the specials board options.

We had a fantastic weekend and would definitely recommend this hotel and hopefully return ourselves soon! Many thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is is an amazing hotel set on the cliff tops overlooking Robin Hoods bay.

It has been vastly improved by the current owners, especially the rooms that are stylishly finished in a traditional theme that complements the building, but with a contemporary feel and all the 'mod cons'.

The bar is always busy with a good menu, and the restaurant serves good breakfasts and evening meals.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, all amounting to an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 have balconies with the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s9mgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gtr. Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

From the minute we walked into the hotel we felt welcome and comfortable. All the staff we came into contact with were extremely pleasant and helpful. The freshly decorated bedroom was lovely, the bed very comfortable with fresh crisp linen and the room had a furnished balcony overlooking the hotel garden and the bay. Unfortunately there was a fixture missing from the top of the bathroom mirror and several bulbs missing from the ceiling light fitting. Also, using the hairdryer was difficult as the flex wasn't long enough to use it, comfortably, with the dressing table mirror. But these are minor points. The walk down to the bay through the Old Town is steep but interesting and the walk back up by the cliffs bracing! We only stayed one night and the 2nd day was wet so didn't see much of the local amenities. In the evening we ate in the bar, where the food was good and plentiful but not typical bar snacks. At breakfast we thought that it would have been better to have our order taken sooner as we had finished our cereals before it was taken so we had then a wait until the food was cooked, but it was worth waiting for.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a balcony overlooking the bay Ask at reception or by phone about the car park - it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We only stayed in Robin Hoods Bay for one night but chose to have dinner at the Victoria Hotel which was only about 50 metres from where we were staying. We called in earlier to book a table and the staff were most helpful and offered us a choice of dining areas. We chose the restaurant. For a "seaside hotel" the menu was distinctively up-market with excellent choices, and the starter and main courses we had were absolutely delicious. The staff were pleasant and helpful too. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for a really lovely dinner in Robin Hoods Bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

What a great place after walking up that hill to have a snack and a drink. Excellent food and in fact the snack we were going to have turned into a meal. A lovely environment and it will always be on our list for food on our next visit. Excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vire-Normandie, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

First went for a drink in this place many years ago under the old management. It was a souless place. No atmosphere what so ever. Was imformed by Val at Bay Taxis that they had new owners and was much improved. Sooo gave it another go. Advice proved correct. It is a now welcolming place. Staff courteous and friendly. Drink prices acceptable.(Down the Bay they are ridiculous). Have no experience of food/rooms but talking to a couple of residents who said both were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
10 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,191 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
713 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
6.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Station Road | Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Victoria Hotel Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing