We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrid room 14”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“horrid room 14”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

just got home after a wonderful weekend in robin hoods bay we have stayed at this hotel before in another room but this time we got room 14. Avoid at all cost pay a bit more for a better room although 75 pounds is expensive. We love the hotel the views are brilliant, so are the staff but i felt cheated with the room the victoria should not use this room again as a double room we will go back but not to room 14

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    219
    51
    20
    3
See reviews for
135
508
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Best position in the bay with fantastic views all round.Food is excellent with great views from the restaurant ! Sea view rooms are best as you can wake up to incredible view of the bay ! Found the shower very weak so would recommend room with a bath ! Some new larger towels would also be a benefit ...... Will certainly return soon .......

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dodgecat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We went twice to the restaurant on Monday and Tuesday 19th&20th May. Both times were excellent, The staff were friendly and helpful, the service was great, and the food was just fantastic. We were celebrating our anniversary, we loved the old Victorian feel to the place. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed last weekend, staff great, nothing was to much trouble and the breakfast was to die for. I had been working on the Friday night and didn't get back to the hotel until 00-30, but had ordered a couple of drinks before hand, I mentioned if I could have a bit to eat and the waiter who had actually finished working went straight into the kitchen and reappeared with a sandwich, hotels in city's would not do that for you when they had finished working. Had no trouble with the wireless broadband. Great enjoyed it and will be back in the near future.

Room Tip: Did not use the swimming pool or fitness centre so cannot say, did not know that they had them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDJMobileDisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowdonia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Victoria was good value, staff were friendly, room was ok. Most important to say is the food was excellent - seemed to us you can eat anything to do with the sea here and you can't go wrong. Lovely sea food, fish and chips. Downsides are its all a bit old fashioned, wireless broadband is frankly useless, can't get breakfast tip 8.30. Upsides, there is parking (a definite bonus in RHB) plus the staff are nice and, as I say, worth eating there, even if you're not staying.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridlington
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We came here for our 20th anniversary and wanted somewhere really special......and it lived up it's reviews!
A lovely friendly welcome, and because it was midweek both the balcony rooms were free that night, the receptionist kindly showed me both, and I couldn't decide, both are beautifully decorated with outstanding vies of the bay, I finally went for room 1, spotlessly clean with a shower over the bath and no less than 4 huge windows and a patio door, so lots of light.
I have already reviewed the superb evening meal, but the cooked breakfast was of the same high quality, and service was attentive but not intrusive Thank you Victoria Hotel, you made our anniversary perfect.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rosebudBridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My birthday treat, as it was also last year... Never fails to please. Great location, ale and food. Book a table by the window in the restaurant for a great evening of food and wine. Food is very good for the price and the beer is excellent. Rooms a bright, clean and very pleasant. What could be better than a long walk, several beers in the garden, followed by a hot bath and an excellent meal in the restaurant. Breakfast perfect. Please do not change anything, other than more carparking for residents!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phillip_Leslie_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
12 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,206 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
722 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Station Road | Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Victoria Hotel Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing