We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff!”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Excellent staff!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I can't believe Lea79186525 actually visited the same hotel!!! The staff were extremely friendly and attentive and couldn't have done more to make our stay any better than it was - which was excellent!! The location is fantastic. We stayed 3 nights in room 1 which has a private balcony and it was fabulous to wake up each morning to the sea views! We are already looking for an excuse to return.

Room Tip: Room 1 for the sea view but room 2 for a bigger room and bigger shower room. Moorland view rooms suc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    220
    52
    20
    3
See reviews for
137
513
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

stayed at the victoria 30-31 may 2014 arrived at 6.30 pm parking was tight but because we were guests Andrea asked one of the staff to accomadate us checked in room 15 bit of noise from the near by extractors from the kitchens but unless you retire to bed early they are switched off i have stayed at the victoria before and never come away disappointed i would and do recommend this hotel to freinds and collegues because of the location and panoramic views of the bay i look forward to staying at the victoria hotel in the near future thanks Andy and your wonderful staff for making are stay a very pleasent and comfortable weekend keep up the good work

Room Tip: any rooms if you are staying one or two nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in Robin Hoods Bay at a nearby B&B for a few days to celebrate our Anniversary,
We picked the restaurant at the Victoria for our special meal after popping in for a quick look and liking what we saw. The evening was excellent and the food was delicious, the staff were very attentive and we felt happy we had picked the restaurant to celebrate our special occasion.
We went back the following night to try the meals in the bar and had the most amazing Lamb Rogan Josh washed own with a good pint of real ale. We wouldn't hessitate to reccomend the Victoria for a meal whether for a special occasion or just a meal in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After the long very steep walk back up from the beautiful Robin Hoods Bay it was just the place to stop off for a refreshing drink.
The staff were very friendly & welcoming telling us we could bring the dog in the bar even providing water & a special biscuit for him.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel only called in for a drink after a walk but found the drinks refreshing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Loved the location of the Hotel and the warm friendly atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and always on hand to help or advise. Andrew gave us a very warm welcome and made our Pearl Wedding Anniversary stay special. We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evenings and loved the meals but just about managed to eat a lovely dessert as well. We look forward to visiting again and would gladly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mammies-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spent two nights at the Victoria Hotel. The hotel is in a lovely position overlooking Robin Hoods Bay. It is about half a mile from the harbour area down a steep and winding, almost traffic free road. Its elevated position gives magnificent views over the bay. We paid a little extra for a superior sea view room, which was well worth the extra. Go for room no. 2 if you get the opportunity, you will not be disappointed. It is freshly decorated in a classical style and has a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the bay. The staff are extremely helpful. The food in the restaurant is of high quality with a good choice. We were on half board terms and there were no supplements added to the cost of the food, irrespective of what you chose from the menu. The breakfasts are freshly cooked and served to your table. A real treat in these days of buffet breakfasts. The decor of the bar area was a little drab but the staff were welcoming and very pleasant. They had several real ales on tap which is always a bonus! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return to The Victoria again.

Room Tip: Go for room number two with a balcony overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, South Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

A birthday treat stay at the Victoria which started with a warm greeting by owner Andrew. After checking in the staff were very helpful in arranging a taxi into Whitby for a few hours. On returning late afternoon enjoyed a tipple in the garden enjoying what must be one of the best views in Britain.

Room 9 this time, although no balcony and sea view (previously stayed in rooms 1and 2 which had) the price was less and it was very comfy, clean and well equipped with good quality toiletries.

Evening meal in the restaurant (reserving a sea view table by the window makes the event special) was excellent - really nice food, just the right balance between homely pub food and more 'cheffy' stuff, very tasty indeed!

Up early and the clear blue sky drew us to have a pre breakfast sit out in the garden enjoying the awesome view once more over a coffee.

Breakfast as good as it gets, locally sourced produce with the black pud being of particular note.

We would never hesitate to recommend the Victoria.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
14 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,046 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
826 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,874 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Station Road | Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Victoria Hotel Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing