We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First stay and wont be the last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First stay and wont be the last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Loved the location of the Hotel and the warm friendly atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and always on hand to help or advise. Andrew gave us a very warm welcome and made our Pearl Wedding Anniversary stay special. We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evenings and loved the meals but just about managed to eat a lovely dessert as well. We look forward to visiting again and would gladly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mammies-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    207
    49
    19
    2
See reviews for
132
483
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spent two nights at the Victoria Hotel. The hotel is in a lovely position overlooking Robin Hoods Bay. It is about half a mile from the harbour area down a steep and winding, almost traffic free road. Its elevated position gives magnificent views over the bay. We paid a little extra for a superior sea view room, which was well worth the extra. Go for room no. 2 if you get the opportunity, you will not be disappointed. It is freshly decorated in a classical style and has a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the bay. The staff are extremely helpful. The food in the restaurant is of high quality with a good choice. We were on half board terms and there were no supplements added to the cost of the food, irrespective of what you chose from the menu. The breakfasts are freshly cooked and served to your table. A real treat in these days of buffet breakfasts. The decor of the bar area was a little drab but the staff were welcoming and very pleasant. They had several real ales on tap which is always a bonus! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return to The Victoria again.

Room Tip: Go for room number two with a balcony overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, South Yorks
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

A birthday treat stay at the Victoria which started with a warm greeting by owner Andrew. After checking in the staff were very helpful in arranging a taxi into Whitby for a few hours. On returning late afternoon enjoyed a tipple in the garden enjoying what must be one of the best views in Britain.

Room 9 this time, although no balcony and sea view (previously stayed in rooms 1and 2 which had) the price was less and it was very comfy, clean and well equipped with good quality toiletries.

Evening meal in the restaurant (reserving a sea view table by the window makes the event special) was excellent - really nice food, just the right balance between homely pub food and more 'cheffy' stuff, very tasty indeed!

Up early and the clear blue sky drew us to have a pre breakfast sit out in the garden enjoying the awesome view once more over a coffee.

Breakfast as good as it gets, locally sourced produce with the black pud being of particular note.

We would never hesitate to recommend the Victoria.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arranged a 60th Birthday party at the Victoria Hotel on the Saturday evening for about eighty people, as part of a surprise weekend.
Communication with hotel was very good in the lead up to the event and as the party was a secret. The hotel was very understanding in the way they made contact.
The Victoria organised a great disco and the function room was decorated lovely.
As the birthday girl is a bit of a foodie, we knew the buffet had to be good. Curled up sandwiches, sausage rolls etc were not an option
On the night of the function we had no need to be concerned, the buffet was ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS! A mixture of Mediteranian delights.
People where saying "It's the best buffet they'd ever seen" and a vegetarian in the party said "It's a vegetarian's heaven"! We were over the moon!
We had a great evening at The Victoria Hotel which completed a fantastic weekend in Robin Hoods Bay.
We had such a good evening there a few of us met for breakfast the following morning. We sat outside and had a beautiful view of the sea. The staff were fabulous and nothing was too much trouble. Amazing full breakfast, pots of tea and coffee. This simply completed our wonderful week-end.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Givawer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

just got home after a wonderful weekend in robin hoods bay we have stayed at this hotel before in another room but this time we got room 14. Avoid at all cost pay a bit more for a better room although 75 pounds is expensive. We love the hotel the views are brilliant, so are the staff but i felt cheated with the room the victoria should not use this room again as a double room we will go back but not to room 14

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Best position in the bay with fantastic views all round.Food is excellent with great views from the restaurant ! Sea view rooms are best as you can wake up to incredible view of the bay ! Found the shower very weak so would recommend room with a bath ! Some new larger towels would also be a benefit ...... Will certainly return soon .......

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dodgecat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We went twice to the restaurant on Monday and Tuesday 19th&20th May. Both times were excellent, The staff were friendly and helpful, the service was great, and the food was just fantastic. We were celebrating our anniversary, we loved the old Victorian feel to the place. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Station Road | Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Victoria Hotel Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing