We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We got married here on 16 June 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We got married here on 16 June 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were impressed from start to finish with how helpful, cheerful, flexible and accommodating Andrew and all the staff were. They went out of their way to make it the day We wanted. Andrew was flexible in his approach and we never felt that we had to stick with a hotel package or agenda. We got married outside and had a BBQ in the garden. The food was amazing and really good value. The whole wedding was great value for money. The whole day went really smoothly and felt really relaxed. much of this was thanks to Andrew and the staff. we chose the Victoria as we love the view from the rooms and garden, and this really was the perfect backdrop and we got some stunning photos. The rooms are of a very high standard spotless and just right for the wedding. It was amazing getting ready looking out to sea.

Communication was great in the lead up to the wedding, with prompt responses to emails and questions. Andrew had some great ideas and recommendations (especially the florist who did an amazing job and decorated the pagoda beautifully). We live in Leeds but never felt that we were hindered by the distance - again, mostly thanks to Andrew. the personal touches were fantastic - Andrew brought me breakfast the morning of the wedding and was full of good wishes. The suggestion to use the family room to have a quiz the night before the big day was a great success.

I offloaded gifts for the mothers best man and children onto the staff and all of this was organised for us. We didn't have to worry about anything on the day. Andrew's wife even set the tables and decorated the venue with the random trinkets I had brought - very creative.

The only thing on reflection I would have done differently - had less tables in the room for the ceidlhli. It still worked really well and not bad if that is the only thing you would change.

A big thank-you

Room Tip: Sorry no fitness centre or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    207
    49
    19
    2
See reviews for
132
483
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Only used restaurant.

Given the location, setting and décor of this hotel it has the potential to be a really fine, up market place - with one assumes a price tag and small portions of decorative but gravy-less meals on large plates that that goes with all that.

It isn't that, but the better for it. Someone appears to have taken the decision to provide decent, wholesome food in generous portions at a reasonable price served by friendly, efficient staff. It works. It was a carvery on the Sunday we visited but far better and more personal than some of the chain type carveries.

We went for my wife's birthday whilst staying in the bay and it couldn't have gone better - well ok - a carvery running out of beef at 2pm, but it was a very rare sunny day and the place was buzzing - but the pork was excellent and for £8 a head amazing value.

Staff were great in the restaurant, really worked at ensuring we enjoyed ourselves. Bar staff were friendly enough but there is a danger that clique of locals sitting around bar don't block out visitors - staff did tend to spend more time socialising with them than serving.

Thank you.

Try it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustyplough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

just had 3 nights at the victoria hotel a near 200 mile journey from home worth every mile ! we stayed in room 2 with a balcony overlooking the bay .Staff were all friendly room was spotless and food lovely nothing was too much trouble at breakfast.Locals all friendly and chatty we had a cracking night saturday watching england will definately return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duncanboing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawsker, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Popped into the tea room side for tea and buns. Very friendly service from the lad behind the counter, we were most impressed. Sat outside, swilling tea and sipping a latte, and watching the world go by. Lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

staying in whitby we walked the 6 mile cinder track to robin hoods bay - decided to have a pint or two in this hotel/pub in the beer garden. Weather was lovely so ordered regular cod and chips (£ 7.75 OMG it was enormous ! the batter was crisp and thin the cod succulent the chips were like my nan used to make REAL CHIPS ! better fish than the magpie cafe in whitby (and thats saying something) cheers to all will come back next year for sure

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philandanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I can't believe Lea79186525 actually visited the same hotel!!! The staff were extremely friendly and attentive and couldn't have done more to make our stay any better than it was - which was excellent!! The location is fantastic. We stayed 3 nights in room 1 which has a private balcony and it was fabulous to wake up each morning to the sea views! We are already looking for an excuse to return.

Room Tip: Room 1 for the sea view but room 2 for a bigger room and bigger shower room. Moorland view rooms suc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

stayed at the victoria 30-31 may 2014 arrived at 6.30 pm parking was tight but because we were guests Andrea asked one of the staff to accomadate us checked in room 15 bit of noise from the near by extractors from the kitchens but unless you retire to bed early they are switched off i have stayed at the victoria before and never come away disappointed i would and do recommend this hotel to freinds and collegues because of the location and panoramic views of the bay i look forward to staying at the victoria hotel in the near future thanks Andy and your wonderful staff for making are stay a very pleasent and comfortable weekend keep up the good work

Room Tip: any rooms if you are staying one or two nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Station Road | Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Victoria Hotel Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing